DWS Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 of over 148 reviews

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
DWS Executive Vice President and Country Manager Michael Horton (no image)
Michael Horton
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Monthly social club events to blend with colleagues working with different clients(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great social club events organised by the staff/social club committee(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Body Shop - So don't expect much support(in 8 reviews)

  • "just a bodyshop company, not good for career growth(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Consultant focused

      Feb 16, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DWS have a consultant focused approach which is rare in our industry

      Cons

      in nearly 3 years being with DWS i haven't experienced any issues

      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your 5-star review! Its fantastic to hear such positive feedback on the DWS employee experience.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a job. Nothing more.

      Oct 17, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There's pre-approved training for recognized certifications - Referral bonuses for referring professionals from your network - Bonus if certifications are completed within 6 months - Overtime is generally offered, with several caveats - Diverse range of skill sets in the organization - Reasonable work/life balance

      Cons

      - Forced shutdown over Christmas means you'll be required to take annual leave, even if the business (or rather the client you work for) has work for you to do - Base salary is outrageously bad. Expect to be paid around half of what the rest of the market will pay you - Management can be quite disrespectful - They still count the minutes you work. Expect a passive-aggressive email from finance if you don't complete your timesheets on time. - Overtime has too many restrictions and hoops to jump through. Even after you're eligible and it was approved, they'll try to drag out the process to avoid paying you - High staff turnover. Expect to receive weekly 'farewell' emails from staff leaving the organization - The business is generally not interested in any form of innovation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review, it's great to read the list of positive aspects to working for DWS. In regards to your other comments, theses are the same as expectations for staff at any other professional IT/Tech consultancy - or are simply incorrect. Please feel free to reach out to our HR team who will be happy to discuss in detail with you.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Body Shop, Little Support, Short and Unstable projects.

      Oct 11, 2021 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Social culture on bench, pay weekly, top clients on pipeline.

      Cons

      Body shop, little support and you are on your own. Safe if you are billable. High risk if you are on bench for long. No guidance and poor HR. Lack of training. Lack of long and stable projects.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. DWS has a broad range of tier 1 clients with projects typically running for around 12 months or more, often for multiple years. Our Consultants who are on the bench have the opportunity to use this time for upskilling and professional development though our fully-funded learning and development framework, should they wish to.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company but

      Aug 23, 2021 - Business Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Government clients get to work with diverse amount of clients on different projects. Lots to learn

      Cons

      Sometimes politics can be bad for someone hardworking. Salary is average compared with other banks or consulting firms.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review of DWS. We have always been a competitive salary business, with a strong focus on a great work-life balance for all Consultant staff.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Once the client is gone , you will be thrown in dust bin

      Aug 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will hire you at high rate initially, as they know, they will keep you only for a short project , they just got.

      Cons

      Managers are egoistic. Your appreciation from client, hardwork, nothing matters. If manager is egoistic or if client lays off employees, or project is over for which they just hired you (on permanent role), they will never retain you. Body shop. They are used to hire people as permanent employees and then throw them after 1-6 months. They will ask you to work for 12-15 hours, without additional pay. Many of my friends and colleagues told same story. Never ever join them.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for the review, though it seems you have the wrong company you are reviewing. DWS does not hire staff for specific projects as we take a long-term career view with our staff, and most of our clients we have worked with for many decades. The Consultants who join us are hired for their strong skills in their chosen job family, not a match to an individual client - and as a result, we can easily reengage them on other projects quickly and effectively.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great Employer, until you are at client site

      Jul 19, 2021 - IT-Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for social activities, maybe not anymore

      Cons

      Bench culture is really not that enjoyable. Could be Hostile. Feel of getting Redundant is always on back of the head. Just an Bodyshopping frim.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. DWS has for a long time had one of the lowest bench percentages in the industry, and has always done everything possible to minimise the time our staff spends between client engagements. Our Consultants also have the opportunity to use this time for upskilling and professional development though our fully-funded learning and development framework, should they wish to.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ok place to work

      Jul 18, 2021 - I Would Rather Not Say 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flat management structure, good people in head Office

      Cons

      No real feedback to provide here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. We would love to know what we could do different to gain a 5 star review, as you indicated DWS has good people in head office, and you have no 'cons' or other feedback.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Jul 14, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work with. What else

      Cons

      No negative feedback all good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. We would love to know what we could do different to gain a 5 star review, as you indicated you have no 'cons' to report.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good training framework

      May 31, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DWS encourages its employees to keep learning new tech. The training framework covers so many trainings and provides incentives.

      Cons

      it is not easy to move to other fields which you don't have much experience

      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your 4-star review. DWS does indeed have a strong training framework where we not only pay for our staff to gain additional qualifications and certifications, we also pay bonuses on completion of these. We are very open to moving staff between roles, please speak to the HR team bout your career ambitions so we can support and assist you with this.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pros & Cons

      May 25, 2021 - Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Variety of different blue chip clients

      Cons

      Short to medium term projects

      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your 4-start review. DWS does indeed have a great rang of major blue-chip clients. The projects we work on can range from short assignments through to major multi-year programs of work, depending on the level of assistance needed by the individual clients; with 6+ months being the typical engagement length.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with DWS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DWS? Share Your Experiences

    DWS logo
    or