Cleanaway Reviews

Updated 10 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Cleanaway CEO Vik Bansal
Vik Bansal
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, Great team environment in Customer service team(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great bunch of people who work there(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer requirements mean nothing to Cleanaway(in 6 reviews)

  • "Senior Management tend to micro manage the business(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast paced warm culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleanaway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fast paced working environment, opportunities to develop through working on many projects, friendly teams all wanting to do the right thing by our mission - to make a sustainable future possible.

    Cons

    The fast paced nature of the work can feel relentless, yet the opportunities override this.

    Continue reading

    Cleanaway Response

    May 10, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Thanks' for your feedback! We really appreciate it. If you would like to discuss any of your feedback further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

  2. "Fleet"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cleanaway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has a great Culture

    Cons

    Pay is absolutely nothing but terrible


  3. "Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Liquids Operator in Yatala
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleanaway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty hard to get fired (very lenient with everything) Good pay WITH OVERTIME Some people aren't bad to work with. Will pay for for tickets/certs if required.

    Cons

    Lots of work politics between management and and high vis workers, aswell as between high vis workers. Hourly rate sucks, need overtime for it to be worth it. Toxic culture for anyone trying to advance up the tree. You'll be targeted as a company man/yes man and people will let you know that. Safety is only paramount when management are near.

    Continue reading
  4. "Previous employer"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle

    I worked at Cleanaway full-time

    Pros

    Liked the work I was doing

    Cons

    They did not appreciate the staff they had

    Cleanaway Response

    August 5, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for providing your feedback! All feedback is appreciated, the good and the bad. If you would like to discuss your experience further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

  5. "Great workplace and team culture"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleanaway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feeling like you are contributing to a healthier planet and working with a very supportive team and company

    Cons

    Wouldn't have too much to say here, perhaps the opportunity for career growth could be a little difficult as the org structure is a bit complex.

    Cleanaway Response

    May 10, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Hi there and thanks' for your feedback! We really appreciate it. If you would like to discuss any of your feedback further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic workplace! High turnover!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cleanaway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive to say about Cleanaway. There is a very small number of really good people left and who are hanging in there by a thread!

    Cons

    Incredibly toxic workplace led by a CEO (who feels threatened by anyone with a shred of ability) and ELT who enforce fear and retribution. They place focus on share price and their own bonuses rather than customers, staff and assets. People in leadership roles who have no place being entrusted with a persons wellbeing or development, not that Cleanaway care as people are as disposable as their waste, and then there are the percentage of long term staff that are so deluded by their own ability, they contribute to the already toxic culture. Ridiculous hours. High turnover, by choice or not, as it’s a real burn and churn culture ( I watched over 50 of my colleagues leave in the space of 6 months) not to mention the stress that comes from working in a place like Cleanaway. It beggars belief they get away with what they do.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cleanaway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to this potentially great organisation.

    Cons

    What has the potential to be an employer of choice is really nothing other than a plaything for a Dictator and his band of merry yes men

    Continue reading

    Cleanaway Response

    May 10, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Hi there, Thanks for providing your feedback. We appreciate it all, the good and bad. If you would like to discuss any of your feedback further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible place, toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Clayton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cleanaway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some great people work there

    Cons

    Horrid culture with management pushing unrealistic expectations onto their people. Cutting incentives at the last minute when salespeople were counting on them. I was constantly stuck in between underpaid, overachieving reps who were being bullied and belittled by the company. They are most definitely a "profits over people" employer and one which I would advise people steer well clear of. Staff turnover is blamed on the employees line managers, however it's the company changing the rules consistently that is causing people to leave in droves. New employees are lasting weeks before they realise what they've gotten themselves into. There is a lack of direction and an over-abundance of political and operational red tape to overcome before you even walk out the door to sell a product, which once sold won't be delivered. Customer requirements mean nothing to Cleanaway. Not enough trucks on the road, Health and Safety guidelines overlooked or disregarded. Very, very few people are happy working there and it's easy to understand why - people are more disposable than the waste they collect.

    Continue reading

    Cleanaway Response

    May 10, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Hi there, Thanks for providing your feedback. We appreciate it all, the good and bad. If you would like to discuss any of your feedback further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

  9. Helpful (2)

    "A political minefield at best. Unless you are part of the conglomerate of “yes men” culture."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cleanaway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Employees that have been there for north of 10 years have contributed well to the business. - Footprint is vast and wide. - Driver group are the essential gears of the business. - Regional branches keep their team engaged and do care about their well being.

    Cons

    Wow! Where do I start? A lot of negative reviews of the business and all of them true. *Disclamer, HR Central, I do not want to be contacted re my review on Cleanaway. There is pretty much nothing you can do to change past and present employees views on how Cleanaway runs as a whole. You are part of the problem. Let me start with the truth. - Culturally the business is abhorrent. Turn over of staff and lack of engagement is about 1 in 2. There is a reason for this.... - Middle Management and ELT has lost touch with its team working below them. Ex transport logistics and former staples is the place for you. Unless you are a “yes” person and does not challenge the status quo your time at Cleanaway be unpleasant. - Operations will cut costs a prioritise national accounts over key and minor accounts. - Head office is run by people who think they are god, Sales and Management. But when it comes to the crunch of field work the fail brilliantly. (A big bonus for competitors in the industry). - Safety is not practised or preached when each truck leaves the depot. Everything is compromised. - reputation is tarnished in the industry due to poor service. - CEO only cares about how much cash he is pocketing post July 1. Higher share price means higher remuneration VIK can receive each year. - Mind boggling anti competitive behaviour despite ACCC training each year. - Business prioritises Post Collections above the rest. July 1 2020 this will change. These are just few of the points that really show that the grass isn’t greener with Cleanaway. There are better options out there and businesses that will reward you for your worth and experience you can bring to their business. I do feel for the people at Former Tox Free that have merged with the Cleanaway business. You will be treated as second class citizens, and if you aren’t filling up a hole, the business will not see you fit for purpose.

    Continue reading
  10. "Happy employment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Leader in Narangba
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cleanaway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great lifestyle With good hours

    Cons

    Wages could be better for what you do

    Continue reading

    Cleanaway Response

    May 10, 2020National Recruitment Officer

    Thanks' for your feedback! We really appreciate it. If you would like to discuss any of your feedback further and offline, please contact hrcentral@cleanaway.com.au

Found 68 reviews