Cancer Research UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cancer Research UK Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Michelle Mitchell
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work/life balance is amazingly good compared with my previous jobs, but my colleagues seem to take it for granted(in 19 reviews)

  • "Really friendly staff, customers and a lovely working environment(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication is sometimes lost at CRUK(in 14 reviews)

  • "Not many opportunities for career progression(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Proud To go to work everyday Seriously talented colleagues Interesting work

    Cons

    Challenges that come with working in any large scale organisation

    Advice to Management

    Keep going!

    Cancer Research UK2018-06-05
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Health Info Manager 

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff, v passionate about cause

    Cons

    Flat structure, so not always good progression

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-13
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team Helping Community Good retail experience

    Cons

    Not much communication with managers

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-13
  4. "Hard work and passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insight & Reporting Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very passionate people to work with. Large organisation with many opportunities for development

    Cons

    Culture of hierarchy slows down processes. Little autonomy

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-06
  5. "Organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Content in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only place I've been where they have a process for everything. Very organised. People are friendly.

    Cons

    Elitist and not diverse at all

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring in your image.

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-05
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Very slow HR processes

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-18
  7. "Great people doing great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Marketing Executive in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    True camaraderie as it's clear that we are all working together and that people genuinely believe that together we will beat cancer.

    Cons

    As to be expected for a charity that takes great care to keep costs down and justify every penny spent there's a lot of bureaucracy.

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-29
  8. "The good the bad and the ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -relaxed office environment -Friendly and approachable staff -good selection of tech being used -career development

    Cons

    -Management not diverse -CTO takes credit for others achievements -too many rigid old processes

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-26
  9. "Great - hopefully even better once they've moved!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Communicator in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Manager was wonderful - Felt trusted but supported, not micromanaged - Could work from home whenever I wanted and at short notice as long as I wasn't missing meetings - Everyone united in same mission, which felt good - Encouraged to move around within the organisation - lots of secondment opportunities.

    Cons

    - Hot-desking to an extreme. Not enough space - ending up taking ages to find a desk in the morning and sitting on a totally different floor to the rest of my team. This will hopefully be much better after the relocation.

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-15
  10. "From experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Charity, generous discount, full ownership of your store

    Cons

    Reliant on volunteers, outdated paperwork systems, minimal consistency.

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-26
Found 270 reviews