Healthgrades Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Healthgrades CEO Rob Draughon
Rob Draughon
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "The ETO policy allows for great work life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, especially on the integrated marketing team(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management: Upper management has built a culture of fear over the past year(in 15 reviews)

  • "Yes the generous vacation time and work / life balance is enticing but pay is way below market(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment. Good people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment. Great people. Work with a purpose.

    Cons

    Scrappy/seat of the pants, Less-than-mature processes and infrastructure (opportunity).

    Healthgrades Response

    June 25, 2020Director, HRBP and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback. We strive to fill our work with purpose and provide a casual work environment. Our goal is to find a balance between being scrappy/agile and building a more consistent process. Your feedback helps us to do this. Jennifer Kraus - VP, Human Resources

  2. "Decent place to work, but upper management doesn’t value employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthgrades full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work. US healthcare is full of problems, so you can make a real difference.

    Cons

    Low salary, poor upper management, no company vision, benefits are terrible. healthcare not covered by employer, company does not pay market salary.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "If you're a work-a-holic this is for you!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesforce Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are resources available for continuing education if you want to take advantage of them. The overall benefits package is decent.

    Cons

    The engineering side of the house has a deeply ingrained culture of working their staff to death. It seems to be a fundamental assumption that they can work that shop so hard because the majority of their staff are on a visa and are dependent upon the job. They don't seem to plan things beyond "well we sold something, even if it's vapor, so now we need to make it mystically appear". Engineering plans were made typically well after a sprint had already started, and then revised again before it was over. Most of the work is done offshore, with most of the design done on shore. Problem is that 11 hour time delta makes it bordering upon impossible to actually have real meetings with offshore engineers who made need help or clarity for the work.

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 25, 2020Director, HRBP and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. We are glad you found benefits and education supportive. We hear your overall concerns about work hours and project planning. Our goal is to work with all Healthgrades teams to build consistent processes and a culture of realistic time expectations. Jennifer Kraus - VP, Human Resources

  4. Helpful (1)

    "F is for FRAUD"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Healthgrades full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a really good company intil they decided there employees didn’t matter!

    Cons

    I don’t know where to start. This company is a joke. All they care about is themselves! We started working from home 3 months ago since it wasn’t safe to be in the office. Now they want us to come back even tho it still isn’t safe? How does that make since! They didn’t pay us our bonus from LAST YEAR, and they keep bragging about how they didn’t have to lay anyone off? I WOOD OF MADE ALOT MORE MONEY ON UNEMPLOYMENT! I’ve worked here for 2 years, and the new people get paid the same! A lot of people were smart and left to collect unemployment and make over $1000 more than me to do NOTHING while I have to work my bit off to make the same as brand new peoples! They wood rather screw us out of our bonuses and not gave us our raises while everyone else in the company gets theres, and try to make us come back to the office where we could get sick and die, rather than care about there employees. Good luck answering calls without employees! Don’t be suprised when you get sued for not paying our $$$$!

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 16, 2020Director, HRBP and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Our return to office guidelines are mandated by state and federal recommendations and our facilities team monitors this on a daily basis. Bonus payments for 2019 are still under consideration and we are hoping to provide employees with an update soon. Jennifer Kraus, Vice President, Human Resources

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great co-workers, HORRIBLE management!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Integrated Marketing Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, most notably extended time off and 401k match. Great people to work with, especially on the integrated marketing team. Clients all over the country so many opportunities for travel.

    Cons

    - Base compensation is pretty low, but if you're in a commission-earning role there are opportunities. - No clear plan for the future from management, it's just one acquisition- after the next that have all been very poorly executed from an operational stand point. It feels like leadership if more concerned with setting up shareholders to sell the company than with actually running the company well and keeping talented employees. - Managers seem unqualified and powerless to truly manage people - it's simply a title without any real qualifications or managerial training to back it up. Essentially, your future and development plan as an employee is in the hands of someone who really has no idea how to motivate or grow you professionally. - Training is almost non-existent. You're pretty much left to figure things out on your own or rely heavily on colleagues to teach you. Where training does exist, it is very poorly executed. - No real opportunities for career growth; promotions are simply a new title and increased pay but there is no real path to actual career growth and development. - Cross-functional teams are very dysfunctional - there is a lack of ownership and accountability from some teams and their leadership is more concerned with shifting blame than finding solutions to problems. - Sales culture within a MARKETING STRATEGY team; using commission as an incentive for marketing strategists turns them into sales people concerned with selling more of "what's on the truck" than being good strategic consultants. It also inspires an unhealthy scale of competition among the team (including between managers and their reports since both have client loads) because client assignments affect commission scales and there is no clear rhyme or reason to how these are done. There is definitely an element of leadership playing favorites.

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 1, 2020SVP HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to be offering unique benefits to our employees including: student loan repayment, fertility and adoption assistance, text-based therapy and an amazing wellness platform. Senior management is always available to hear feedback and suggestions from employees. -- Kate Hyatt, Chief People Officer

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hackgrades"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time

    Pros

    Some good coworkers some of the time.

    Cons

    If you value yourself, don't work for this place. Healthgrades sells new hires on the idea that being a customer service specialist is an easy job and that Healthgrades itself provides a meaningful service which helps patients, hospitals, and others. In reality you're a middleman and a scapegoat for upset patients trying to reach their doctor's office, doctor's offices who never signed up for HG's services, and anyone else who happens to dial the wrong number. If that wasn't tough enough, good workers are punished with a continuous dumping of added duties without any decent rewards (increased pay, free lunches, or even verbal praise). You can expect someone who barely works at all to be promoted because they're friends with someone in management. New hires make more money. Upper management doesn't know how to run this company, as evidenced by the major losses of clients and high turnover in the workplace. People in all positions (even supervisors, IT, engineers) disappear regularly and you might notice only when 1) an email addressed to them doesn't go through or 2) because every employee can see the cubicle being cleaned out. Despite the various mottos sponsored by this Healthcare data mining company, the most contradictory one is "be transparent." Don't kid yourself or your employees. If the company is expanding so much, then why are the numbers so bad? The longtime workers are quitting, the newcomers are quitting, the CEOs are quitting, clients have left (yeah, go on and talk about the two acquisitions when you have no idea what to do with them), and yet upper management still claims everything's good. It's not. Consumer Reports even mentioned Healthgrades negatively in an article published in 2016. Healthgrades will fail at some point as they're not transparent, not rewarding of hard work, not committed to improving, and not ever responsible for their bad decisions (like a client going live accidentally or the Healthgrades website being changed without telling any of the workers). Plus the tech people are barely available and the system crashes more than it should. Lastly, HG once refused to give out a bonus to a woman who had a seizure while there at the office because it happened on a Monday. No empathy from the corporate machine. Only fancy headphones that don't work and a headache that doesn't stop even when your shift is over. Side note, I know Kate or other HR members will try and dismiss all of this, but the truth is out there. That career map ain't the answer and the anonymous whistle-blower line is laughable. Even the free coffee can't make up for the amount of mental energy required to get through a single day of work. Being mission-driven or growing as a company shouldn't mean killing your workers.

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 12, 2020Director, HRBP and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We hire and train our employees on a variety of Healthgrades products and processes that evolve as our company grows. We strive to provide our employees with the tools they need to succeed in their jobs and maintain a healthy work/life balance. Employee feedback like this helps us to continuously improve our work environment. Jennifer Kraus - Vice President, Human Resources

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Poor leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Immediate coworkers are great. People survive this place together. Strong legacy of success in healthcare CRM. This legacy is longstanding and irreplaceable.

    Cons

    This is a fractured company, with not much vision coming from the top business leadership, and individual leaders and managers pushing their own directions. Multiple rounds of M&A, layoffs, and years of high turnover have made the company feel like it lacks a heart, and a brain. Company "values" are more of an internal marketing campaign than a reality. Recent reverse acquisition, along with layoffs of productive, key teams, destroyed the product engineering culture. Business decision making is unintelligible, as is engineering direction. Morale is shot, to a point that "acquisitions are hard OK?" is not a good answer. Private investors appear to now want to dump the company, so the business will probably be pumping sales and appearances at the expense of product quality and long-term success.

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 1, 2020SVP HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Healthgrades has had two significant acquisitions in the last 2 years and has successfully completed two integrations. We are grateful to all of our employees for being part of these changes and for continuing to build our business. -- Kate Hyatt, Chief People Officer

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthgrades full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pay and benefits are great. Most people recognize that we are lucky to have excellent work life balance at this company. - I think people have different experiences based on their management, but I've always felt there was lots of opportunity to grow and learn. - Company is doing well and making improvements all the time. Our CEO is level headed and keeps the company stable. - HR sends out surveys and actually tries to improve the results. They throw parties and recognition events frequently.

    Cons

    - Healthcare plans are very expensive. I hope the costs are addressed in the future.

    Continue reading

    Healthgrades Response

    June 1, 2020SVP HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. The latest recommendations from our employee engagement council have been approved by the executive team and will be rolling out soon. We are always open to feedback from our employees. We offer several benefits plans and our benefits team offers guidance to employees regarding which plan is best for them. -- Kate Hyatt, Chief People Officer

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Bother"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Healthgrades full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Very nice office: Open floor plan, snack, beer on tap, great downtown location -Some really great, smart and motivated people -Nice PTO policy -Some opportunity for advancement if you have the right boss

    Cons

    -Holy Layoffs!!! All. The. Time. - There were at least 6 rounds of layoffs I can think of off the top of my head in the few years I was there. Morale is super low and everyone is scared for their job. -Some of the worst managers / senior leadership I've ever had to deal with. Especially in the engineering department. And no matter how many complaints there are it seems that nothing is ever done to address issues.

    Healthgrades Response

    June 1, 2020SVP HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Healthgrades had two acquisitions in two years. It is common for companies to have layoffs after acquisitions since there are often duplications in roles. We have not had any layoffs or furloughs due to COVID. We will continue to focus on training and development for all of our people managers. -- Kate Hyatt, Chief People Officer

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Former Evariant Employee"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Healthgrades

    Pros

    Being part of Evariant for the past 6 years has brought many pros. It was great working for a company that had so much potential and so many smart and talented people ready to propel the company to success.

    Cons

    The way Evariant’s story ended was avoidable but unfortunately there were too many leaders that put their egos, greed and feelings of self entitlement over the best interest of the company and its employees. It truly was like watching a ship slowly sink, with all the people on board desperately and frantically throwing buckets of water overboard to help it stay a float. During Evariant’s last year, the company culture became toxic and managers were led by fear rather than passion. We were asked to have courage of our convictions and dare mighty things, but then admonished and belittled when we attempted to live up to those challenges. A select few were held on a high pedestal, which resulted in many talented and inspiring voices to be silenced or exited. That was the true and actual death of Evariant - the sale to Healthgrades was only the final transaction. The acquisition was so poorly managed and those who led us to be in such poor financial state seemed to be the ones who benefited. There was little to no logical thought process around the decisions to eliminate certain positions or teams, no collaboration or communication between Evariant and Healthgrades and mass confusion post sale. The company and those that profited only wanted to get to the finish line and collect their money. A comprehensive and well thought out plan to transition the right roles and people was an afterthought, with executive favorites being “saved” and found roles with Healthgrades, whether those roles made any sense.

    Healthgrades Response

    May 19, 2020SVP HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Acquisitions always involve a significant amount of change for companies and difficult decisions that impact people. The Healthgrades team followed an integration playbook that has been effective for past acquisitions. The company is well-positioned for positive results in 2020. --- Kate Hyatt, Chief People Officer

Found 289 reviews