New York Life Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

New York Life Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2454 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
New York Life CEO Ted Mathas
Ted Mathas
1203 Ratings
Pros
  • "Provide a great training program(in 180 reviews)

  • "Robust and comprehensive training program with extensive support from development team(in 105 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unsteady paycheck due to 100% commission based salary(in 103 reviews)

  • "No base Salary could work on that so people would stay longer(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Life full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, the interview process was not long

    Cons

    It is a sales position and you have to sell insurance to your family and friends first

    Continue reading
    New York Life2018-09-21
  2. "Life in NYLIC as an Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great lessons in Financial Planning and Security for Individuals and Companies.

    Cons

    No Cooperation from prospects - for buying Life Insurance Protection - hence no income for the Agent!

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-17
  3. "No where else I would rather work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Blooming Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    company invests in you, ongoing training and development, unlimited resources always available, meaningful work, uncapped compensation, freedom!

    Cons

    You get out of it what you put into it! Working at New York Life is for someone who is looking for a career not a job.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-15
  4. "Great Company, Even Better Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Representative in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Training and onboarding. You get out of this career, what you put in!

    Cons

    Not a con, but once you get started, finding a work life balance is important!

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-14
  5. "My career forever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Representative in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Every morning I wake up knowing I am positioned with the knowledge and skills to make a difference in my community and for my family. Since I am a self starting, driven, and passionate person this career is really truly a perfect fit for me. The life styles I have helped my clients accomplish over time and the opportunities this career has created for my family is endless. Flexibility with this career is also another huge part of why working with New York Life is fulfilling. I am pushed to grow and be accomplished without sacrificing my work/family balance. Specifically addressing the management and office staff I am currently working with...I couldn't ask for better teammates.

    Cons

    If a person does not have integrity, drive, passion, and grit this job is not for you. There really,truly is no reason why a person can't be successful with New York Life other than they didn't want to put the effort in.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-14
  6. "Great experience to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Professional in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Learning, networking, similar to business owner, upgrading, professional

    Cons

    Base salary is small, expense sharing is not good

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-12
  7. "Values driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Has clear values that are aligned with their customers rather than short term shareholders. Management genuinely tries to do the right thing.

    Cons

    It is a conservative insurance company. Lots of bureaucracy and occasional micro management.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-12
  8. "Excellent Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No other company will give you the financial opportunity like this company. I can assure you if you do the work you will be financial secure.

    Cons

    You have to work hard to succeed.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-08
  9. "My career at NYL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Vice President - Service in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Significant in-house suite of businesses allow for career choice and development. Company supports staff to challenge oneself by pivoting to other business lines. Diminishes personal stagnation and lack of growth.

    Cons

    As with other corporate behemoths, decision making can become glacial - business velocity can be hampered hurting outcomes.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-08
  10. "Good company for career stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment with less work pressure

    Cons

    Very limited technical advancement as compared to other big firms in the same space.

    Continue reading
    New York Life2019-08-07
Found 2454 reviews