Brooklyn Museum Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Brooklyn Museum Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Anne Pasternak
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great mission, great vision, independent work environment, great colleagues(in 6 reviews)

  • "This is a world class institution that offers deep cultural benefits(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, not enough financial resources to implement ideas(in 7 reviews)

  • "The pay isn't great and there are very few opportunities for full-time positions(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    People were friendly and it was enjoyable.

    Cons

    Commute was long for my location.

    Brooklyn Museum2019-01-26
  2. "Great institution, great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    Innovative programming, inclusive workplace, community outreach

    Cons

    Salary is meh, not sure of path to growth

    Brooklyn Museum2019-01-03
  3. "Check it out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Host in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good perks

    Cons

    Not enough hours, need more flexibility

    Brooklyn Museum2018-11-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay = high turnover and low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Departmental Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great if you love art and the borough of Brooklyn which is what kept me there for as long as I did.

    Cons

    Low pay and too many part-timers filling roles that should be full-time.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more. The faces of leadership should reflect the diversity of the surrounding community. Inspire your staff.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-10-29
  5. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    Team atmosphere was really nice

    Cons

    Seemed like there was some issues with some departments

    Brooklyn Museum2018-07-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Visitor Services is a Great Dept. to Work Part-Time, Feels Like Family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    - You end up building great relationships with other employees, all interested in and doing cool things. It really does feel like becoming part of a family. - You end up learning the ins and outs of the museum and museum culture very quickly which can lead to lateral or upward movement. Switching depts. is not unheard of. - Some flexibility in schedule when you need it.

    Cons

    - Visitor Services ends up being the punching bags for frustrated visitors.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-04-30
  7. "Great Brooklyn Museum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum part-time

    Pros

    Friendly, open-minded, supportive, good-quality, communicative.

    Cons

    There were no cons while I worked there.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-03-25
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Hopefully things will change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    The Brooklyn Museum has some of the best people working for it. Passionate, caring, with a deep love for the collection and the visitors.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the people who care the most about the museum are often the least heard. The leadership of the museum throws terms around like "social justice" and "accessibility" however those concepts are not applied to how employees are treated. Union employees are treated like second class citizens and often blamed for the institutions financial difficulties. It’s incredible as some union employees are paid well under...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign. Your brand of neoliberal elitism is not welcome here.

    Brooklyn Museum2018-01-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    Great People, Interesting Work Environment

    Cons

    Low Pay, Sometimes can be stressful

    Brooklyn Museum2017-12-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Museum full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Great outlet to know the going ons around the art world Employees are nice people Meeting artists of all varieties Flexible hours

    Cons

    Non Profit so pay is generally low Some employees come off as entitled Management takes little consideration on your opinions

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your frontline employees. They work directly with the public, so they know what changes or alterations are being requested. It's not always a numbers and statistics game.

    Brooklyn Museum2017-10-16
Found 47 reviews