State Farm Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

State Farm Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8085 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
State Farm CEO Michael L. Tipsord
Michael L. Tipsord
2260 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, a lot of growth opportunity(in 511 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance - you can plan your work schedule around your class schedule(in 380 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is not the best but the work life balance makes up for it(in 379 reviews)

  • "there are no benefits like medical dental or vision(in 224 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (365)

    "An Amazing Decline/Trust Your Gut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at State Farm full-time

      Pros

      (At the time) Fair pay and predictable bonus structure They were pretty good at covering travel expenses and paying them back quickly Diverse workforce & diversity initiatives Fun and funny coworkers Opportunities for growth Again, this was all four years ago and has likely changed

      Cons

      (At the time and now, according to other comments) Arrogant to a fault Total lack of innovation & willingness to innovate Odd attachment to the company's past (which prevents progress) High number of veterans (20+ years) who are determined to get that retirement money, and therefore, are resistant to change and technology Heavy reliance on command and control management style Poor decision-making that leads...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      When I was first hired to State Farm back in 2010, I felt truly blessed and fortunate. I felt I had found my work "home," and that I would be able to learn and grow over time, and watch my career develop. And guess what? It did. I held three different positions at State Farm, each "better" than the last in terms of challenge, growth, and pay. I used to brag to others about State Farm and actively try to recruit them....

      Show More
      State Farm2018-03-09
    • "Senior Risk Management Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Risk Management in Bloomington, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at State Farm

      Pros

      Often times the work environment is very friendly and social. The ability to build effective relationships is critical to success.

      Cons

      Experience outside of State Farm is not always considered as having business acumen and/or is not a valued asset.

      State Farm2019-07-20
    • "Data Related Roles at SF"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at State Farm part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Great benefits - Flexible work schedule - People that dislike SF are the representatives that have to clock-in

      Cons

      - Office is quite - Office is dark - Low starting pay

      State Farm2019-07-18
    • "Job Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Auto ILR in Richardson, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at State Farm full-time

      Pros

      Supportive managers Everything is very structured RESOURCE LINE. CAN I SAY IT AGAIN. RESOURCE LINE. Endless amount of resources to help foster growth You will not feel alone. If you have no insurance experience prior to starting this job, it is completely ok.

      Cons

      Pay Adherence to your shift / schedule

      State Farm2019-07-18
    • "very good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at State Farm full-time

        Pros

        had lots of fun there

        Cons

        nothing i can think of at the moment

        State Farm2019-07-16
      • "Sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Representative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at State Farm full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great company to work for!

        Cons

        Nothing bad to say about them

        State Farm2019-07-16
      • Helpful (4)

        "Better options"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Auto ILR Associate in Tempe, AZ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at State Farm full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good benefits and 401 matching

        Cons

        Always busy with calls in queue. Sick days are shared with PTO. Hard to advance when department is not releasing employees due to being understaffed. Attendance policy

        Advice to Management

        Value your employees instead of viewing them as replaceable.

        State Farm2019-07-09
      • "To work or not to work here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Richardson, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at State Farm full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The benefits and things that they have for their employees

        Cons

        Pay, Point system and schedules

        Advice to Management

        Treat your employees like you don’t want to lose them and the turn over rate want be so high!

        State Farm2019-07-17
      • "overall a positive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Claim Adjuster 

          I worked at State Farm full-time

          Pros

          friendly to the point of being worring

          Cons

          not enough time to gather yourself

          State Farm2019-07-17
        • "Fantastic workplace"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - State Farm Agent Staff 

            I have been working at State Farm full-time

            Pros

            Great Agent Great money and great work life balance

            Cons

            None that I can think of

            State Farm2019-07-15
          Found 8085 reviews