Brooklyn Museum Reviews

Updated 21 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Brooklyn Museum Director Anne Pasternak (no image)
Anne Pasternak
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great mission, great vision, independent work environment, great colleagues(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, great mission, wonderful people(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, not enough financial resources to implement ideas(in 7 reviews)

  • "The pay isn't great and there are very few opportunities for full-time positions(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great museum."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Development Officer 

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    Great museum to work for. Great mission and vision.

    Cons

    Not the best on boarding process. Immediate team wasn't very friendly, making work a bit stressful.

    Brooklyn Museum2019-12-21
  2. "One of the Best Places to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The other FOH Staff: - The museum always managed to hire other FOH staff that made the job seem more like doing business with a small family. There was usually never a bad one in the bunch. While some of the work may have been tedious it was always made better by close friends in the institution. The Museum : - Can't beat it!

    Cons

    Communication: - While I'm sure it was true of most larger institutions, communication between higher ups and FOH was subpar, at BEST. FOH staff was often left in the dark about a lot of important aspects of the institution and its business, which left us to take all of the negative side effects. It improved over the years, but it could have definitely used some work. Full Time: - It's almost impossible to get a full time job no matter how long you've been there. Essentially, come with 5-10 years experience already under your belt or don't bother coming at all.

    Continue reading
    Brooklyn Museum2019-09-25
  3. "Enjoyed"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    People were friendly and it was enjoyable.

    Cons

    Commute was long for my location.

    Brooklyn Museum2019-01-26
  4. "Great institution, great mission"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    Innovative programming, inclusive workplace, community outreach

    Cons

    Salary is meh, not sure of path to growth

    Brooklyn Museum2019-01-03
  5. "Check it out"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Host in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good perks

    Cons

    Not enough hours, need more flexibility

    Brooklyn Museum2018-11-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Low pay = high turnover and low morale"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Departmental Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great if you love art and the borough of Brooklyn which is what kept me there for as long as I did.

    Cons

    Low pay and too many part-timers filling roles that should be full-time.

    Continue reading
    Brooklyn Museum2018-10-29
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    Team atmosphere was really nice

    Cons

    Seemed like there was some issues with some departments

    Brooklyn Museum2018-07-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Visitor Services is a Great Dept. to Work Part-Time, Feels Like Family."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    - You end up building great relationships with other employees, all interested in and doing cool things. It really does feel like becoming part of a family. - You end up learning the ins and outs of the museum and museum culture very quickly which can lead to lateral or upward movement. Switching depts. is not unheard of. - Some flexibility in schedule when you need it.

    Cons

    - Visitor Services ends up being the punching bags for frustrated visitors.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-04-30
  9. "Great Brooklyn Museum"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    Friendly, open-minded, supportive, good-quality, communicative.

    Cons

    There were no cons while I worked there.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-03-25
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Hopefully things will change"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    The Brooklyn Museum has some of the best people working for it. Passionate, caring, with a deep love for the collection and the visitors.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the people who care the most about the museum are often the least heard. The leadership of the museum throws terms around like "social justice" and "accessibility" however those concepts are not applied to how employees are treated. Union employees are treated like second class citizens and often blamed for the institutions financial difficulties. It’s incredible as some union employees are paid well under $40,000 and often work overtime with no pay…I wonder what the Director and CFO make in comparison as they are so quick to gut the benefits of some of their lowest paid employees. There is no professional development. The HR department has some of the most incompetent employees I've ever met in my professional career. Employees can go on for hours swapping horror stories of times they haven't been paid, or did not receive important information about their health care due to the mistakes of the HR employees. The mistakes by this team are frequent and are never followed by an apology and are never held accountable.

    Continue reading
    Brooklyn Museum2018-01-26
Found 50 reviews