Mediaocean Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Mediaocean Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 228 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Mediaocean CEO Bill Wise
Bill Wise
162 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons I can this of for this company(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "OPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment, collaborative team

    Cons

    Need work OT sometimes but not too bad

    Mediaocean2018-05-01
  2. "Aeging, client-requests focussed product company with an engineering mind-set"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L2 Support Engineer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - if you are in the engineering team then -- you can over estimate the work and no one will really question -- still get promoted every year at least once --in general an engineering resource is more valued compared to a product person - if you are in the product team then -- you just need to take requests from clients -- or do integration work

    Cons

    - Outdated engineering tech stack - Product managers mostly work on client requests or integration work - fresh college grads are hired as product managers (explains the importance of product management) - any product management work that is less important or is refused by folks in US/UK is offshored - higher management in India (both product and engineering) are mostly for approving leaves, managing seating... arrangements, CSR and ensuring that visitors from US and Australia are taken care of. MOST are even remotely not involved in actual work and have a zero say in promotions, strategic decisions or appraisals. - Since Vista has taken over, company has not been able to grow organically. Most growth is through buy outs of other companies. Any effort to expand in terms of product offering or geography outside of US has been a failure - APAC expansion is name sake - 90% attrition of product managers in last 2 years - mostly in US, UK and India - so now the trick is to make internal folks - QAs/client services folks as product managers - so really the ideology is that anyone can become a product manager in Mediaocean - on the engineering side the ambitious folks tend to quit otherwise it is a good life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more engineers, product managers are useless. Just focus on what clients ask you to do and I am sure Mediaocean will be the most innovative company in the world - better than Google.

    Mediaocean2019-09-18
  3. "Large company with ageing platforms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mediaocean full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Software is dated and clunky.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to advice and be inclusive to all teams.

    Mediaocean2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Qualty Analyst 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time

    Pros

    - Good company to work with in terms of salary and work culture. - Timings are really flexible - Lots of activities like Annual party, quarterly dinner etc - Work from home option available

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Mediaocean2019-06-03
  5. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time

    Pros

    Good Culture and Employee focused organization

    Cons

    No comments from my side

    Advice to Management

    Should be transparent and take every team member on highest growth path

    Mediaocean2019-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Save yourself. Don't join!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No work maybe You can learn microNmanagement Learn how to force employees to give 5 star ratings in glass door (these are reviews by the leadership) Learn how to Keep working without improving skills Learn to Work on vintage technology (tech that is not used by anyone else)

    Cons

    No growth No learning Spineless leadership

    Advice to Management

    What's the use of advice. They don't follow at all.

    Mediaocean2019-06-17
  7. "Oracle Database Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Oracle Database Administrator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mediaocean full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Decent salary 2. Unlimited PTO 3. maternity/paternity leave

    Cons

    1. Rotation/on call 2. Expecting to available longer hours/weekend 3. no formal training/classes

    Advice to Management

    Fix the Cons.

    Mediaocean2019-04-25
  8. "A great, people-driven company with a bright future in the industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mediaocean full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    By far, the biggest pro at Mediaocean is the peoople. Every single person at the company is amazing, and I've never encountered a situation where someone did not want to go above and beyond to help you. I made so many close friends at Mediaocean, and that speaks volumes about to the types of people they hire. Another pro of Mediaocean is the culture. There is a "work hard, play hard" mentality, and while everyone... is working hard, everyone knows how to have fun. There are several social events held in the office during company time, and everyone from individual contributors to the C-suite kick back and relax. The work-life balance is second to none at Mediaocean. There is an expectation that you perform at a high caliber, but management (at least those in my reporting line) were very liberal with your work schedule. As long as you get your work done on time, you can work from home and take time off as needed (as long as you get supervisory approval and don't abuse it).

    Show More

    Cons

    One con to Mediaocean is that compensation can be below industry standard. I can only speak for my personal experience, but a candidate with my years of experience, skills, and education could easily be making $5k-$10k+ more elsewhere. You have to keep in mind, though, that some of the benefits (like the flexible work schedule) can make this a non-issue for some. Another con is slow career growth for some. As I... wrote above, every single person at Mediaocean works hard, but I saw some people make several jumps in title in a short amount of time, and others that I thought deserved a promotion be passed on. Added to this problem is that there is not a clear career map for most positions, which makes the promotion and compensation process extremely vague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to nurture the amazing culture you've built, and remember that it's the people at Mediaocean that make the company a success. Be more transparent about how decisions are made. While I understand that upper-management cannot share every single detail about every decision made, being more transparent about how you decide compensation increases and promotions will go a long way in establishing a sense of... fairness. In line with this, consider creating career growth maps that help employees see and understand what they need to do in order to be promoted.

    Show More
    Mediaocean2019-04-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mediaocean full-time

    Pros

    Nice timings. Amazing culture. Less work pressure.

    Cons

    No cons I can this of for this company

    Mediaocean2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Mediaocean was good when it was DDS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mediaocean full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary was decent along with work schedule.

    Cons

    Upper management was terrible. They would just lie to your face and not blink an eyelash. When Mediaocean was bought by Vista Equity, they promised no layoffs. They claimed Vista Equity was going to improve Mediaocean through innovation while enjoying the profits Mediaocean was producing. The very next week, they laid off over 150 people!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Try honesty!

    Mediaocean2019-03-16
Found 228 reviews