Credit Karma Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO and Founder Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
141 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Complex challenges, rigidity, priority, same,same,same

    Cons

    Autonomy, team building, process, same, same,same

    Credit Karma2020-05-20
  2. "Good people, interesting work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people who want to do good

    Cons

    Poor middle management and unclear career ladders

    Credit Karma2020-05-10
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What you see is what you get. Great people, great leadership, great workplace, great comp.

    Cons

    not a public company yet

    Credit Karma2020-02-24
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Politics, favorites and other BS"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very cushy perks and a good salary for recruiting and retention.

    Cons

    You better be a suck-up to your manager's manager's manager. Don't try to meet expectations for the next level, that's a complete waste of time. The engineering ladder is toilet paper here. Only favorites are promoted unless the ill-equiped are taking over for their manager having just left. Too many are promoted without fulfilling the role they even have now, let alone the role they're expected to fulfill when promoted. Too many are already doing the job of the next level and not being promoted because they were too busy doing their jobs to invest in sucking-up to the VPs and SVPs.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2020-02-07
  5. "GREAT Place To Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don't even know where to start...Credit Karma treats their employees extremely well, and it goes far beyond the pay. The work-life balance, the in-office amenities, the culture as a whole - even the work - are all so gratifying. I've never been at a place where I've actually enjoyed coming to work every day. Everyone is friendly and seems to genuinely enjoy what they do and where they do it. Developing products that help people take control of their financial well-being - what's not to love?

    Cons

    I genuinely can't think of any significant cons. The Charlotte office is still growing, and there can be some minor pains with that (booking a conference room for a meeting, maybe?). But there seriously isn't anything to complain about here.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2020-01-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    nice place to work at

    Cons

    slow company to work at

    Credit Karma2020-02-10
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Needs an intervention"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma

    Pros

    - Snacks - Nice office - Fully stocked bar - Great events Credit Karma was a fun place for everything except work. And work occasionally was pretty fun too.

    Cons

    - Politics - Bad leaders The below are my individual experiences working on an engineering team. I never had input into team’s priorities There was poorly suited code being copy and pasted left and right, and colleagues who cannot get code to compile despite years working in the language Aggressive, unclear OKR’s All code subject to a company wide code review panel Engineering design decisions were lead by consensus and emotion, with a strong resistance to change. Asking for details or demonstrating edge cases lead to anger, not analysis. A projects value was seemingly measured in the number of meetings it caused Agile process was cargo culted without understanding of value or any iteration on it. Note to reader: If you are an IC who wants to be challenged daily, takes a lot of initiative, and wants to make a big impact, this probably isn’t the place for you. Secondarily, coaching I have been privy to is downright incorrect and manipulative, unless you get really lucky with the right team.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2020-02-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bunch of 30yr olds acting like teenagers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma

    Pros

    You learn a lot cause they have a very different process as compared to other companies

    Cons

    Competition. Not sense of unity within teams. People will only look for ways to sabotage your presence. Office politics at its best

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2020-02-19
  9. "Amazing Company, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Wonderful executive team. Credit Karma has a great fantastic mission and the leadership is truly outstanding- very transparent, and extremely caring to their members and employees. 2) People- best experience I have had at any company in terms of people I worked with directly and indirectly 3) Growing company. It's always exciting to be with a fast-growing company

    Cons

    The only cons I experienced here were the typical growing pains fast-growing companies experience.

    Credit Karma2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "toxic engineering culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    life balance is good; a good practice school

    Cons

    engineering leaders has poor tech vision; they pent more effort on empire building.

    Continue reading
    Credit Karma2019-11-25
Found 178 reviews