Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Manulife Reviews

Updated 24 May 2018
908 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
59 Ratings

908 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    Manlife sinochem has a great training system. There are various workshops available for employees to attend. Great atmosphere.

    Cons

    The company has a relatively low path. But overall it is a great place to kick off career.


  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Solid management
    Cares about clients
    Cares about employees

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Manulife Response

    25 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're glad to hear you are having a positive experience.

  3. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly place to work at

    Cons

    Operations moving to Boston, hence a lot of layoffs

    Manulife Response

    25 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're happy to hear your enjoyed your experience.


  4. "Risk Anaylst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Steep learning curve
    -Pay and benefit is good for me
    -Lots of work and you never have to worry about layoffs (in my departments)
    -Lots of internal opportunity

    Cons

    -OT during quarter-end is guaranteed
    -promotion is tied to head count availability. I am surprise that management encourage analysts/seniors analysts to look into other departments within Manulife if we are looking for promotion.

    Manulife Response

    22 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you are enjoying your experience!


  5. "Good place to work with lots of growth potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Halifax, NS (Canada)
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Halifax, NS (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Growth potential, leadership support, communication, ability to work remotely on a full time basis, co-workers are good and offer lots of support

    Cons

    Pay not reflective of the work performed, departments are very segmented and don’t always work well together, outdated technology and slow, location is not in the greatest location

    Manulife Response

    22 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us!


  6. "Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice people, great culture, great benefit

    Cons

    hard to get the return offer

    Manulife Response

    22 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us!


  7. "Worked as an actuary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    I love the culture within the company and the opportunities they provide their employees.

    Cons

    There's a lot of work and learning required for Actuarial especially that a lot of changes is currently introduced for regulation.

    Manulife Response

    14 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to hear you are having a great experience with us. Thank you for sharing your review.

  8. "Manulife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Leadership and structure is changing, interest in shaking things up

    Cons

    Slow moving, typical financial services company in many ways

    Manulife Response

    25 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  9. "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Modernization is awesome, flexible work balance

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities to move up and lack of formal training program

    Manulife Response

    4 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to know you are enjoying your experience with us!


  10. "Okay I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Higher than minimum wage, ample parking space

    Cons

    Next to no benefits, contract position

    Manulife Response

    22 May 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@Manulife.com.


Showing 908 of 1,072 reviews
Reset Filters