International SOS Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

International SOS Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 559 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
International SOS CEO Arnaud Vaissié
Arnaud Vaissié
307 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "we can loose track of the efforts we put in - but the company has now done huge progress towards helping employees find a healthy work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Long working hours due to global nature of work, complex organisation structure with too many senior management to deal with(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "As good as any other place to work, probably better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    SOS is every bit as good as any other place. The culture is one of escalating and sharing a problem. Issues are shared and resolved without blame. From what i can see everyone is treated with respect and valued. Management do a great job in continually sharing updates on the business

    Cons

    No obvious cons. I see many bitter people who have left leave bitter comments. Gotta wonder why they left and why they are bitter. Maybe a mirror is needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating and keep developing and moving the business forward.

    International SOS2018-11-25
  2. "Operations Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Coordinator in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supporting team environment.

    Cons

    Company technology needs an update.

    International SOS2019-07-11
  3. "A good rest from Clinical Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinating Nurse 

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning a lot about a new field in health - Insurance. Being helpful to those in foreign countries requiring urgent medical assistance is rewardning.

    Cons

    Quite a lot of weekend work without penalties Not much opportunity for growth/development within the company for nurses

    International SOS2019-05-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    I worked with a great group of people. The work that the assistance centre does impacts the lives of people daily and it was a privilege to be part of it. Some of the best Managers I have ever met and a great experience that I will look back on favourably. Solid training program for new starters too.

    Cons

    The work life balance is not great due to shift work hours if you are front line. I would have stayed if the career pathway and pay were better.

    Advice to Management

    I have switched jobs twice since leaving ISOS and I have yet to meet the same quality of management and company where people genuinely get along and like each other. 5 stars

    International SOS2018-12-06
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good facilities and very supportive colleagues

    Cons

    Management could be better improved

    International SOS2018-11-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of them are passionate

    Cons

    Unfair evaluation system, Self-centered people, Old technology, Some are not sophisticated and stays as nowhere to go.

    Advice to Management

    Should follow world leading evaluation systems - 360 degree evaluation. Low-level employee should be evaluated from everyone equally, not only by their bosses.

    International SOS2018-09-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A Sham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Operator - Entry Level in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large scope of services. Some lovely staff.

    Cons

    The most hypocritical business you’ll ever come across. Their “core values” could not be farther from reality. Perhaps these are lived true from management to clients and sales to clients but this company crap on their employees. There is a constant high turnover in the main team, Operations, due to poor pay. Team members are treated like factory production line workers in the fifties. They are expected to work night...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above. Sham of a business. Management there is practically a cult, conspiring to make everyone else’s lives a misery.

    International SOS2018-10-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    International company & extra benefits

    Cons

    Poor company culture, women not respected, hierarchical & blame culture

    International SOS2018-10-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Glad I moved on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hmmm couldn’t really think of anything positive. Regretted starting with them.

    Cons

    I worked in a senior mgmt role. They have a high turn over, poor management practices that lead to a lot of fair work claims, unorganised operations (culture of wing it), they scrape through everything they do (no planning let alone planning for strategic success), culture of hanging staff out to dry, culture of someone’s head has to roll to keep a customer happy (sadly it’s a staff member that gets blamed for a managers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t see the point in answering this, I don’t think they would listen or be receptive to ideas or feedback.

    International SOS2018-09-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sales and Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping sick and injured travellers is very rewarding. Really interesting business to work for and has a fascinating history. Truly global company, so you work with colleagues all over the world.

    Cons

    Management treat their employees poorly. They promote people with no leadership or management experience and provide no training.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people well and they'll perform better and stay longer

    International SOS2017-06-07
Found 559 reviews