FortisBC Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

FortisBC Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
FortisBC CEO Roger Dall’Antonia (no image)
Roger Dall’Antonia
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I don't even know how upper management deals with the ridiculous turnaround(in 11 reviews)

  • "poor management, lack of communication with the middle management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAP Basis Administrator in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FortisBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very updated and organised work environment

    Cons

    Better if they upgrade to HANA

    FortisBC2019-10-01
  2. "Very Good Company, Mentorship Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly people. Great support for work tasks. Engineering related work experience. Diverse and merit based assignments, you get as much as you are willing to take on and able to do.

    Cons

    Mentorship is lacking, it can be noticeable and frustrating. There is not much available for gaining industry insight or making those meaningful professional connections. There is also little in the way of training and advancement, you have to push for it yourself and will often be told no. The salary/hourly range is mid-tire and does not provide any scaling with location.

    Advice to Management

    You would end up with better employment prospects if management invested in people more. Don't check in then check out, go a little further and show some more initiative to help people grow.

    FortisBC2019-09-07
  3. "CSR review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at FortisBC full-time

    Pros

    Meet great people and learn a lot about the gas industry

    Cons

    Odd working hrs that they change in a moments notice

    FortisBC2019-09-02
  4. "Unhealthy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Union staff are paid relatively well. -Vacation days off are same as elsewhere

    Cons

    -Union staff paid more than staff who manage them -unhealthy workplace, cliques, few opportunities for advancement, limited salary bands, silly power games -lack of direction -pension contributions are too high, not well managed -technology is outdated

    Advice to Management

    -start setting things right starting at the top regarding your corporate values.

    FortisBC2019-06-02
  5. "Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FortisBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit, lots of vacation time

    Cons

    No annual bonus, pension contribution too high

    FortisBC2019-02-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Management & Exempt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and time off structure. Managers generally seems to care.

    Cons

    The company is very slow to respond to change. While we brand ourselves as innovative, the company processes and structure are right out of the 1950s. I've seen younger employees leave because of this. While unionized compensation seems to be industry leading, exempt employees even in management roles make less than the folks they either directly manage or task manage. The 5 band exempt pay structure since pretty... much everyone is in the 2nd or 3rd band. No mentoring program.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to re-vamp the management and exempt pay structures and job structure. You need to be able to rapidly change in this market and pay structure and job descriptions from the 1950's are hurting not helping business. Develop mentoring programs and set junior staff on a career trajectory rather than have the general HR philosophy be to sit on one's thumbs and hope internal people will know where their career should... go. I left on good terms, really great performance reviews. However, at the end of the day I didn't know where the company wanted me to grow, so I went to another organization that did.

    Show More
    FortisBC2019-02-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wasted Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong company umbrella with benefits

    Cons

    Immature and competent management and hierarchy

    Advice to Management

    Equality to employees should not be compromised for cliques

    FortisBC2019-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unhappy Union Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC

    Pros

    Very little is expected of you

    Cons

    All jobs are boring, dead end, way too many managers, hire lazy and incompetent people, and no one cares if you work hard.

    Advice to Management

    Show more respect.

    FortisBC2019-02-24
  9. "Is good, but more $ would be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at FortisBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment, work life balance, benefits are great, good opportunities

    Cons

    Pay could be better.

    FortisBC2018-12-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FortisBC full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Average compensation and benefits. Generally nice people work there.

    Cons

    Very little of substance changes. Not much of a focus on personal or company performance, so there is very little pressure to do things better.

    Advice to Management

    Prepare for a changing business environment because maintaining the status quo isn’t going to work over the next 20 years.

    FortisBC2018-10-13
Found 86 reviews