Lion Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lion Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lion CEO Stuart Irvine
Stuart Irvine
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits and work/life balance are extremely generous(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great opportunities from roles to learning, great benefits, great locations and great people(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Strategic direction from senior management unclear and contradictory(in 4 reviews)

  • "restructure may happen often at work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marketing & Sponsorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Roles In Marketing and Sponsorship in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great opportunities from roles to learning, great benefits, great locations and great people.

    Cons

    Cant think of any cons - I was a long term employee, there for 15 years, which speaks volumes as to how much I loved working there. Cant speak highly enough about the company!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Lion2019-04-01

    Lion Response

    April 1, 2019Talent Coordinator

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. Cheers!

  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall great experience, excellent internal team support

    Cons

    Workload can be excessive and at time unreasonable

    Lion2019-06-15
  3. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Company and work culture

    Cons

    Too slow to act in some cases

    Lion2019-06-06

    Lion Response

    June 10, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Once great, then a slow train wreck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager 

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary, early days managers trusted & empowered others, let you make transformational change and improvement at a fast rate. Some good people in operations management and tight teams.

    Cons

    Tried to implement Karin’s large and expensive operational excellence program into the dairy side of the business which was a disaster financially and for engagement. Key dairy people left the business, lot of people could see its demise except for the directors with the levers. Business was run by HR with no accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Listen ....

    Lion2019-06-01

    Lion Response

    June 11, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback. Operational excellence was a significant cultural change that has been implemented over a number of years and we are proud of the Operational Excellence transformation across our Supply Chain. We are also equally as proud of our continued improvements of ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Downward slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Flexible sometimes Product allowance People are great/ not the leadership teams

    Cons

    Work life balance is not encouraged. Performance punishment. If you organise your day to complete your tasks within your hours, more and more work gets given to you. Lion is losing good people because of this. Poor procedure management. An attitude of drop everything and do it now. Excessive pressure and stress to bottom line staff. You are made to feel bad for requesting annual leave.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your mission statement is truely demonstrated. Championing socialbility and living well feels like a lie. If you truely wish to put customer at the heart, treat your employees better and we will take care of the rest.

    Lion2019-04-14

    Lion Response

    April 14, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    We’re sorry to hear that this has been your perspective of your experience with us. We’re proud of the strong culture of leadership, work-life balance and support for our people that we’ve built. We’d encourage you to speak with your leader or P&C coach about your concerns to ...

    Show More
  6. "Awesome FMCG company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great down to earth culture, authentic, sociable, collaborative, can drive your own career, fast paced.

    Cons

    Some teams can be fairly cliquey, and it is sometimes about who you know. Salary isnt super competitive in some parts.

    Advice to Management

    Give diverse people opportunities, not only those that know the right people

    Lion2019-04-03

    Lion Response

    April 4, 2019Talent Coordinator

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. Cheers!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing in Docklands
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, non leadership employees, not much else

    Cons

    Managers bully staff. Bullying is taken to HR. HR tell you to suck it up and continue working under the bully. Not a safe environment.

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like the place runs because of you. People quit their jobs and seek counseling because of you.

    Lion2019-04-20
  8. "Great environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive of work life balance Great & supportive colleagues Great staff engagement

    Cons

    High workload Teams working in silos

    Lion2019-03-16

    Lion Response

    March 17, 2019Talent Coordinator

    Hi! Thanks so much for your feedback. Cheers!

  9. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Industry. Training and experience. Brands.

    Cons

    Politics. Scope of roles. Personalities.

    Lion2019-03-16

    Lion Response

    March 17, 2019Talent Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. Cheers!

  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lion full-time

      Pros

      I’ve had amazing opportunities at Lion. They have really supported me to get a great breadth of experiences

      Cons

      They can be slow to make and act on decisions

      Lion2019-02-26

      Lion Response

      February 27, 2019Talent Coordinator

      Hello, thank you for your feedback! Cheers

    Found 102 reviews