Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Genentech Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1924 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Food isn't free but it is discounted so not much of a con at all, difficult to find non-contract full-time position after internship(in 95 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Genentech is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment during the entire period of time

    Cons

    a bit far from home

    Advice to Management

    doing a great job all around

    Genentech2016-10-17
  2. "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Production Supervisor in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    GNE offers a meaningful career. Its a company that takes its people as number one factor for success, for that reason, management focus on helping employees to the fullest, helping them grow as individuals and as employees.

    Cons

    Some favoritism has been identified in the past. Some employees have been promoted without deserving a promotion. Also people with most experience were let go in 2018.

    Advice to Management

    Value longevity of your employees.

    Genentech2019-09-10
  3. "The best biotech to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    The culture is the greatest

    Cons

    Now is in transition due to biosimilar

    Genentech2019-09-09
  4. "We do a lot of work and not paid enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reimbursement Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    They do let contractors work from home.

    Cons

    The process to become permanent is extensive and they do not take in account the people who have been here for awhile. Positions are posted but sups and managers already know who they want for that position.

    Genentech2019-09-09
  5. "Good company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    lots of opportunities to grow, to learn

    Cons

    the payment is not what I expected

    Genentech2019-09-06
  6. "A reputable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An innovation company focus on new medication/ therapy. A very diversified talent pool that exemplifies Bay Area culture. In general, the company cares about employees but not necessarily all managers do that.

    Cons

    Too liberal for me. Some departments and divisions encourage back-stabbing (not expected from a company with such good reputation).

    Genentech2019-09-07
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s Great place to work with opportunity to switch functions

    Cons

    Too big of organization to

    Genentech2019-09-02
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay well and good benefits

    Cons

    Not very efficient and slow decision making

    Genentech2019-09-14
  9. "Rudderless ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of resources Huge portfolio Good customer access comes with the company name Reputation Benefits/salary/perks

    Cons

    Uncertainty of a startup without the financial upside Senior leadership has great high-level vision but middle management is inept and disconnected Career development opportunities are non-existent

    Advice to Management

    Don’t drag “transformation” on for another year. Rip off the band aid already.

    Genentech2019-09-11
  10. "Such a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Rotational Development Program Analyst 

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great, investment in development

    Cons

    Not many entry level opportunities

    Genentech2019-08-27
Found 1924 reviews