New York Life Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

New York Life Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2365 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
New York Life CEO Ted Mathas
Ted Mathas
1160 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "expect you to sell to all your friends and family before really teaching you anything(in 95 reviews)

  • "No base Salary could work on that so people would stay longer(in 94 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Life full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, the interview process was not long

    Cons

    It is a sales position and you have to sell insurance to your family and friends first

    New York Life2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "New York Life - Hard Work Pays Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to make your own schedule. Unlimited earning potential. When I say "unlimited" -- I mean that with a certain level of work and attention to detail, you can easily take home $60,000. With higher level of work and attention to detail, you can take home much much more! New York Life is a great place to get exposed to the insurance and financial services industry, and get the training necessary to grow and succeed...

    Show More

    Cons

    Need to put the time in. If your idea of work is to show up, and hope something good happens, this isn't the job for you. Especially the first few years, you really have to put in effort -- which means some early mornings and some late nights.

    New York Life2019-04-18
  3. "The truth about NY Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm has a generous payout and great products. They pay for your training and testing. You earn what you are worth.

    Cons

    No base pay to keep you going until a deal closes. If a person fails to pay a premium in the first year the agent has to repay the commission. You're an employee not an independent contractor your first 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    A multi Billion dollar firm should be able to afford to pay at least the travel expenses of a brand new agent.

    New York Life2019-04-21
  4. "Employee Friendly Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrisburg, PA

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    I have worked for NYL for 10+ years and enjoy the stability of a company that stands behind its clients, agents and employees. They offer a quality training program for both agents and employees and are now focused on enhancing the customer experience with updated access to policy information. They offer great employee benefits and reward long term employees with "years of service" awards.

    Cons

    Some working systems seem outdated and could be more user friendly.

    New York Life2019-04-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training and resources! Ability to learn a lot.

    Cons

    Unlimited income as well as unlimited months of no income due to commission only pay. Also they do not tell you that they will be charging monthly fees for the printer, phone, licensing fees, E&O insurance and to even use there software needed in order to make a sale and generate commission. In total you will be looking at paying over $150 per month to work for them. There charges just appear on your ledger one...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Amazing upper management. The partners at the firm are useless.

    New York Life2019-04-09
  6. "Great to get ahead in the finance industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New York Life Agent in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Training and starter bonuses

    Cons

    Small range of financial products

    New York Life2019-04-09
  7. "Company surviving through excellent agents / sales channels can be toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For full time employees, you have generous vacation, reduced work time during summer months and reasonably good overall compensation with a pension program.

    Cons

    Depending on where you land within the company, you may find decision makers lacking in depth and breadth of their competency especially in technology organization. Not a trustworthy organization, making it really difficult to get work done and creating a toxic environment where one can barely survive and not thrive.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond the text and recognize the risk that exist within the company's mid-level leadership that tries to message the right words to cover up what exists within.

    New York Life2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Solid corporate structure,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Steady decent income, very strong procedures, excellent reputation as a moral company

    Cons

    its sad to watch all the sales people fail year after year. Really high turnover and you can tell some of the sales people who will fail but they bring on board just for numbers.

    Advice to Management

    none

    New York Life2019-03-25

    New York Life Response

    March 25, 2019Head of Engagement Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. A successful career as an agent requires dedication and commitment and, for many, the financial and professional rewards are worth it. We understand that starting out in this career is not always easy. That’s why we offer new agents continuous training ...

    Show More
  9. "Great company but not a 'Mom' friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative 

    I worked at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, financially sound company, lots of learning and training

    Cons

    Not an easy place to work for Moms. I was lead to believe I would be able to make my own schedule but that is NOT the case for at least 3+ years.

    New York Life2019-04-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "if you really love insurance or are transitioning a book"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good comp structure. Good permanent insurance. Good for estate planning and long term care. Good for politicians.

    Cons

    Management is non existent. You get a one hour commercial every week and little else. The support people at the New York City general office are some of the laziest people I have ever met. Anything more complicated than a delivery receipt takes them a month to get right. They will have you running in circles unless you know every requirement and step of the process ahead of time and hound them daily until they do what...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut your middle office and back office by half and make their pay tied to representative reviews, response times and accuracy.

    New York Life2019-04-12
Found 2365 reviews