Land O'Lakes Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Land O'Lakes Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Land O'Lakes CEO Beth Ford (no image)
Beth Ford
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People very good 401

    Cons

    None that I am aware of

    Land O'Lakes2019-09-16
  2. "Multi-platform company with opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Analyst in Arden Hills, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wages and benefits package was competitive; our team demonstrated cohesive bond to accomplish goals

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for professional growth

    Advice to Management

    Your employee base is interested in giving you their best work. Provide a clearly defined career path for those who wish to make Land O' Lakes a long term choice.

    Land O'Lakes2019-08-29
  3. "Lovely people, great mission, tough times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Arden Hills, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pleasant colleagues, first rate mission

    Cons

    Ag business very challenged; no bonuses; increasing turnover; limited internal opportunities= OBE overtaken by events

    Advice to Management

    Aggressively open board and bring in top leadership from outside food/ag---rounding up the regulars is likely to get the same as we already have

    Land O'Lakes2019-09-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Land O'Lakes

    Pros

    Great benefits! Competitive salary! Some of the people you work with are genuinely great spirited people.

    Cons

    It all depends on the plant. The one I worked at the management was awful. Very unorganized, terrible communication and did not invest in “talent” . To start they didn’t mention the work hour which is 50 hrs a week (it wasn’t written anywhere on my offer) and had to work Saturdays whenever they needed. It’s a salary job so one would assume a 40hr work we but instead I averaged 55-65 hrs a week (no real work life... balance) Management just wants you to keep the production floor moving that’s really it they don’t want to teach you more than disciplining your employees making sure they are at their posts on time not even a second late. Production is so much more than that but they refuse to teach you more. They don’t communicate with you why changes are happening or production schedules are higher than normal they just expect you to adapt to what’s happening with no understanding of the end goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please invest in your supervisor, make them feel like they are apart of your team besides just making them feel like tools you have to use to get what you want done. You require them to have a degree use that to your advantage, challenge them in ways that mentally stimulate and maybe then you’ll retain talent. People want to feel apart of something big and as a manager it’s your responsibility to paint that picture... and make your employees feel apart of that vision.

    Show More
    Land O'Lakes2019-09-03
  5. "Agriculture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agronomist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great support for women in the ag industry

    Cons

    Very little recognition and a lot of change causing confusion.

    Land O'Lakes2019-09-03
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Lab Technician in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment that fosters growth in leadership and technical skills.

    Cons

    Odd hours are required sometimes.

    Land O'Lakes2019-07-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Arden Hills, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with working from home, opportunity for advancement, great retirement benefits, great boss

    Cons

    Flexible work space in theory is a great idea, but doesn't lend to building relationships with people that sit around you. People seem to have tunnel vision and don't even acknowledge your presence when you arrive, or leave - no hellos, no goodbyes. Quintessential Minnesota nice.

    Land O'Lakes2019-07-10
  8. "it is a fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT TAP Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Land O'Lakes full-time

    Pros

    Lot's of career opportunities

    Cons

    High expectations, it takes time to understand the organization structure

    Land O'Lakes2019-06-28
  9. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Development Manager in Arden Hills, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Land O'Lakes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good leadership, good work life balance.

    Cons

    Big company, lots of moving parts.

    Land O'Lakes2019-06-04
  10. "Committed employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Process Engineer 

    I have been working at Land O'Lakes full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Some lack of leadership sometimes

    Land O'Lakes2019-05-25
Found 290 reviews