Lion Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lion Chief Executive Officer Stuart Irvine
Stuart Irvine
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working to facilitate work-life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Global company, aligned with world class manufacturing, great people culture & great place to work(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture, progressive thinking, dynamic nature"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Assurance Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is inclusive Flexible working to facilitate work-life balance Development focused People focused Strong leadership development opportunities Great beenfits

    Cons

    Recent corporate restructure created an uncertain environment

    Continue reading
    Lion2020-01-23
  2. "na"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture and work life balance.

    Cons

    Pay often doesnt equate to output and rem ranges are not accurate.

    Lion2020-05-27
  3. "Great opportunity, great brands"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Career advancement, opportunity to work with great brands, and to learn & grow

    Cons

    Not enough socialising outside of work

    Lion2020-05-02
  4. "Great Company, Great Culture, Boring Products"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Account Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Company, Great Culture, Good Management

    Cons

    No innovation on products and company outlook

    Lion2020-05-07
  5. "Night shift milk order Picking"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is Good, friendly environment. Free milk to take home.

    Cons

    Only have night shift.

    Lion2020-02-28
  6. "Great people, good brands"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with - lots of talent with a team ethos Recognisable brands with good budgets

    Cons

    The size can drive a fair bit of bureaucracy and some risk aversion

    Lion2020-02-15
  7. "Huge job cuts and change of culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Different brands Bar on sites Gym

    Cons

    Lots of cost cutting happening Unable to work flexibly as they like to promote Favoured staff and won’t progress unless you’re one of these Unclear strategy

    Continue reading
    Lion2020-01-13

    Lion Response

    January 15, 2020Talent Leader

    Thank you for your comments; feedback is an important part of Lion’s culture and we would encourage you to share this directly with your relevant People and Culture Leader if you haven’t already to help us understand a bit more around your experience.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Experience depends on who your TL is"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative - Debt Collector in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Busy work, fruit twice a week

    Cons

    Monotonous, hard to get your hands on quality accounts. Clicky management.

    Continue reading
    Lion2020-01-22
  9. "Not the company I was sold in the interview"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free beer, sociable work colleagues. Some great opportunities if you know the right people and know how to get noticed.

    Cons

    Leaders too focused on their own self- promotion instead of the development of their team members. Lack of accountability. Very hierarchical. Slow decision making.

    Continue reading
    Lion2019-12-31

    Lion Response

    January 6, 2020Talent Leader

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience, we absolutely believe authentic feedback like yours will help us to continue to improve our people experience and culture.

  10. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager 

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Free Beer and flexible working

    Cons

    Slow industry, Strong competitors and cost cutting

    Lion2019-12-16

    Lion Response

    January 6, 2020Talent Leader

    Thanks for your review and feedback!

Found 135 reviews
</>Embed