Freelancer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Freelancer Reviews

Updated 7 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 438 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Freelancer CEO Matt Barrie
Matt Barrie
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fake clients can create project and steal freelancers' effort time(in 23 reviews)

  • "renda variavel que oscila conforme a minha produ(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Quite good in general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freelancer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Challenging problems to solve 2. Really cool and smart teammates to work with

    Cons

    hope there's a systematic performance review system

    Advice to Management

    None

    Freelancer2019-01-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A "Fun" place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great people - very smart and talented engineers - fantastic tech culture

    Cons

    - lots of legacy code - gatekeeper product owners - expected to work back - poor onboarding/training

    Freelancer2019-07-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    ""Most exciting company I have ever worked at!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best company I have ever worked at. Amazing culture, encourages growth and progression and has a great work/life balance. I loved working for Freelancer. The culture makes coming to work so enjoyable. It is fair to say that everyone is extremely friendly and welcoming as well. Freelancer is extremely supportive of personal and professional growth. Opportunities for growth internally. Great engineering team. Really...

    Show More

    Cons

    Still implementing processes after rapid growth. The office is open planned so sometimes it is difficult to have some privacy and the meeting rooms are always in use. It's fast paced. Sometimes unstructured work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Management should always be transparent and decisions should be made involving all relevant parties. Help bring about structure, try to be transparent with everyone.

    Freelancer2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Sydney

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of current tech to work with, fast paced and lots of opportunity to get involved in new work.

    Cons

    Very fast paced, can be very product focused.

    Freelancer2019-06-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Dont be fooled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freelancer

    Pros

    Dont be fooled by the good looking office, free food and drinks.

    Cons

    Long hours- at a point where it affects your personal life. Not organised Management only seeking short term goal; not sustainable System is slow and old Self centered CEO - paintings everywhere in the office, laugh so loud in the room we can hear him from outside Job title doesnt match responsibilty No integrity Favoritism; a lot of pleasers

    Advice to Management

    Providing free food and drink is not ‘culture’

    Freelancer2019-04-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of interesting projects to work on. Easy to start a new project and move it forward.

    Cons

    Software engineer role in product teams is abysmal. Move out of product team asap after onboard.

    Freelancer2019-03-02
  7. "test analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Freelancer full-time

    Pros

    environment was good and working culture.

    Cons

    less salary and project were less

    Freelancer2019-02-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Culture / Amazing Career Progression Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, dynamic and fast paced, managers given a good level of responsibility, able to put ideas across and have your opinion heard and respected from senior management.

    Cons

    Offer less responsibility to more junior staff members. Free food throughout the entire day so I often over indulged at breakfast and lunch so my waistline had some complaints :-)

    Advice to Management

    Offer referral bonuses to internal staff

    Freelancer2018-10-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good work, disorganised management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Coordinator in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Freelancer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company doing interesting things Decent staff perks

    Cons

    Disorganised management High turnover High stress

    Freelancer2018-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freelancer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    "Liberal" work culture, Above average starting pay

    Cons

    Perf review are always overdue

    Freelancer2018-10-01
Found 438 reviews