The Very Group Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch
Henry Birch
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced, great people, recognition(in 15 reviews)

  • "easy work, and good people to work with(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours systems salary progression(in 7 reviews)

  • "Pettiness senior management lack of trust(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great place to work

      16 Feb 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice people throughout the chain. They care for every employee by providing all the support needed. Actually listen to your feedback and always try to make it right. Perfect place to learn and improve especially with the technology used atm

      Cons

      Can't think of any that stands out

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving such a great review on your time as a software engineer at The Very Group. Glad to hear the people, tech, and our culture of feedback and improvement is being well received in your new role! Have a great weekend!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Inspiring & Rewarding place to work - Proud to be part of

      8 Jun 2021 - Head of Retail Operations in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clear strategy, ambitious, progressive, many great talented people & teamwork, supportive senior leadership team Really great people across the organisation - they really do care about the business and about each other Not afraid to try new things, culture of Do-Learn-Do Better Complex business which has many functions to work within & apply expertise; Tech & Data, Finance, Retail, Digital Marketing, People, Fulfillment & Logistics, Financial Services, Customer services etc

      Cons

      Operates in a very competitive market, and so demands are high in order to keep winning, however as is the support and job satisfaction when delivering positive outcomes - pace is fast, as is the pace of change & that's not for everyone Still some inefficient legacy systems to replace

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ambitious

      7 Jun 2021 - Chief Risk Officer in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only company I have worked for whose rhetoric around ambition comes through in the way we work. Its ambitious about its people promise as much as it is about the business moving forward. Fun! Dynamic! Non hierarchical!

      Cons

      This is not con, however, you need to be aware of your own time management. There are so many things you may want to get involved in and while this never an expectation set by management and certainly isn't pushed you could see yourself taking too much on. Speak to your management team if this happens and they will help, staff wellbeing is key to the business delivering on its ambition.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      7 Jun 2021 - Head of IT in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, forward thinking, fast paced, lots of opportunities and excellent employee support

      Cons

      Tech Stagey can in parts be short sighted e.g. 1 year planning. As a result, data platforms are underinvested or not a mature as they could be (too much tech debt). That said there has been green shoots recently but lots more still to do.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Great Retailer to work for!

      8 Jun 2021 - Forecasting Stock Planner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Culture - Caring for employees and their wellbeing - Leadership are really supportive and put you as a person first - Good benefits package - holiday allowance much better than all other retailers I have worked for - Good recognition programme

      Cons

      - Relatively flat structure, with relatively limited management possibilities in certain roles - Wider business induction process needs improvement (considering the size of the business)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work and on an exciting journey

      8 Jun 2021 - Digital Customer Experience Director in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely ambitious business with lots of friendly and talented people. Have been impressed with the culture and how we have created a fantastic collaborative working environment whilst also fully embracing hybrid working.

      Cons

      Our technology is still a challenge and can frustrate our colleagues whilst also slowing our progress, although we have plans to resolve this and make our technology a positive point of differentiation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for

      10 Jun 2021 - Software Engineering Lead in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great culture * Forward-thinking * Investments in modernising tech stack * Ability to work split time working from home and the office (even post covid) * Lots of benefits * Good salary * Career progression * Flexibility in working hours

      Cons

      * Some tech is a bit dated (but in process of moving away from it)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Company on a successful transformation journey to become a world class digital retailer

      9 Jun 2021 - Category Manager in Speke, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company on a successful transformation journey to become a world class digital retailer. Benefits package is substantial People live by the company values# Flexible working

      Cons

      Systems lacking to support the ambition in the digital space

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great place to work that's constantly evolving

      11 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bolton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at The Very Group are great to work with, and with things constantly moving at pace you're never looking for the next thing to work on. The Company offers a competitive reward package including some great benefits. I'm proud to have seen the response to the pandemic, and how we've supported our colleagues, customers and communities. We're just starting the next chapter with a hybrid working model that will truly support the future world of work.

      Cons

      We sometimes bite off more than we can handle, and so staying really true to our priorities is something we need to continue to work on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for leaving a review on your time at Very so far, and being part of our century long story. We couldn't do it without you!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Interesting place to work

      11 Jun 2021 - Creative Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly and inclusive environment

      Cons

      Sometimes limited for opportunities for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 266 Reviews

    Work at The Very Group? Share Your Experiences

    The Very Group logo
    or