Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 966 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of upper management support(in 51 reviews)

  • "The only cons for sales associates is the hours depending on the sales volume of the store(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time

      Pros

      Enjoyed the work culture and environment

      Cons

      Some of the managers were power-tripping

      Hot Topic2018-07-14
    • "I miss it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Keyholder in El Paso, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great co workers. Awesome training by my managers, I pretty much owe how well I've done in all other fields to this job because my district manager knew how to encourage our goals.

      Cons

      Super low pay, the part time manager was only getting paid .25 more than me. I was part time but often id be put to work 39 hours because everyone kept quitting. It was too hard to manage that with my college schedule so I had to leave.

      Advice to Management

      Don't micro manage, create loyalty because with such low pay that's what's going to keep people there.

      Hot Topic2019-06-12
    • "Fun Job During College"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I loved working at Hot Topic for the merchandise discounts, the pop culture, and the atmosphere. It was nice working in a store where the customers and I could talk about our favorite bands, anime and clothing styles.

      Cons

      There's a lot of pressure on making your sales goals. They would take away hours based off of your KPIs and give them to the employee with the most sales. This is a terrible system because the associated behind the cashier ultimately gets to determine who gets the sale based off of who helped the customer. Sometimes employees would take the sale for themselves regardless.

      Hot Topic2019-06-10
    • "poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great discount and team members

      Cons

      poor management not only in store but above aswell. i made several complaints of harassment from a fellow employee that took several months before taken seriously.

      Hot Topic2019-06-24
    • "Not what it seems"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, NC

      I worked at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Cool people & customers

      Cons

      Upper management very secretive. Doesnt share alot of info with stores

      Hot Topic2019-06-19
    • "I loved it!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount! ZERO tolerance for bigotry, it felt like a very safe space for people from all walks of life.

      Cons

      Part time hours can be seriously lacking, consider full time if you need the money.

      Advice to Management

      Breathe, the back room is never going to be finished and that's ok.

      Hot Topic2019-06-04
    • "Collaboration and Engagement meets Pop Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in City of Industry, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Tons of room for internal growth! We have an executive team that not only listens to the employees, but the customers as well. The company is always looking for new and innovative ways for us to grow as a brand.

      Cons

      More opportunities for us to volunteer as a company or department.

      Hot Topic2019-05-29
    • "Loved the job, but can be stressful at times"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You get to share your popular culture passion with customers and co-workers, constantly talking about tv shows, movies, etc. during the job. You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love. Shifts were usually fun, since you get to engage with passionate customers and co-workers as well.

      Cons

      Sale goals can get high, and when sales aren't met, they cut hours and most part time associates may only get 2-3 shifts per week, usually only working 3 hours depending on the store... which isn't really worth my time.

      Advice to Management

      Have more hours to give to employees so they're not wasting their time on 3 hour shifts.

      Hot Topic2019-05-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Love it!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

      Pros

      Great company culture and work life balance. I feel very engaged in my role and love working with all the teams at HQ.

      Cons

      Sometimes its cold in the office.

      Hot Topic2019-05-22
    • "Okay job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Practitioner in Poole, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The children The staff Family feel nursery

      Cons

      Awful pay No benefits made to work bank holidays with no extra pay Don’t get paid enough for how much expected to do

      Advice to Management

      Focus on staff

      Hot Topic2019-06-08
    Found 966 reviews