Nielsen Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Nielsen Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4641 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
David Kenny
112 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities to learn skills and grow experience. Flex working is good, and you are given chance to own and be accountable for your job.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Nielsen2018-04-28
  2. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Executive in Melbourne
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with, diversity in multure

    Cons

    Slow progression (at least for relatively junior people), not that competitive salary package

    Nielsen2019-07-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Big Executive Level Ego's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Research Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good variety of clients across many industry sectors.

    Cons

    Almost every year, company changing initiatives or strategies. Big promises and no follow through. Teams are held accountable which is fine, however no one holding senior exec's / directors accountable for poor decisions and the consistently low morals of the hard working team. Many employees treated with disrespect, unheard and shut down, its very much "my way or the highway"management style with most directors. However...

    Show More
    Nielsen2019-05-31

    Nielsen Response

    June 13, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't have a great experience with your manager. We believe that strong leaders are essential in helping our clients and our business grow. We will take your feedback into consideration as ...

    Show More
  4. "Great brand to polish your resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities; smart, hardworking and friendly team members

    Cons

    Do not expect to get compensated in monetary terms. No salary review unless promotion.

    Nielsen2019-04-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very political but cool if you do not want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours. Can work across different products/solutions. Can work from home. Being a women at the company is great.

    Cons

    Lots of politics and it is very toxic at the top level. The only people with major promotions have been with Nielsen for an "extensive" time period and that is normally +15 years. Being a man at the company is terrible. Location Macquarie Park.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent. Focus on equal outcomes/promotions regardless of gender.

    Nielsen2019-03-29

    Nielsen Response

    April 5, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We strive to adhere to a culture where our associates can be themselves, make a difference, and grow with us. We are disappointed to hear that this was not your experience. We will take your feedback into consideration as we continue ...

    Show More
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work Good variety of work / experience Lots of career options Flexible working and casual workplace

    Cons

    Poor pay and benefits Excessive workload and consistently under resource Focus on revenue and not on doing great work Poor investment into talent and little structured training

    Nielsen2019-03-21

    Nielsen Response

    April 5, 2019Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, both positive and constructive. Continual input only helps our organization get stronger and become an even better place to work, and we'll consider your feedback as an opportunity to improve.

  7. "Great potential, poor follow through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Great exposure to companies, market and competitor movements and interesting work.

    Cons

    Poor management, high staff turnover, seen as a number, not a person, minimal room for development unless you know/are popular with the right person

    Advice to Management

    See your employees as people looking for development and growth - speak to them, not about them.

    Nielsen2018-10-23
  8. "People focused & Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility for employees to fit in hard work with lifestyle and family commitments , very interesting, diverse team of people

    Cons

    Pay can be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Invest in productivity to achieve better outcomes

    Nielsen2018-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Low Pay Huge Workloads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    The people. Exposure and breadth good for learning and career development

    Cons

    Huge workload, client load and "special projects" given to staff under the guise of "proving" themselves before promotions would be given. A very efficient way to get a lot of work done on very low staff numbers. Turnover high. Burn out high.

    Advice to Management

    Appropriate staffing ratios and appropriate remuneration packages would stem the turnover

    Nielsen2018-09-18
  10. "operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nielsen

    Pros

    good for life over career period in nielson

    Cons

    bad to work, you wont have much improvment

    Nielsen2018-07-24
Found 4641 reviews