International SOS Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

International SOS Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
International SOS CEO Arnaud Vaissié
Arnaud Vaissié
325 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "we can loose track of the efforts we put in - but the company has now done huge progress towards helping employees find a healthy work life balance(in 32 reviews)

  • "Long working hours due to global nature of work, complex organisation structure with too many senior management to deal with(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Officer 

    I have been working at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    Good Learning in developing skills

    Cons

    More related to Medical Services

    International SOS2019-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Smoke and mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working within a large and well known global company.

    Cons

    Too commercially focussed. Talk the talk but don’t walk the walk.

    Advice to Management

    Be genuine when it comes to treating your staff fairly.

    International SOS2019-09-16
  3. "Operations Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Coordinator in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supporting team environment.

    Cons

    Company technology needs an update.

    International SOS2019-07-11
  4. "A good rest from Clinical Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinating Nurse 

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning a lot about a new field in health - Insurance. Being helpful to those in foreign countries requiring urgent medical assistance is rewardning.

    Cons

    Quite a lot of weekend work without penalties Not much opportunity for growth/development within the company for nurses

    International SOS2019-05-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    I worked with a great group of people. The work that the assistance centre does impacts the lives of people daily and it was a privilege to be part of it. Some of the best Managers I have ever met and a great experience that I will look back on favourably. Solid training program for new starters too.

    Cons

    The work life balance is not great due to shift work hours if you are front line. I would have stayed if the career pathway and pay were better.

    Advice to Management

    I have switched jobs twice since leaving ISOS and I have yet to meet the same quality of management and company where people genuinely get along and like each other. 5 stars

    International SOS2018-12-06
  6. "As good as any other place to work, probably better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    SOS is every bit as good as any other place. The culture is one of escalating and sharing a problem. Issues are shared and resolved without blame. From what i can see everyone is treated with respect and valued. Management do a great job in continually sharing updates on the business

    Cons

    No obvious cons. I see many bitter people who have left leave bitter comments. Gotta wonder why they left and why they are bitter. Maybe a mirror is needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating and keep developing and moving the business forward.

    International SOS2018-11-25
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good facilities and very supportive colleagues

    Cons

    Management could be better improved

    International SOS2018-11-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International SOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of them are passionate

    Cons

    Unfair evaluation system, Self-centered people, Old technology, Some are not sophisticated and stays as nowhere to go.

    Advice to Management

    Should follow world leading evaluation systems - 360 degree evaluation. Low-level employee should be evaluated from everyone equally, not only by their bosses.

    International SOS2018-09-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A Sham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Operator - Entry Level in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large scope of services. Some lovely staff.

    Cons

    The most hypocritical business you’ll ever come across. Their “core values” could not be farther from reality. Perhaps these are lived true from management to clients and sales to clients but this company crap on their employees. There is a constant high turnover in the main team, Operations, due to poor pay. Team members are treated like factory production line workers in the fifties. They are expected to work... night shifts being paid $50k, leading to poorer quality intake of people, leading to constant complaints with key clients. Long-standing staff are treated with little respect and zero care meaning entire teams of people are burnt out, depressed and forever on the hunt for new opportunities and browsing Seek during working hours in desperation for change. This is a company who will change business elements on a day to day basis but the employees can take a walk if they have needs to be met. They care only about money saving and profit increases. People management is not existent and HR is the darkest place of all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above. Sham of a business. Management there is practically a cult, conspiring to make everyone else’s lives a misery.

    International SOS2018-10-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International SOS full-time

    Pros

    International company & extra benefits

    Cons

    Poor company culture, women not respected, hierarchical & blame culture

    International SOS2018-10-01
Found 597 reviews