Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find your next job here

Manulife Reviews

Updated 12 February 2018
857 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
37 Ratings

857 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    Manlife sinochem has a great training system. There are various workshops available for employees to attend. Great atmosphere.

    Cons

    The company has a relatively low path. But overall it is a great place to kick off career.


  2. "Good culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and work life balance

    Cons

    It seems too lay back to young people.

    Manulife Response

    14 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Low salary to start with ...

    Manulife Response

    9 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Working in MBPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BPA in Quezon City, National Capital Region (Philippines)
    Former Employee - BPA in Quezon City, National Capital Region (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility in working schedule, good working environment, great location.

    Cons

    too many floating people, teams are being dissolved, always hiring but seldom promote employees. Its not what you know but whom you know job basis.

    Advice to Management

    Please refrain from excessive hiring and have a true value for the employees success and progression.

    Manulife Response

    7 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us!


  6. "Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Dynamic and interesting project, work from home policy

    Cons

    Lack of vision, work in Silos

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Manulife Response

    14 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com


  7. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Manulife so much that I returned after trying two other employers. The company on the whole is fair, inclusive, and provides flexibility for employees.

    Cons

    There are huge issues with middle managers who tend to march to their own drummer and ignore senior management policies and employee programs (such as work from home) because they don't suit his/her management style.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management needs to increase awareness of what is happening with their reports. Being "busy" just isn't a good excuse when we're all busy.

    Manulife Response

    29 Jan 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.


  8. "Overall positive experience. ( Customer Contact Center, Montreal, Canada )"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative II in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative II in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    No weekends. Work from home option. Excellent benefits. Excellent colleagues.

    Cons

    The job can be boring and repetitive. The procedures are difficult to understand and you can't take your time to understand it.

    Advice to Management

    More training. Not only for new employees.

    Manulife Response

    29 Jan 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We're excited to know you are having a positive experience with us!


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Shifting employee culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Strategist in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Strategist in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent workplace flexibility. Very inclusive and diverse environment. Having a good manager makes all the difference. The new CEO is quite inspiring and and talks about balancing the needs of employees with shareholders and end customers. In the past, everything has been about shareholder value, so this shift to improving employee engagement is refreshing.

    The culture changes from team to team, so if you have a good manager, it's a great place to work.

    Cons

    Pay is generally below scale. If you want a raise, you need to leave the company for a year and then come back, so it feels that loyalty is penalized.

    There are some lazy and ineffective managers who seem overvalued at the expense of very talented, hard working individual contributors. My former manager lost 90% of his staff to competitors in less than 3 months because they couldn't stand his management style. It was shocking when he was promoted to director despite having extremely low employee satisfaction scores and high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Stop protecting bad managers. Start doing exit interviews when people leave. The good managers are wonderful.

    Manulife Response

    17 Jan 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to write you review, and offer suggestions for improvement. We are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us!


  10. "Investment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good mentorship,doesn't need a lot of experience to start

    Cons

    Long working hours and 100% commission based salary

    Manulife Response

    9 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  11. "DeadEnd- Sweat shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits
    Current Employee - Benefits
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits. Work life balance..based on your manager

    Cons

    zero support. no value for employees. pretense. crappy salary you name. Don't know why I stuck around for so long.

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees. The grass is not always greener on the outside. Value your employees. Right now I can't wait to leave. You want to hire cheap labor from outside and keep your current employees stuck at their current roles.

    Manulife Response

    9 Feb 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


Showing 857 of 1,003 reviews
Reset Filters