Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Genentech Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1883 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Food isn't free but it is discounted so not much of a con at all, difficult to find non-contract full-time position after internship(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Genentech is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Genentech full-time

      Pros

      Great work environment during the entire period of time

      Cons

      a bit far from home

      Advice to Management

      doing a great job all around

      Genentech2016-10-17
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Genentech full-time

        Pros

        Treats employees great and awesome benefits

        Cons

        somewhat silo and hard to move to different parts of the company

        Genentech2019-06-20
      • "Good place to start your career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Genentech full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Reporting managers are very active and involved especially when having difficulties with other teams; senior FAs are mostly very nice people who are very productive and easy to work with.

        Cons

        treat the contract workers equally in terms of some very basic benefits, such as free shuttle and department events. Increase FT headcount.

        Genentech2019-06-17
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits. Enjoyed the teams I worked with. Met a lot of great people.

        Cons

        Lots of layers of process

        Genentech2019-06-13
      • "Great perks, poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Contract Logistics Coordinator in South San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great Benefits, Great perks ( gym onsite), flexable work hours

        Cons

        Management, politics, lay offs, parking,

        Genentech2019-06-20
      • "Great company to work, too many layers for decision making"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Scientist 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Genentech full-time

        Pros

        Science driven, eager to incorporate cutting-edge technology

        Cons

        Poor management, too many layers for decision making

        Genentech2019-06-06

        Genentech Response

        June 19, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

        Great to hear your appreciation! We are working hard to nurture and evolve our culture and are happy to hear your experience overall was positive. It’s important to us that our people feel inspired and passionate about their work. Thank you again for your review!

      • "I worked there more than 7 years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Associate Scientist 

          I worked at Genentech full-time

          Pros

          Very talent team, and supportive co-workers

          Cons

          not clear about how a decision was made

          Genentech2019-06-02
        • "Great, complex work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Senior Corporate Counsel in San Francisco, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Time and resources to fully explore complex important issues. Great, smart colleagues to bounce ideas off of.

          Cons

          Flat organization with no room for advancement.

          Advice to Management

          Pay attention to the quality of line management.

          Genentech2019-06-01

          Genentech Response

          June 18, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

          Thank you for your comments! We agree that Genentech is full of incredible, talented people and are glad that was your experience as well. We strive to hire and engage awesome people throughout our company. We want our employees to be heard, challenged, and inspired every day. Thanks ...

          Show More
        • "Great culture"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Technical Manager in San Mateo, CA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Opportunities for growth, work life balance

          Cons

          Loosing focus, talent retention is poor

          Genentech2019-05-21
        • "Great company, great culture"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I worked at Genentech full-time

          Pros

          Great company that still maintains great culture and work/life balance despite pressures to integrate with Swiss parent Roche

          Cons

          Integration with Roche has led some senior leaders to leave in lieu of being based out of Switzerland

          Genentech2019-05-21

          Genentech Response

          June 21, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

          Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Great to hear the positive input around integrating into the Roche Group. Since our founding, our culture has been a critical part of our DNA and always will be. Although some changes have occurred since the merger, we’ll never forget where we began ...

          Show More
        Found 1883 reviews