CSC Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CSC Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6401 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
CSC CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
2,473 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable Graduate Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    My supervisors have been excellent. They are responsive, available and interested in my development. To my mind, all large companies are essentially the same and completely dependent on the people which surround you.

    Cons

    It's age distribution is surprisingly old for a technology company. They are taking immediate steps to remedy this with the graduate program. The company could also use more women, but this is a problem across the industry, particularly in more technical roles

    Advice to Management

    I find the management structure a little amorphous. I'm still unsure precisely who reports to whom and who's in charge. Though when in specific situations it's very clear who the leader is, it's nearly impossible to determine these things abstractly

    CSC2016-04-12
  2. "Confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Flexible, More long term colleagues

    Cons

    Strategy is very confusing No clarity Senior management has no clue

    Advice to Management

    Executive management should look at the senior management and retain the right people. There is a lot that goes unrecognized and pick those gems and am sure you will do great.

    CSC2018-06-06
  3. "Aggressive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had a great manager who valued staff !

    Cons

    Felt like preparing for sale - little resourcing for successful project delivery - a lot of bluster but low ability to deliver. Constant restructures and redundancies over a two year + period. Poor morale. Poor leadership - bullies in 'leadership' positions. Great 'talent' left out of frustration,

    Advice to Management

    Review your leadership - reward based on demonstration of values

    CSC2017-10-01
  4. "Work at CSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Variety of assignments gives opportunity to experience many situations.

    Cons

    Assignments are typically low ball; sold in beneath capability and therefore not career enhancing.

    Advice to Management

    Make contact with your staff

    CSC2017-03-29
  5. "Great company but Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great People * Good ethics * quick to respond

    Cons

    Lots of change is making it hard to manoeuvre and with uncertainty

    CSC2017-03-16
  6. "Good for Career Development if in the right department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Project Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Great opportunity for skills and career development

    Cons

    Remuneration based on the TCE model and not fantastic compared to similar industries

    CSC2017-03-11
  7. "Huge global company, feels disjointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Our business unit have merged with similar BU's in the US and Europe so we are sharing a bit of knowledge, which is good.

    Cons

    Our business unit within the greater CSC company operates pretty much as we did prior to acquisition, but there are all the downsides to a huge global company showing through - millions of irrelevant emails about people/things that are nothing to do with your role or business unit, red tape trying to do anything between business units, IT support people who don't know who you are, what you use IT-wise, or what... companies CSC own (so you go through a ridiculous set of questions just to start a ticket), etc

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop sending emails to everyone when the content is not relevant. The cost-cutting is showing, I would have hoped the acquisition would improve things, but it's the opposite.

    CSC2017-03-07
  8. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Commercial Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Good people, nice offices,

    Cons

    No direction, difficult to get to

    CSC2017-02-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Procedures vs Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brand name Existing accounts and contacts Specialist International insight

    Cons

    Mired in procedures and approval processes that act as business prevention and slow decision-making down Infighting and turf wars reward structures inhibit cross-selling Marketing ? What marketing ?

    Advice to Management

    Become more customer-focused and enable internal cross-selling and up-selling.

    CSC2017-01-26
  10. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Various clients: Government, Utility Industry

    Cons

    Low project delivery capability. Commercial agreements are at times watered down. Clients complain a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Have defined managerial roles and responsibilities. Map your processed particular SoW assessment processes. Show leadership not 'blamer-ship'.

    CSC2017-01-25
Found 6401 reviews
</>Embed