Lion Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lion Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lion CEO Stuart Irvine
Stuart Irvine
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits and work/life balance are extremely generous(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great opportunities from roles to learning, great benefits, great locations and great people(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Strategic direction from senior management unclear and contradictory(in 4 reviews)

  • "restructure may happen often at work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of opportunities and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Technologist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work options, supportive of professional development, good opportunities to learn from knowledgable staff

    Cons

    Changing direction/priorities can be frustrating

    Lion2019-08-16
  2. "Lion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Some majority of people are good to work with

    Cons

    Lack of clear strategy and leadership

    Lion2019-08-13

    Lion Response

    August 13, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  3. "Living the dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewer in South Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time

    Pros

    Good work conditions, great culture

    Cons

    Needs to shake off yesterday and become relevant again

    Lion2019-07-17

    Lion Response

    August 13, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  4. "Tier 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Resources, training, support Learning and development Clear business strategy

    Cons

    Consecutive transformation and ongoing restructuring

    Lion2019-07-03

    Lion Response

    August 13, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  5. "Great company but needs to act to sustain its performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great constructive culture and development focus Awesome brands with hefty brand budgets The autonomy that comes from strategy managed in-house

    Cons

    Have been distracted by the dairy business Don't seem willing to embrace eCommerce as a serious sales channel Sometimes don't stay the course on sound strategic initiatives when something fails

    Advice to Management

    Think about the next 10 years as well as this year's budget!

    Lion2019-07-02

    Lion Response

    July 3, 2019Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  6. "Does most things the right way. Fun and rewarding place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - People & Culture Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture and leadership, both within the industry and within the business.

    Cons

    Transformational change and uncertainty with broader business has impacted the culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focussed on what truly constructive looks like when hiring and rewarding.

    Lion2019-06-24

    Lion Response

    June 25, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you so much for the feedback. Cheers

  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall great experience, excellent internal team support

    Cons

    Workload can be excessive and at time unreasonable

    Lion2019-06-15

    Lion Response

    June 16, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you had a positive experience at Lion. We encourage a healthy work-life balance for all our people with a priority on wellbeing, supporting each other and achieving together. Cheers

  8. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company and work culture

    Cons

    Too slow to act in some cases

    Lion2019-06-06

    Lion Response

    June 10, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Cheers

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Once great, then a slow train wreck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager 

    I worked at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary, early days managers trusted & empowered others, let you make transformational change and improvement at a fast rate. Some good people in operations management and tight teams.

    Cons

    Tried to implement Karin’s large and expensive operational excellence program into the dairy side of the business which was a disaster financially and for engagement. Key dairy people left the business, lot of people could see its demise except for the directors with the levers. Business was run by HR with no accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Listen ....

    Lion2019-06-01

    Lion Response

    June 11, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback. Operational excellence was a significant cultural change that has been implemented over a number of years and we are proud of the Operational Excellence transformation across our Supply Chain. We are also equally as proud of our continued improvements of ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Downward slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Flexible sometimes Product allowance People are great/ not the leadership teams

    Cons

    Work life balance is not encouraged. Performance punishment. If you organise your day to complete your tasks within your hours, more and more work gets given to you. Lion is losing good people because of this. Poor procedure management. An attitude of drop everything and do it now. Excessive pressure and stress to bottom line staff. You are made to feel bad for requesting annual leave.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your mission statement is truely demonstrated. Championing socialbility and living well feels like a lie. If you truely wish to put customer at the heart, treat your employees better and we will take care of the rest.

    Lion2019-04-14

    Lion Response

    April 14, 2019Lion Talent Coordinator

    We’re sorry to hear that this has been your perspective of your experience with us. We’re proud of the strong culture of leadership, work-life balance and support for our people that we’ve built. We’d encourage you to speak with your leader or P&C coach about your concerns to ...

    Show More
Found 110 reviews