Stantec Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Stantec Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 968 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Stantec CEO Gord Johnston
Gord Johnston
125 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Supervisors are not managed properly by upper management and get away with acts of mistreatment of their team(in 28 reviews)

  • "Large company, often working with supervisors remotely(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people and good enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like work here. People is nice.

    Cons

    It is not very busy

    Stantec2017-05-16
  2. "Okay company, bad position, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -People were nice -Good culture and people that care -There was potential promise if in a different position within the company

    Cons

    -Lack of Professional Development -Lack of opportunity -Lack of management care -Focus on return instead of value

    Advice to Management

    Keeping a team together requires more time and effort than treating people like a number on a screen. I think that there was opportunity if there was a better position in the company

    Stantec2019-07-04
  3. "Large global company with haphazard approach to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mine Closure Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A wealth of expertise locally and globally

    Cons

    Sometimes it is hard to know how to share knowledge and collaborate and who to go to

    Stantec2019-06-27
  4. "Stayed too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, plenty of good people

    Cons

    Politics, pigeon holing, depends whom you report to. Management issues.

    Advice to Management

    Work together better

    Stantec2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    Strong office culture, friendly and fun

    Cons

    Middle management was distracted and distant

    Advice to Management

    Team structure needs to change

    Stantec2017-12-12
  6. "project controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stantec full-time

    Pros

    Good team and work culture

    Cons

    Stagnant growth and repetitive work

    Stantec2017-08-05
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Culture. Good Team.

    Cons

    I did not see any cons.

    Stantec2019-08-09
  8. "Great intro job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Accountant 

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job hours Great food

    Cons

    Pay and management could be more efficient. No room to grow up on the ladder.

    Stantec2019-08-05
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stantec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity for growth and support from management on career path. Great work /life balance. Talented and creative coworkers. Teamwork and collaborative environment. Flexible, diverse and open minded/

    Cons

    In such a competitive industry I think that there is pressure on higher management to bring in work.

    Stantec2019-08-04
  10. "National company with a local feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Controls Specialist in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stantec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    National company with strong local offices. Supportive of career development and advancement. The local offices have a lot of independent authority which means that employees are empowered at lower levels and there are opportunities to work on big projects even at small offices. It also means that there is a local feel in the offices which promotes a friendly office atmosphere.

    Cons

    It is a company that grows mostly through acquisition of other engineering firms. Local empowerment sometimes means that offices are not in alignment with each other and not using the same methodologies and systems.

    Stantec2019-08-04
Found 968 reviews