Credit Karma Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Credit Karma Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Generally a very good work-life balance(in 24 reviews)

  • "Coffee bar, events squad, and workplace services in general all do a fantastic job(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are a few typical growing pains of a rapid growth company(in 14 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mission driven company with nice and competent colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very smart people in the data science team - Friendly and cooperative culture - At least to me, it felt like the executive staff actually cared about the mission of the company - Generally good compensation and perks

    Cons

    - Not a con for everybody but for me the range of products that the company offers is very narrow. It's a bit difficult to be interested in advertising credit cards.

    Credit Karma2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fake nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office in San Francisco is nice. People are trying to do the right things, from a technical perspective. There are a lot of nice, well intentioned ideas at work here.

    Cons

    Career growth, HR is cruel, and the culture at the company is fake nice. This is not a meritocracy. I don't even know how to begin to explain, other than starting with the simple fact that people do not get promoted on the basis of doing good work. In fact, people don't really get promoted at all. What's really happening is managers playing politics with each other all day. If you want to get a promotion you have to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know things are changing and it's hard. Here's what I want you to know and what I think could be done better about it. 1. Problem: there are some serious snakes in the garden. Open your eyes. There is some serious lying happening, and you should try to figure out who's behind it, because I can promise you it's contributing to a really nasty culture and poisoning the well. 1. Suggestion: find a way to form a relationship...

    Show More
    Credit Karma2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best tech company in the Bay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - So much opportunity for growth. - Transparency is alive and well. - Everyone here is genuine and kind. That's a true rarity in tech!

    Cons

    Growing pains exist, but these are good challenges to overcome.

    Advice to Management

    Have remote/ WFH flexibility.

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Design in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice company, the CEO is amazing.

    Cons

    The management in marketing is not great. The filter to join the company is very easy, the don't have a high standard of Design

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    - Great mission - Opportunity to work on products that will help millions of people

    Cons

    - Standard hyper-growth pains - Company needs to focus more on speed

    Advice to Management

    - Make sure to think big and make big bets - Focus on speed

    Credit Karma2019-06-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Profitable - Mission driven - Data driven - Uses cutting edge tech

    Cons

    - Lots of growth can be tough - Space at HQ is getting tight

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what we are doing. I really like it here. About to hit my 3 year mark!

    Credit Karma2019-04-13
  7. Helpful (4)

    "fintech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    people are nice, and WLB is good

    Cons

    tech is week, and leadership teams has little tech background/insight

    Advice to Management

    bring more tech talent into eng leadership team

    Credit Karma2019-04-22
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Weak Engineering talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office space is great. The pay wasn’t bad and the benefits are decent. It has a brand name that is highly recognized and it has lot of potential for growth.

    Cons

    I was excited to be involved with the data engineering and data science teams. But the more involved I got the more I realized that it’s mix of shockingly average to bad engineers and data scientists. I think it all starts with the hiring process. The bad ones who got in early continued working to higher positions and the people they hired continued the tradition of bad engineers. I also don’t think they are handling...

    Show More
    Credit Karma2019-04-12
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Big Company Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries are EXTREMELY high now that bonus is rolled into base. Very little is expected of you in terms of work output or production. Very easy to slack off and hang out at the coffee bar.

    Cons

    Equity is a joke because the IPO is near.

    Advice to Management

    Just take the company public or sell it. Most of you are in over your heads, accept that and stop rolling the dice thinking you're smart enough to expand into other markets as successfully as you did with credit cards.

    Credit Karma2019-04-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture with lots of growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been fortunate enough to see mostly the good sides of CK since joining around a year ago. Managers that really care and co-workers that are super helpful.

    Cons

    Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains).

    Credit Karma2019-01-31
Found 168 reviews