Portland General Electric Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Portland General Electric Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Portland General Electric CEO Maria Pope
Maria Pope
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have been working as a contractor for PGE for about nine months and am really impressed with the organization(in 19 reviews)

  • "I have been able to successfully maintain a good work-life balance during my time here(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "PGE is an older established firm that needs to flex better and is working toward this end(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work life balance was not really possible at my level but we were rewarded for our sacrifices through recognition programs and bonuses(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Portland General Electric full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Opportunity to move within the company

    Cons

    Goals un realistic at times Management treatment not equal to all employees

    Portland General Electric2019-08-19
  2. "End of a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive wages, good health plan.

    Cons

    If you aren’t the flavor of the month you aren’t getting anywhere. The company is doing massive layoffs. They make assumptions about workers and gossip about them (managers too).

    Continue reading
    Portland General Electric2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needed a new CIO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good base salary. Healthcare benefit option is only High Deductible as of 2017. No PPO or HMO option.

    Cons

    Did not deal with poor performers.

    Continue reading
    Portland General Electric2019-07-16
  4. "Good Company - has work to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company, good benefits, good direction on renewable energy initiatives.

    Cons

    Sr. Management pushes heavily on diversity initiatives but hired several white men into management positions. Work/life balance suffers in those departments that are considered overhead such as IT or HR as those budgets get cut in favor of smart city projects. On going issues with retaining long term under-performing employees that get shuffled around instead of being off-loaded. Lack of concern over losing high performing employees in underfunded areas. Passive aggressive culture of nice people balanced by factions of bullies that are not held accountable mostly in Line operations and general administration. Great company if you are lucky enough to get into one of the highly funded and more professional level parts of the company.

    Portland General Electric2019-07-17
  5. "PGE is leading the way!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Management Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Kind environment that pushes you to think creatively for a clean energy future!! Their purpose is strong and embedded into the culture.

    Cons

    If you’re located downtown and drive you have to pay for parking. BUT they do offer these employees FREE TriMet passes as an alternative. They really care about their customers, employees and our environment!!!

    Portland General Electric2019-06-28
  6. "Maintenance work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintanace in Bommanahalli, Hosur Road
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portland General Electric full-time

    Pros

    I want to make something in our company

    Cons

    Mm.as..no problem.I'm just employer..no worry

    Continue reading
    Portland General Electric2019-06-25
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    True focus on developing employees, commitment to diversity and a clean energy future. Fabulous benefits.

    Cons

    There was some bad apples in high level positions where their bad behavior created a toxic culture. They have since been forced out of the company by the new CEO. Work life balance was not really possible at my level but we were rewarded for our sacrifices through recognition programs and bonuses

    Portland General Electric2019-06-14
  8. "Making positive changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portland General Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Support of employees, community involvement, pay, benefits

    Cons

    Outdated policies and practices that are now being changed and updated

    Portland General Electric2019-06-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Organized Oppression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Portland General Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paychecks don't come back as nsf.

    Cons

    Executives turn a blind eye to favoritism and unfair treatment. Unless you are of a "preferred" demographic, you are likely to be treated as second class with no recourse.

    Continue reading
    Portland General Electric2019-07-15
  10. "ok but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Portland General Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lay-back environment, a lot of fun projects

    Cons

    relatively low pay, politics, poor management

    Continue reading
    Portland General Electric2019-05-23
Found 118 reviews