Genesis HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Genesis HealthCare Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1525 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Genesis HealthCare CEO George V. Hager Jr.
George V. Hager Jr.
535 Ratings
Pros
  • "Co workers, over time , good pay(in 38 reviews)

  • "With good benefits even contributing 401k for PRN(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management needs to be more flexible(in 84 reviews)

  • "Large corporations can some times be impersonal for patient care(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PTA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Practices standard of health care. Great place to develop your skills.

    Cons

    Documentation time constraints often requires more time than allotted.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-06-18
  2. "At Times Inappropriate assigned treatment minutes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Kennett Square, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent teams and physician respect and support

    Cons

    At times unrealistic expected treatment minutes; poor health insurance with increased employee contributions

    Genesis HealthCare2019-06-13

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    June 17, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. On a regular basis, we evaluate our compensation and benefits in comparison to industry competitors in order to remain competitive.

  3. "I'ts like boot camp. They will overwork you, but you'll learn a lot!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Rehabilitation in Boston, MA

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They strive for clinical excellence. They have high ethical expectations. They don't tolerate late documentation. They support their Directors.

    Cons

    They put a ton of work and high expectations on Directors and burn them out quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Ease up a bit on the directors! They can accomplish a lot for you if you let them. If they are available to focus time and energy on objectives, and have support and motivation, they will make things happen. If they are too busy treating and having conference calls, they are not available to make things happen.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-06-13

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    June 17, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please know that Genesis leadership is committed to our patients, residents, employees and shareholders and are aware of the impact decisions will have on each of them.

  4. "Laid off unexpectedly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rehab Optima or ROX as documentation system is thorough and allows for “free text” to give complete and accurate picture of Patient status.

    Cons

    High productivity expectations. High turn over of managers.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff. The front line Therapist and nurses are the reason people chose you as their care providers.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-06-23

    Genesis HealthCare Response

    June 24, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. When decisions are made by Genesis senior leadership, there are many considerations. We take into account the impact on employees as well as the patients and residents that we serve

  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Social Worker in Las Cruces, NM

      I worked at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Quality people, professional and caring

      Cons

      Nothing negative to say. I worked for them twice!

      Genesis HealthCare2019-06-03

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      June 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for your positive review! Genesis employees are our most valuable resource. Through the talents and extraordinary dedication that our employees bring to their jobs each and every day, they make it possible to achieve our mission of providing high-quality healthcare and ...

      Show More
    • "My years at genesis"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CNA in Hadley, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      We enjoy a great deal of team work

      Cons

      Lower level management needs improvement

      Advice to Management

      Do your jobs

      Genesis HealthCare2019-06-01

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      June 3, 2019Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Genesis employees are the vital link between our patients and residents. We appreciate your kind review.

    • "Flexible schedule"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Colchester, CT

      I have been working at Genesis HealthCare part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good Health Benefit Flexible Schedule tuition reimbursement

      Cons

      None. Most of the time short staff.

      Genesis HealthCare2019-05-29

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      June 3, 2019Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Genesis.

    • Helpful (1)

      "You can do better than this"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - COTA/L in Phila, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Gym staff Can't say much more

      Cons

      No raises in 4 years Difficulty using PTO, try to make you flex. No incentives for long time employees. Publicly traded company, no money for the little ppl

      Advice to Management

      Stop abusing the ppl responaible for making the companies money. Give something back. Everything has been taken away over time.

      Genesis HealthCare2019-06-07

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      June 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

      We value your input and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. At Genesis, we review our compensation and benefit offerings on a regular basis.

    • "Genesis Healthcare"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nurse Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Upward mobility has been the hallmark of my career at GHC

      Cons

      Transfers to different centers can be difficult to facilitate

      Genesis HealthCare2019-05-25

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      May 28, 2019Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for your positive review! Genesis employees are our most valuable resource. Through the talents and extraordinary dedication that our employees bring to their jobs each and every day, they make it possible to achieve our mission of providing high-quality healthcare and ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Cutbacks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Occupational Therapist 

      I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good online resources , online CEU's available

      Cons

      Increasing group treatments, poor benefits, no raises, health insurance keeps increasing in cost, challenging to take PTO, only 2 holidays. A lot of cutbacks and management turnover.

      Genesis HealthCare2019-06-05

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      June 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. On a regular basis, we evaluate our compensation and benefits in comparison to industry competitors in order to remain competitive.

    Found 1525 reviews