Insight Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Insight Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 926 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Insight CEO Kenneth T. Lamneck
Kenneth T. Lamneck
510 Ratings
Pros
  • "In all of my career I have never felt more supported to do the right thing for our teammates(in 49 reviews)

  • "Excellent work life balance available for teammates(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management frequently lacks understanding of the roles of individual contributors(in 27 reviews)

  • "Objectively low pay for the amount of work that you do(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insight full-time

    Pros

    Ample of opportunities and recognition, fun place to work.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at this stage

    Insight2019-03-26

    Insight Response

    April 8, 2019Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that there are many job opportunities for you to pursue and that you enjoy working with such a supportive team.

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Only given 2 days on phones and let go after only making $220 in sales and didn’t finish training avoid the company I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Sales Agent in Surry Hills
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Training ok but not given a chance to re fresh

    Cons

    Let go if sales not made Training very brief and unnecessary information Spoken to once about how to improve only give 30 mins to show

    Advice to Management

    Maybe give the staff about understanding if they don’t make sales u will get rid of them especially if it’s only week one .. maybe explain process better

    Insight2018-08-03

    Insight Response

    August 6, 2018Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. If you would like to have further conversations regarding the training you received, we recommend you send your feedback to glassdoorfeedback@insight.com

  3. Helpful (8)

    "Awful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Surry Hills
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Insight full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and I now feel that I can do any job as it can't be as bad as working here.

    Cons

    The management is terrible! Certain managers present bullying behaviour and I was left in tear on multiple occasions. It is a job in which you are constantly worried that you will be fired, not a healthy working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better, do not present or accept bullying behaviour.

    Insight2018-03-02

    Insight Response

    March 23, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We value our great culture here at Insight, and would like to discuss this with you further so we can address it. Please email glassdoorfeedback@insight.com.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work culture, Competitive remuneration, Established customer base, Friendly Teammates.

    Cons

    They can Hire and Fire anytime. Annual reviews are not transparent. Parking facility is available only for managers and rest are on their own.

    Advice to Management

    Please have a formal process of completing the Employee's Confirmation after Probation is over. Never change the title of your Employee without even informing them. Being a global company, make it a practice to have a inclusive communication. Higher management must have Company wide meetings to let their employees know what is happening across different regions and provide a direction for each region and what is the vision...

    Show More
    Insight2017-09-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Made redundant within a month of joining !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Brand name is all I can think.

    Cons

    Lack of projects in Sydney. They made me redundant within a month of joining,since there was no projects in the pipeline. Lack of communication within practices

    Advice to Management

    Treasure your hard working consultants. Value your employees more than the business and don't let them go. Please understand and commit to your memories that they join companies with their own dreams and visions as well. Having someone made redundant within a month of joining doesn't reflect good on the company. You may be hungry for business , but where is the heart and harmony?

    Insight2017-08-10
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Weird environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large brand so good benefits for employees

    Cons

    Lack of leadership No clear vision nor communication and action from top down No training and career progression Very traditional company...

    Advice to Management

    Work as a team... you are not an unified leadership team so very difficult for you to go anywhere... Listen to your teammates and collabore...

    Insight2017-04-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Insight full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Fantastic work/life balance. Gender equality. Sales pressure not as intense as most of rest of industry which means people stay longer

      Cons

      Commissions probably not on par with other LSPs Unless you're in a large office, there are few career opportunities

      Insight2016-10-11

      Insight Response

      October 18, 2016Talent Acquisition Leader

      Very happy to hear you are enjoying Insight. Work/life balance is very important and glad you are finding it here. Regarding commissions, we do review and adjust our compensation levels across positions and regions to ensure they are competitive. We strive to ensure we’re positioned ...

      Show More
    • "Sales focused company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookvale

      I worked at Insight for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good camaraderie within teams, positive outlook, generally supportive management.

      Cons

      Extremely sales focused, if you are not in the sales team it generally means you are not progressing. A general chasm exists between Sales and the "others", at least it did until 2014. Quite difficult to get promotions and bonus even if you are a high achiever.

      Advice to Management

      Open up to ideas and possibilities and not just follow the norm. Foster a sense of belonging among staff and put a realistic incentive program in place that provides tangible benefits to employees.

      Insight2016-09-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mixed bag"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Insight full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Opportunities for training and career development - as long as it matches exactly with what the company is looking for. Reasonable autonomy as long as you're not located at head office.

      Cons

      Micromanagement from the middle managers, ridiculous HR policies, and a lack of systems leading to high turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Less talk and more action. It's all well and good to tell everyone how committed you are to the latest fad, but actually making changes to encourage action would help.

      Insight2015-07-19
    • "BDM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - BDM 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Insight full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company has undergone an transformation as the IT Channel evolves and so far has managed to stay on the wave and not sunk. The geographical spread offers a lot of prospects to relocate and they also like to promote from within which is good for careers prospects.

      Cons

      Some middle managers can make the work life very difficult. The company is trying to become a solutions provider but is stuck in the box shifter mentality and this leads to internal conflict between hitting targets by just smashing out KPI's and actually doing what clients value/need/want and what actually makes profit and long term returns. Also, very process based methods for internal communications and work and can...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Reduce red tape, create smaller more dynamic 'sales' teams to be more agile and customer focused.

      Insight2014-08-25
    Found 926 reviews