Ocean Media Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ocean Media CEO Mike Robertson (no image)
Mike Robertson
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good for Entry level experience , lack of culture and team moral"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The free food, indoor gym and stable workflow are positives for entry level employees looking to gain experience. Really good training and steady on boarding process. You can gain experience that's transferable to other roles. Lots of diversity in employment

    Cons

    The workflow can be somewhat repetitive and no real sense of company culture so it's your simple 9-5. Lots of gossip among employees. In addition, it's kinda hard to tell what upper management does as there a lot of empty titles with little responsibility leaving a lot of work for the bottom level employee. Would say employees aren't inclined to help each other

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2020-03-05
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away - If your a minority"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The main perks are the free lunch an gym

    Cons

    Felt discriminated against and CEO and executives appear to be friendly but not really. Team is not very supportive of ideas and there is not sense of helping each other.

    Ocean Media2020-01-28
  3. "Executive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media

    Pros

    Everyone is focused to obtain the best results for our clients. Lots of opportunity to learn about the ever changing media landscape.

    Cons

    I really don’t believe there is any downside to OM

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-10-28
  4. "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open communication with direct reports and upper management, opportunity for growth if you express the desire to do so, catered lunches, snacks, great location right off the 405, nice people....

    Cons

    None as of now.

    Ocean Media2019-10-23
  5. "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Doing good work and showing your value is met with appropriate compensation. In-house company gym, daily catered lunches, summer half-day Fridays, and laid-back dress code.

    Cons

    At this moment, I don't have anything to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-08-16
  6. "Learned a lot at Ocean Media"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn media, develop technical skills and get comfortable working with clients.

    Cons

    Day to day can be somewhat repatative

    Ocean Media2019-07-06
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Things look good at first, but..."

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Location. Mostly empowered vs. micromanaging. Offices well maintained. In-house IT dept.

    Cons

    A "slippery slope." There's a degree of volatility that can quickly put you in hot water and likely without you knowing it. I would go so far as to label it paranoia that begins with the CEO. Well, it usually does.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2019-01-06
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a lot of companies in the past, other agencies as well. This is by far the best place I've worked at. The owners seems like smart and respectable people. The management is knowledgeable and not micro-managing. Catered lunches are a plus. Nice views. This isn't a place to coast, I have seen some people let go because of poor work. All in all, great place for smart employees

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Ocean Media2018-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Ad Agency"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean Media full-time

    Pros

    Great People and Culture, Interesting work, Decent work/life balance, Free lunch. Not to mention the partners actually care about the people that work for them. Those are pretty rare these days in the agency world.

    Cons

    You need to be a go-getter to succeed here. There isn't a lot of formalized training so you need to work hard to progress. Not really a con, but more of a word of advice if you want to move up.

    Continue reading
    Ocean Media2018-08-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Company I have Ever Worked For"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They cater free lunch everyday.

    Cons

    Pay is below market and management is horrible. Coworkers are always complaining....complaining about the clients, how much other people make, the job, the company, the food, ownership.

    Ocean Media2018-08-08
Found 36 reviews