DWS Reviews

Updated May 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 of over 161 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
DWS Executive Vice President and Country Manager Michael Horton (no image)
Michael Horton
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Monthly social club events to blend with colleagues working with different clients(in 19 reviews)

  • "DWS have a consultant focused approach which is rare in our industry(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "in nearly 3 years being with DWS i haven't experienced any issues(in 15 reviews)

  • "More of a body-shop than a consultancy(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic place to be at

      May 13, 2022 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and great transparency

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you very much for your 5-star review!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Apr 30, 2022 - Senior Developer in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exposures to different clients, good opportunity to work on different projects

      Cons

      Not easy to move to different client

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your 4-star review. DWS has a dedicated 'Move Me' request function where staff can instantly notify the correct teams to begin the process of changing client / project.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Consulting organisation

      Apr 8, 2022 - Senior Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Distinguished Client base and opportunities

      Cons

      Short term projects at client location results in frequent movements from one client to another

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for the 4-star review, great to read the positive on the top tier clients and opportunities. Typical projects are 6-12+ months, which provides both variety and stability to staff and clients alike.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not bad

      Mar 24, 2022 - Senior DevOps Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had some level of autonomy

      Cons

      Body shop. Don't want to do strategy work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your 4-star review. Your feedback has been passed to the relevant teams.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a job. Nothing more.

      Oct 17, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There's pre-approved training for recognized certifications - Referral bonuses for referring professionals from your network - Bonus if certifications are completed within 6 months - Overtime is generally offered, with several caveats - Diverse range of skill sets in the organization - Reasonable work/life balance

      Cons

      - Forced shutdown over Christmas means you'll be required to take annual leave, even if the business (or rather the client you work for) has work for you to do - Base salary is outrageously bad. Expect to be paid around half of what the rest of the market will pay you - Management can be quite disrespectful - They still count the minutes you work. Expect a passive-aggressive email from finance if you don't complete your timesheets on time. - Overtime has too many restrictions and hoops to jump through. Even after you're eligible and it was approved, they'll try to drag out the process to avoid paying you - High staff turnover. Expect to receive weekly 'farewell' emails from staff leaving the organization - The business is generally not interested in any form of innovation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your review, it's great to read the list of positive aspects to working for DWS. In regards to your other comments, these are the same as expectations for staff at any other professional IT/Tech consultancy - or are simply incorrect. Please feel free to reach out to our HR team who will be happy to discuss in detail with you.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Body Shop, Little Support, Short and Unstable projects.

      Oct 11, 2021 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Social culture on bench, pay weekly, top clients on pipeline.

      Cons

      Body shop, little support and you are on your own. Safe if you are billable. High risk if you are on bench for long. No guidance and poor HR. Lack of training. Lack of long and stable projects.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. DWS has a broad range of tier 1 clients with projects typically running for around 12 months or more, often for multiple years. Our Consultants who are on the bench have the opportunity to use this time for upskilling and professional development though our fully-funded learning and development framework, should they wish to.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company but

      Aug 23, 2021 - Business Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Government clients get to work with diverse amount of clients on different projects. Lots to learn

      Cons

      Sometimes politics can be bad for someone hardworking. Salary is average compared with other banks or consulting firms.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review of DWS. We have always been a competitive salary business, with a strong focus on a great work-life balance for all Consultant staff.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Once the client is gone , you will be thrown in dust bin

      Aug 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will hire you at high rate initially, as they know, they will keep you only for a short project , they just got.

      Cons

      Managers are egoistic. Your appreciation from client, hardwork, nothing matters. If manager is egoistic or if client lays off employees, or project is over for which they just hired you (on permanent role), they will never retain you. Body shop. They are used to hire people as permanent employees and then throw them after 1-6 months. They will ask you to work for 12-15 hours, without additional pay. Many of my friends and colleagues told same story. Never ever join them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for the review, though it seems you have the wrong company you are reviewing. DWS does not hire staff for specific projects as we take a long-term career view with our staff, and most of our clients we have worked with for many decades. The Consultants who join us are hired for their strong skills in their chosen job family, not a match to an individual client - and as a result, we can easily reengage them on other projects quickly and effectively.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great Employer, until you are at client site

      Jul 19, 2021 - IT-Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for social activities, maybe not anymore

      Cons

      Bench culture is really not that enjoyable. Could be Hostile. Feel of getting Redundant is always on back of the head. Just an Bodyshopping frim.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. DWS has for a long time had one of the lowest bench percentages in the industry, and has always done everything possible to minimise the time our staff spends between client engagements. Our Consultants also have the opportunity to use this time for upskilling and professional development though our fully-funded learning and development framework, should they wish to.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ok place to work

      Jul 18, 2021 - I Would Rather Not Say 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flat management structure, good people in head Office

      Cons

      No real feedback to provide here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DWS Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. We would love to know what we could do different to gain a 5 star review, as you indicated DWS has good people in head office, and you have no 'cons' or other feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 144 Reviews
    </>Embed

    DWS Reviews FAQs

    DWS has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 161 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at DWS to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DWS employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DWS. This rating has decreased by -18% over the last 12 months.

    73% of DWS employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DWS 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.0 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with DWS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DWS? Share Your Experiences

    DWS logo
    or