Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Manulife Reviews

Updated 16 February 2019
1,069 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
139 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance is something the manager needs to consider" (in 28 reviews)

  • "uncertainty, long hours, tense environment" (in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work there

    Cons

    No cons . Pay is also good.

    Manulife Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    Manlife sinochem has a great training system. There are various workshops available for employees to attend. Great atmosphere.

    Cons

    The company has a relatively low path. But overall it is a great place to kick off career.

  3. "Case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager
    Former Employee - Case Manager
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team environment, great learning experience, excellent benefits (yearly bonus, stock options, RRSP, pension)

    Cons

    No cons for me, but it is a fast paced job so you have to be good at multitasking, organization & prioritization


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Contact Representative in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Customer Contact Representative in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Strong effective and visionary leadership. Examples of changes that came about from this leadership: Life Moments, Vitality, target to save 1 million hours of customer time in 2019. Diversity is taken very seriously, especially for women. Many opportunities for growth including training, industry courses, and global work opportunities also. Senior management are making sincere efforts to communicate with rank and file employees via town halls, podcasts, weekly update emails, etc

    Cons

    There are no shortage of problems that need to be fixed. For instance, legacy technologies that don't talk to each other, and confusing or missing procedures. There's also an issue with many employees not being engaged in their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focus on diversity. Continue making efforts to increase employee engagement. Eventually these efforts will pay off. Make sure that managers are held accountable to our values. Nothing will turn employees cynical faster than not living by our values. Hire and promote within much as possible, for employees that have the ability and motivation to learn and grow. Don't encourage negative employees with promotions. Attitude and engagement should be a factor in all internal staffing decisions.

    Manulife Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Recognized as one of Canada's Best Employers by Forbes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Unlimited amount of opportunities to develop your career - technical training at TechLounge. A digital, customer-centric market leader with great values;
    Obsess about customers - We predict their needs and do everything in our power to satisfy them.
    Think big - Anything is possible. We can always find a better way.
    Share your humanity - We build a supportive, diverse and thriving workplace.
    Do the right thing - We act with integrity and do what we say.
    Get it done together - We're surrounded by an amazing team. We can do it better by working together.
    Own it - We feel empowered to make decisions and take action to deliver our Mission.
    Excellent Benefits

    Cons

    None - Manulife is a great company with a great reputation.

    Manulife Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Premium Analyst
    Former Employee - Premium Analyst

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Has 2 hmo free dependents

    Cons

    The company Only offers 13th month bonus, no other bonuses.

    Manulife Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Small company,
    a lot of learning
    amazing staff
    benefits and bonous

    Cons

    no growth
    uncertainty, long hours, tense environment

    Advice to Management

    give a surety to their staff

    Manulife Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  8. "Okay working environment, big corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Technical lead position doesn’t focus on implementation and more on coordination, there is no measure or focus on reducing technical debt and everything is built as fast as possible

    Cons

    Project managers can be extremely aggressive and pushy when deadlines are coming, they also don’t respect others time.

    There is a huge preference to hire contractors over full time employees


  9. "Fast recruitment process. Good engagement with their employees, friendly management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    They value their people
    Good engagement with the employees
    Offers trainings

    Cons

    Shifting schedule, working during holidays

    Manulife Response

    6 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  10. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    strong reputation, good culture, global presence

    Cons

    bureaucratic, low upward mobility

    Manulife Response

    6 Feb 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.