Manulife Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manulife is great organization to work for with perfect work life balance(in 222 reviews)

  • "Good work environment, able to work from home, good pay(in 187 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day(in 44 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance bad in certain departments (e(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work there

    Cons

    No cons . Pay is also good.

    Manulife2019-02-11

    Manulife Response

    February 15, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

  2. "Great company"

    4.0
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Manulife

    Pros

    Manlife sinochem has a great training system. There are various workshops available for employees to attend. Great atmosphere.

    Cons

    The company has a relatively low path. But overall it is a great place to kick off career.

    Manulife2016-09-07
  3. "Manulife Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, reasonable hours, good pay

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to get help

    Manulife2020-05-26
  4. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Engaging Professional Development Technologically Forward Impactful Work / Customer & Community

    Cons

    To be honest it’s hard to name a few but it’s been said work volumes can be high and in demand but it is to be expected in any forward thinking customer centric global organization, all-in-all it’s a great place to work!

    Manulife2020-05-26
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Looking in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Opportunity to work from home High level of trust in employees

    Cons

    Many legacy systems overlap, hard to navigate technology Less than adequate training (outside of call centre)

    Manulife2020-05-26
  6. "Excellent experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Friendly and helpful teams and management. Very flexible for work. Great work-life balance Allows to contribute fully to co-ops from day one. Trains co-op a lot. Competitive compensation Many co-op specific activities by HR management

    Cons

    Found no cons so far!

    Manulife2020-05-18
  7. "Poor work/life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - WFH option - Good benefits and company stock option - Some great people and talent

    Cons

    - Blame culture, which leads you to be afraid of admitting when you've made a mistake. I prefer a culture where everyone understands that we're all human and, although we strive to deliver our best, mistakes can happen but we learn from them as a collective - Projects take a while to get off the ground, which is natural at a large organisation but something to consider - Salary is on the lower end

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-05-27
  8. "Life as a financial consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Wide Range of products Wide Range of collaborations

    Cons

    Not much support for self-initiated activities

    Manulife2020-05-04
  9. "Good"

    3.0
    Current Employee - FSC 

    I have been working at Manulife part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues and new office

    Cons

    Competitive environment. Based on sales

    Manulife2020-05-15
  10. "Excellent leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AML Compliance Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    flexibility trust and off hands management

    Cons

    small room for promotion, salaries are on the lower-end of the spectrum.

    Manulife2020-04-30
Found 1398 reviews