Clifford Chance Reviews

Updated 15 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance Managing Partner Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours but if you aren't ready for it when you join you have misunderstood the job(in 43 reviews)

  • "Work life balance was not always very well balanced(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Don’t work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stellar name high profile firm top tier

    Cons

    Toxic culture bullying and threats rampant don’t seriously listen to employee complaints hr ineffective and useless. All white partnership all white management.

    Continue reading
    Clifford Chance2019-11-18

    Clifford Chance Response

    November 26, 2019Global Head of Recruitment

    I am concerned to read your comments here. We take any feedback of this sort extremely seriously. Can I please ask that you contact me on the email address below – or another member of the team, if you prefer – to directly to discuss your experience so we can urgently identify appropriate next steps. We recognise that diversity of background, experience and perspective enriches our firm. Encouraging everyone to respect the individuality of their colleagues, and to feel comfortable and empowered to contribute is fundamental to our values, and critical to our success. We consider that everyone has a responsibility to see that our policies and values with regard to inclusion are applied across all levels of the Firm and in everything that we do. This is why we seek to speak with you. Your experience runs contrary from what we believe is the right way to manage an inclusive workplace. Please do contact us as outlined above. Rosie Lynn-Jones Regional Head of Human Resources and Development, Asia Pacific rosie.lynn-jones@cliffordchance.com

  2. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible experience in a fast paced dynamic firm. Brilliant at sharing know how across Clifford Chance worldwide. Generally, partners and lawyers are exceptionally bright and you can learn a lot

    Cons

    Very long hours, difficult clients, novel work so often in unchartered territory. Can involve huge personal sacrifices.

    Continue reading
    Clifford Chance2020-05-15
  3. "Summer intern"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Clifford Chance part-time

    Pros

    Friendly seniors, good hours, nice office

    Cons

    Not much, besides the fact that u won’t be given lots of hands on work yet but that’s ok

    Clifford Chance2020-05-13
  4. "Clifford Chance Hong Kong"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Trainee in Hong Kong

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Good pay; Encouraging working environment

    Cons

    Tough working hours but that doesn't quite amount to a con in this industry

    Clifford Chance2020-05-09
  5. "From Pay scale to work environment, everything meets the satisfaction."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really very good work environment with very professional employees.

    Cons

    .. .. .. .. ...

    Clifford Chance2020-05-07
  6. "Pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and international exposure

    Cons

    Culture can be superficial

    Clifford Chance2020-04-25
  7. "Manager"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    All good about company as per me

    Cons

    Nothing bad about company as per me

    Clifford Chance2020-04-21
  8. "Associate in Dubai"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, interesting work and loved being involved in the region's top work

    Cons

    Some long hours in the office during busy times

    Clifford Chance2020-03-27
  9. "Great employer, but long hours and average pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cases; nice colleagues; good work environment

    Cons

    Average salary and long hours

    Clifford Chance2020-03-23
  10. "collaborative, professional, highly respected"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great opportunity, highly collaborative team, very well respected globally and within the industry; excellent firm to get quality experience

    Cons

    none that come to mind

    Clifford Chance2020-03-17
Found 236 reviews