CSC Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CSC Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6554 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
CSC CEO Mike Lawrie
Mike Lawrie
2529 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable Graduate Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    My supervisors have been excellent. They are responsive, available and interested in my development. To my mind, all large companies are essentially the same and completely dependent on the people which surround you.

    Cons

    It's age distribution is surprisingly old for a technology company. They are taking immediate steps to remedy this with the graduate program. The company could also use more women, but this is a problem across the industry, particularly in more technical roles

    Advice to Management

    I find the management structure a little amorphous. I'm still unsure precisely who reports to whom and who's in charge. Though when in specific situations it's very clear who the leader is, it's nearly impossible to determine these things abstractly

    CSC2016-04-12
  2. "Confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Flexible, More long term colleagues

    Cons

    Strategy is very confusing No clarity Senior management has no clue

    Advice to Management

    Executive management should look at the senior management and retain the right people. There is a lot that goes unrecognized and pick those gems and am sure you will do great.

    CSC2018-06-06
  3. "Service desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Hours Colleagues Culture Location and vibes All done Nothing wlse

    Cons

    Pay and increases Management Career progression Flexibilty Nothing

    CSC2018-02-20
  4. "Aggressive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CSC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had a great manager who valued staff !

    Cons

    Felt like preparing for sale - little resourcing for successful project delivery - a lot of bluster but low ability to deliver. Constant restructures and redundancies over a two year + period. Poor morale. Poor leadership - bullies in 'leadership' positions. Great 'talent' left out of frustration,

    Advice to Management

    Review your leadership - reward based on demonstration of values

    CSC2017-10-01
  5. "Work at CSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Variety of assignments gives opportunity to experience many situations.

    Cons

    Assignments are typically low ball; sold in beneath capability and therefore not career enhancing.

    Advice to Management

    Make contact with your staff

    CSC2017-03-29
  6. "Great company but Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great People * Good ethics * quick to respond

    Cons

    Lots of change is making it hard to manoeuvre and with uncertainty

    CSC2017-03-16
  7. "Good for Career Development if in the right department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Great opportunity for skills and career development

    Cons

    Remuneration based on the TCE model and not fantastic compared to similar industries

    CSC2017-03-11
  8. "Huge global company, feels disjointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CSC full-time

    Pros

    Our business unit have merged with similar BU's in the US and Europe so we are sharing a bit of knowledge, which is good.

    Cons

    Our business unit within the greater CSC company operates pretty much as we did prior to acquisition, but there are all the downsides to a huge global company showing through - millions of irrelevant emails about people/things that are nothing to do with your role or business unit, red tape trying to do anything between business units, IT support people who don't know who you are, what you use IT-wise, or what companies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop sending emails to everyone when the content is not relevant. The cost-cutting is showing, I would have hoped the acquisition would improve things, but it's the opposite.

    CSC2017-03-07
  9. "Good Company - Flexible and Focusses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSC

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home when the pressure is not on. Everyone is team focussed

    Cons

    Lack of purpose sometimes or clarity around the role

    CSC2017-02-22
  10. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSC

    Pros

    Good people, nice offices,

    Cons

    No direction, difficult to get to

    CSC2017-02-08
Found 6554 reviews