IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

IBM Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17,712 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Perth, Western Australia

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good company to work with

    Cons

    none to be frank now

    Advice to Management

    review hcam policy

    IBM2019-11-05
  2. "Work from home and friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I did an internship for 1 year and stayed as a gradate for another year. We can work from home from time to time. Everybody is so nice and teaches me a lot of stuff generously.

    Cons

    Not I can think of. I only want to switch job because I don't want to stay in IT industry.

    IBM2018-09-24
  3. "Salary Information for IBM Australia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Partner in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Technology, Innovation, Brand, History, Integrity

    Cons

    Politics, Legacy Approach to Business

    IBM2019-12-11
  4. "I am great at System Analysis; Problems Solving; Production Problems Solving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    IT is a very professional industry, it's rewarding for people who works hard and dedicate their time (which is fair). It can help me grow personally for working with the team and learning the adversity of teamwork.

    Cons

    Work life balance is a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Work life balancing

    IBM2019-12-01
  5. "IBM EPSer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Early Professional Seller in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for career progression is endless.

    Cons

    Not the best company culture.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving internal culture.

    IBM2019-11-28
  6. "IBM could improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    The People, lifelong friends were made.

    Cons

    Middle Management, lack direction and leadership

    Advice to Management

    Too much politics being played at the people management level. You need to value your people more.

    IBM2019-12-01
  7. "Work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bid Coordinator in Sydney

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good work life balance.

    Cons

    Hard to raise job band.

    IBM2019-11-16
  8. "Great opportunity as a graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work at a global company for an internship or graduate position.

    Cons

    Probably not a good place for a stable career. Lots of redundancies and customer first/employee last mentality

    Advice to Management

    Look after your employees first and they will keep customers happy naturally

    IBM2019-11-25
  9. "Everything depends on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Project Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Certain flexibility when it comes down to work for multiple clients

    Cons

    Company tend to treat you like a number

    IBM2019-11-24
  10. "Internal Friction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has great professional experience doing client work. Learnt so much about managing a software and consulting business.

    Cons

    Outrageous bureaucracy. Slow decision making. Convoluted bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Learn to delegate

    IBM2019-11-22
Found 48328 reviews
</>Embed