Toll Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Toll Group Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Toll Group CEO Michael Byrne
Michael Byrne
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Having said that, almost every person I came across at Toll were great people personally and professionally(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "no Team outing or lunch - no budget for employees to have a team lunch so you are only hired to work no work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Limited career progression and understanding of the future(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toll Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace, innovative changes, focus on getting the job completed and personal development

    Cons

    Challenges with IT - offshore IT

    Toll Group2019-10-27
  2. "Organisation adapting in difficult times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toll Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For a time at Toll, I worked in teams and with people that were inspiring, great at their jobs, fun to work with, and we were doing really interesting work.

    Cons

    The difficulty is that the business is under extreme financial pressure due to the changing industry demands and a high fixed cost, inflexible business model - combined with significant bureaucracy - has driven a lot of good people away and made the demands on those that remain significant.

    Toll Group2019-12-02
  3. "Constant Transformation and outsourcing. New Leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Toll Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Working colleagues Flexibility Work/ life balance.

    Cons

    High turnover. Lack of skills due to getting rid of people with skills and experience. Lack of support from higher management. Lack of customer focus.

    Advice to Management

    Review outsourcing. May save on headcount but outsource costing a lot more than savings. Now that MB is leaving, hope new MD will do a better job by getting rid of his ‘transformation’ executives and focus on hiring the right skilled people locally and stop outsourcing to cheap unskilled labour and costing customer satisfaction. Listen to your people on the ground as they are the ones who are customer facing.... Customer is number 1!

    Show More
    Toll Group2019-11-27
  4. "No respect for middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toll Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Genuine and Strong Safety Culture

    Cons

    Senior Management do not "walk the talk" - Bureaucratic nightmare with multiple levels of approval required for simplest of requirements Some business units show complete disdain for Customer Service outcomes Costly and ineffective outsourcing Lack of cohesion and cooperation between business units

    Advice to Management

    Walk the Talk - for years CI has been drummed into all and sundry - show some trust and faith in middle management and remove excessive layers of bureaucracy and authorization and let people manage their areas of responsibility with some autonomy. Understand the value of goodwill - not handing out $30 gift cards to employees at Xmas may look like a big saving on paper.....

    Toll Group2019-12-05
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toll Group part-time

    Pros

    Pay is good for hours worked

    Cons

    Limited amount of work

    Toll Group2019-11-18
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toll Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leading the industry Great system Affordable workload Great management

    Cons

    Parking space short on some site

    Toll Group2019-11-15
  7. "Great pay, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Road Train Driver in Karratha
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toll Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is fantastic with a fairly relaxed work culture (for mining )

    Cons

    Difficult to be approved for holidays, needed to buy my own gloves

    Advice to Management

    Focus on driver retention, don't be so cheap with safety equipment and but the better stuff. The riggers gloves we have are terrible.

    Toll Group2019-11-12
  8. "Good experience Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Accountant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toll Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Toll for over 3 years. During that time I saw people come and go as unfortunately there seems to be high turn over (see cons). Having said that, almost every person I came across at Toll were great people personally and professionally. It was a nice environment and I made good friendships. For me personally, within the challenges there were opportunities to learn. Diversity was also a great at Toll.

    Cons

    Communication across middle to senior management seems to be broken. Decisions seem to be made at the very top without fully understanding the implications and challenges. Not sure if lower levels are afraid to speak up or the big bosses are not willing to listen. This is really frustrating at times for people who do the actual work and deal with the consequences. Multiple systems across the Group that don't... necessarily talk to each other, resulting in very manual processes prone to human error. Salaries and benefits are not great compared to market. Something to keep in mind if able to negotiate at the start.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to listen to your reporters, the may have answers or actually contribute to decision making.

    Toll Group2019-11-09
  9. "Working at Toll was good for a period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Operator in Dandenong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toll Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team culture was good.

    Cons

    No real career progression. No budget for training

    Toll Group2019-11-02
  10. "Toll in a state of flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toll Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast moving and challenging environment where you are always learning

    Cons

    Chaotic, unstable work environment, staff get flogged until they crack and leave, massive staff turnover

    Toll Group2019-10-20
Found 257 reviews