Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 997 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount(in 127 reviews)

  • "You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love(in 82 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed the work culture and environment

    Cons

    Some of the managers were power-tripping

    Hot Topic2018-07-14
  2. "Store Manager review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment of the store, product, great benefits, Fun company to work for, Profitable company that is doing really well

    Cons

    can be stressful trying to keep your store metrics above average

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Hot Topic2019-09-11
  3. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment. Get to dress how you want within reason.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here.

    Hot Topic2019-08-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Loved this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time

    Pros

    Staff was amazing! And management was professional and just awesome!

    Cons

    The t-shirt was was the bane of my existence

    Hot Topic2019-08-22
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back, chill coworkers, nice discount

    Cons

    Extremely dusty, drama, terrible leadership, communication extremely lacking, no consistent hours, no accountability between shifts, HR is rude/mean, they don't care about employees only numbers. Training is lacking

    Advice to Management

    Hold your employees accountable on both shifts. Change leadership around to a more suitable team. Listen to your employees.

    Hot Topic2019-09-07
  6. "Great Team tough customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team work nice discount on merch

    Cons

    Terrible customer base not a lot of compensation

    Advice to Management

    Add more payroll

    Hot Topic2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I recommend it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at with great customers.

    Cons

    The pay is what is not the greatest.

    Hot Topic2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "not great but not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Designer 

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    it is a cool company, we get aloft of perks and I overall enjoy working there for those reasons

    Cons

    doesn't pay well, over worked, understaffed

    Hot Topic2019-08-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hot Topic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s fun and the staff was great to work with, the energy was great!

    Cons

    Lots of standing and walking around and quick thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of people’s conditions for standing for long periods of time.

    Hot Topic2019-08-02
  10. "Respond to any concerns and questions any customer may have. Respectful to whom’ I am working with. Hard working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Las Cruces, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hot Topic is an amazing store and I want to be apart in helping and working with people. I will help reach customers satisfaction and answer all questions they may have about any item in the store. I am kind, understanding and I will assist the customers to what they might like. Always on time, open to any position.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this store because this is an amazing store.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the good work, you’re store is wonderful.

    Hot Topic2019-08-03
Found 997 reviews