Supercheap Auto Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Supercheap Auto Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Supercheap Auto CEO Peter Birtles
Peter Birtles
15 Ratings
  1. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto part-time

      Pros

      Good benefits/discounts. Flexible hours for students.

      Cons

      Nature of retail work is very repetitive.

      Supercheap Auto2018-09-10
    • "On the whole a good workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Supercheap Auto part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team benefits - including very good discounts at SRG stores and free Bathurst tickets Good team culture - the team I worked with were a great group of people Get to work with a lot of good products.

      Cons

      They pretend like they care about safety, but when push comes to shove dollars come before people. E.g. our store didn't have an appropriate sized ladder to work the overs so we had to climb on them - a very unsafe situation. The wages budget seems to have decreased recently - staff numbers are too low for a growing business like SCA Massively out of date IT systems are incredibly slow, crash all the time and are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      View your IT as an investment - your out of date system is costing you so much money even if you don't see it. Understand that people are you greatest asset - making them come in when sick and putting them in dangerous situations is not good.

      Supercheap Auto2019-05-22
    • "Not too bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto full-time

      Pros

      The people you work with

      Cons

      Being constantly under the microscope from head office

      Advice to Management

      Let your staff do what they do best

      Supercheap Auto2019-05-14
    • "Interesting environment with many difficulties"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Supercheap Auto part-time

      Pros

      Decent Wage, Good People (Mostly) , Benefits, Bonuses

      Cons

      Some of the issues you'll face with customers make you question why you're working there. So much can go wrong working with peoples cars. Prepare for unforeseen mistakes, and unhappy customers.

      Supercheap Auto2019-03-11
    • "good discunts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Supercheap Auto part-time

      Pros

      good discounts, pay based on age. no saturday rates, but time and a half for sundays

      Cons

      limited shifts, and strict rostering.... miss a shift, or cancel and likely see your week or month gone.

      Supercheap Auto2018-09-12
    • "Poor upper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Supercheap Auto

      Pros

      Store teams turn out to be family

      Cons

      Upper management have no consideration for anything

      Advice to Management

      Learn to connect

      Supercheap Auto2018-09-19
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great company values and team environment. Safe place to work. Great incentives

      Cons

      None. Is what you make of it

      Supercheap Auto2018-08-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Disgusting Work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geelong
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Really nothing, getting dirty and customers are swearing all the time.

      Cons

      Helping Customers but nothing else really full stop.

      Advice to Management

      Please make this a better place it is very expensive and it is full of just crap.

      Supercheap Auto2018-07-31
    • "Great Casual Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible, good work culture (depending on store and manager), competitive pay

      Cons

      The only big con for me is repetitive tasks

      Advice to Management

      Head Office should invest more (e.g. pay them more) in good store managers. I have worked under bad and good store managers and it makes a big difference in the stores operations and culture.

      Supercheap Auto2017-11-16
    • "Politics, Politics and Politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Sydney
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Supercheap Auto part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good salary and benefits. Good hours if managers like you.

      Cons

      The whole place is filled with politics. Top to bottom. If you can't do politics then you won't get shifts. They will cut down your shifts. Managers love politics.

      Advice to Management

      Give you managers proper training about being leaders. Take intense survey from employees about the managers.

      Supercheap Auto2017-10-20
    Found 31 reviews