Ocean Media Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Ocean Media Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mike Robertson
21 Ratings
  1. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Doing good work and showing your value is met with appropriate compensation. In-house company gym, daily catered lunches, summer half-day Fridays, and laid-back dress code.

    Cons

    At this moment, I don't have anything to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-08-16
  2. "Learned a lot at Ocean Media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn media, develop technical skills and get comfortable working with clients.

    Cons

    Day to day can be somewhat repatative

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-07-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Things look good at first, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Location. Mostly empowered vs. micromanaging. Offices well maintained. In-house IT dept.

    Cons

    A "slippery slope." There's a degree of volatility that can quickly put you in hot water and likely without you knowing it. I would go so far as to label it paranoia that begins with the CEO. Well, it usually does.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-01-06
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a lot of companies in the past, other agencies as well. This is by far the best place I've worked at. The owners seems like smart and respectable people. The management is knowledgeable and not micro-managing. Catered lunches are a plus. Nice views. This isn't a place to coast, I have seen some people let go because of poor work. All in all, great place for smart employees

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2018-11-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Ad Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Great People and Culture, Interesting work, Decent work/life balance, Free lunch. Not to mention the partners actually care about the people that work for them. Those are pretty rare these days in the agency world.

    Cons

    You need to be a go-getter to succeed here. There isn't a lot of formalized training so you need to work hard to progress. Not really a con, but more of a word of advice if you want to move up.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2018-08-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Company I have Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They cater free lunch everyday.

    Cons

    Pay is below market and management is horrible. Coworkers are always complaining....complaining about the clients, how much other people make, the job, the company, the food, ownership.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2018-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Can get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunches and work life balance

    Cons

    Career development in the media department is lacking

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2018-07-13
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great company, but needs to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch, great health insurance, stand up desks available. Summer Fridays (though only a few) and time off/half days during the holidays are great perks. Everyone in the office is very personable and easy to talk to, even the partners (though the CEO can be TMI during some interactions). There is potential for growth, though you need to actually show interest and produce strong work - don't wait for it to come to you or ask for promotions when you're still making the same rudimentary mistakes.

    Cons

    After letting go of several people, the moral has gone down a bit. Some Directors/VPs find it difficult saying no to ridiculous client requests that are simply a waste of company time and restrict growth of team members - constant repetitive and mindless copying/pasting into excel files. Digital department needs some love and more integration with account team. There are very few people who know their stuff in the department who are expected to answer client questions.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2017-10-24
  9. "Great place to innovate and work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, big clients, innovative tech, thinkers and doers, helpful culture

    Cons

    It can be tough for people who aren't able to keep up

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2017-06-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Interesting projects. At Ocean you work with a smaller team than the larger post production studios in Vancouver. But with that comes a strong connection to your producers and supervisors and you get great industry experience.

    Cons

    This is a smaller company. There are not a lot of opportunites to advance to a high paid longer career in post production within the company.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2017-06-18
Found 32 reviews