Hype DC Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
14%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hype DC part-time

    Pros

    great discount when buying shoes

    Cons

    stock is a bit hard, but fun

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-04-03
  2. "Hype"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Hype DC part-time

    Pros

    good discount, good co workers

    Cons

    Very strict KPI and top down management

    Hype DC2020-04-28
  3. "Poor Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    used to have a very positive work environment and culture before being sold to accent

    Cons

    Management do not care about staff at all, had multiple situations where sexual harassment was present and when reported was completely ignored

    Hype DC2020-02-18
  4. "Horrible Place to Work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount and that's about it

    Cons

    - Forced manual labour for hours on end. - Bullying in the work place that never gets resolved, even after complaining - Expected to work illegal hours - Guilt tripped when sick - I sprained my wrist after days of stock room work with no help from managers and was bullied and threatened when I took time off work and filled out a incident report - Favouritism between staff. You're more respected if you're "cool" - Honestly the most pretentious bunch of people I've ever met in my life - Managers expect miracles. - Management guilt trip you if you make a mistake but never thank you for doing a good job

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-11-05
  5. "Great team, bad management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounted shoes, fun people to work with

    Cons

    Management was arrogant, no HR, didn't take complaints seriously, no professionalism

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-10-01
  6. "AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having worked there for 4 years the best part about it was the people. Made some life long friends and the pay was above average.

    Cons

    Accent Group are toxic and the turn over of managers and area managers was ridiculous. In my last year for the company, I had 5 different area managers. The pressure that casual staff were put under was unfair and criminal as they were forced to compete for sales to the extent where it created a negative "Team" Culture. Upper management left the store managers to do their dirty work and would constantly talk behind employees backs.

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic upper management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 40% discount on products - The people that you work with at store level! - Customers are generally nice

    Cons

    - TOXIC upper management. Regional, state and national managers are condescending, speak to you derogatorily, doesn’t even treat casual team members as anything BUT a replaceable commodity. They’re unapproachable, talk about you behind your back and will never want to approach you about any issues that they have with you personally. They’ll tell the store managers to do their dirty work. A lot of team members have been virtually made redundant by not receiving shifts because they think the store needs a clean pretty much, and makes it clear to each team member that they’re just a number and they’re no good for anything else. Do not expect to be treated with respect working for this company. - Store level management can be tolerable, however, keep in mind that they’re virtual puppets of upper management and have no autonomy in making any decisions. It’s a toxic pyramid culture, and everything is achieved through fear tactics. - If you’re underperforming, don’t expect your managers to collaboratively work with you to improve your skills. You’ll just be humiliated by being ranked by how much money you’ve made that week and your results will be shared with every other person in the store. So if you work 5 hours on a Monday and made less money than someone who worked 5 hours on a Saturday night, that’s your problem and they don’t care that your working circumstances were what largely impacted why you couldn’t make target that week. - If you experience bullying from other workers or customers, don’t expect support from management. They simply don’t. care. - They’ll hire based on attractiveness over competence. - Remember, if you’re a store level employee, support office employees will ALWAYS be better than you.

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Casual Key Holder"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3ic/Supervisor in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hype DC part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tbh nothing. Nothing is exciting or stimulating about this company. Poor, bland and unoriginal

    Cons

    - Over expectations within an unrealistic time frame - The company doesn’t do forward thinking, however if you wish to consult with them with the best possible solution, they disagree until the problem occurs then they realise you were right, but they won’t admit it - Favouritism within management and staff. If you suck up and on the good side of management, then you’re set - If they don’t like you, then they would build a case to dismiss you - No sympathy for their employees at all, they treat their “TEAM” as replaceable. - A forced fake “culture” if they have any - Performance based/ heavy sales driven and no care factor for the in-store teams unforeseen circumstances. - Countless stories of team being mistreated - No product difference or POD between their other brands they own (Platypus, Vans, Timberlands etc) - VERY FAST staff turnaround - No empathy towards team members personal and work life, they expect us to be robots and make them money

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-05-15
  9. "Worst management but best coworkers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hype DC part-time

    Pros

    The people are great. Pay is above average.

    Cons

    Management is the worst I’ve ever experienced. In less than two years we went through 6+ managers and 6 months of that time we had no manager. Unrealistic expectations

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-04-08
  10. "2IC"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hype DC full-time

    Pros

    Good discounts Good products

    Cons

    Terrible management Terrible colleagues

    Continue reading
    Hype DC2019-03-27
Found 24 reviews