IGT Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

IGT Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 973 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Marco Sala
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wonderful work-life balance, we work under objectives so we manage our times(in 74 reviews)

  • "Good benefits with great work colleagues(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management decided to take the practices of a bankrupt company and lay people off(in 60 reviews)

  • "Leadership is weak, and getting progressively weaker since acquisition by GTech(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IGT full-time

    Pros

    Nice people to work with including good staff retention rates. Good resources and flexibility allows for a good work life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of change currently going on due to recent merger which can create uncertainty around jobs and future structure of the business. However this is likely to settle as time goes on.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reward individuals for their achievements and communicate to staff on impending changes and product lines.

    IGT2015-10-19
  2. "System Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Support in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to the latest in Gaming Industry tech. Fair amount of travel gotta get those Velocity points.

    Cons

    Long hours on installs/ Projects, product training is not provided and you will need to figure out everything yourself, Dysfunctional and disenfranchised team due to lack of leadership and management.

    Advice to Management

    Systems management team is in desperate need of people and business management training.

    IGT2017-06-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Strangle the chicken to increase egg production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IGT full-time

    Pros

    Many good hard working staff both legacy IGT & Gtech, middle management open and honest and resonable remuneration

    Cons

    Current strategy is to increase egg production by throttling the chicken. Sales is a highly regarded focus but back of house is seen as a drain on profit. Current strategies include - No new hires or replacements especially in IT, leading to significant drop in support value to the business needs - No travel apparently everything can be done on the phone unless you are a VP, again leading to lack of business appreciation...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company you bought is good and has strong roots, Sales is ultimately the product of success if your back of house provides support regardless if they are Marketing, Finance, IT or Logistics, not sexy but necessary. Don't frustrate them and expect that can continue to do more with less, recognise them and make them feel part of the team with personal interaction especially the Internationals, less Video Town Hall...

    Show More
    IGT2016-10-01
  4. "Systems Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Support in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at IGT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, friendly environment, could be very hectic at times, with everything there is always 'Give & Take' culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes work could be hectic and long hours. We may need additional resources and product testings could be improved. Management consultation and approach could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Need to further and frequent communication, especially direction of the future products and paths.

    IGT2015-03-23
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Need for true International Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, lot of long term employees who care about the company

    Cons

    HR Policies that tick the boxes are running the business combined with a focus on reducing overheads not driving revenue

    Advice to Management

    Simple, decrease long term overheads by driving up sales and revenue, not by cutting staff. Globalisation presently reads as centralisation within silos, resulting in limited ability to understand the differences between domestic US markets and International opportunities.

    IGT2014-05-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "As a company I didn't like much of it. The team I worked with made my time there worth while and a decent experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IGT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Allowed for personal growth. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    No room to advance in both position and salary. Constant update emails about how the company is doing so well yet they have constant lay-offs with not much sense of employee loyalty. Work culture is fairly boring in my branch (might not be the same in Reno HQ)

    IGT2014-05-15
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IGT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work flexibility, home office, lunch

    Cons

    some times you fill disconnected from the rest of the company in south America

    IGT2019-06-12
  8. "Good local work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IGT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable, good work hours, and weekly schedule. Paid off holidays. Local in town.

    Cons

    It's hard to get promoted. Benefits keep decreasing.

    Advice to Management

    Should have a merit raises. And promote within.

    IGT2019-06-10
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer Dev I in Moncton, NB

      I have been working at IGT

      Pros

      Good place to work at

      Cons

      None so far pretty good

      Advice to Management

      Very good management

      IGT2019-05-31
    • "Great Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at IGT full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fun, engaging, employee value, easily talk with management.

        Cons

        Slow at change, slow hiring process.

        IGT2019-05-28
      Found 973 reviews