Ultimate Edge Communications Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 9 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great place to grow fast with ability to work around the world clock

    Nov 17, 2020 - Client Success Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working for UEC for over 3 years now. It is definitely a place that has allowed me to grow and develop professionally at an accelerated rate. I don’t think I have ever learned so much within such a short space of time. It is up to everyone in the team to show how much they want to learn and they are always given the opportunity to shine. You will not get stuck in a repetitive role if you don’t want to! From an advertising agency perspective, the value proposition that we offer to our clients is very appealing to me. I enjoy working for an agency who I would happily spend my marketing $$ with myself. From my personal experience, this is often not the case. As I have been with the business since early days, I got the opportunity to get an insight into the operational side of the business and my input is always valued and considered. Being able to work on the operational side of things is a great advantage for me as it is completely outside of scope for my job title. It allows me to grow my professional skillset in a way I was never able to in my previous roles when I was working for larger companies. My role is very varied and fast paced and it always keeps me up on my toes. No repetitive routine where you do the same task every day! UEC has changed a lot over the past year. The owner is now solely driving the company direction and culture. The vibe feels great, I enjoy coming to work, the team is awesome. They are very supportive of each other and good fun too! I have a very close relationship with the owner which is very rare in a workplace. She supports her employee’s life decisions in any way she can – in my case I am going to be able to keep working for UEC remotely from Paris at the end of this year. UEC is growing its global team around the world so that it can service their clients 24/7 which enables me to keep my job and pursue the next chapter of my life at the same time.

    Cons

    Meetings often scheduled during lunchtime so be prepared to be very flexible with your break time. Timesheets are a way to keep this business profitable but for those who haven’t experienced this before it can be daunting at the start. This is definitely not a place for people who like to come to work to do very little and get paid for it. The business is fully transparent and accountable to delivering on client outcomes so if you’re not comfortable with being ‘seen’, then it may not be a place for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Basket Case

    Jun 13, 2022 - National Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and other staff were nice

    Cons

    basket case of a business

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Needs Improvement

    Apr 26, 2022 - Talent Acquisition - Offered, Then Oddly Retracted After A Week 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick to send and sign contract

    Cons

    · Unpaid training and onboarding. Fixed price tasks with comically low hour estimations compared to expected results... negotiation attempt shut down with task cancelled. · First "real day" consisted only of the cancellation of three meetings. Time respect violated. · Silo'd departments use out of date and ineffective communication methods · Lack of shared project management tooling or ticketing system · Female-dominated workplace... potential gender bias

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Long hours, a team of bullies

    Feb 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation is fair and that to me is the only pro

    Cons

    The demands and the expectations are just too much. You are expected to work long hours under the pretext of delivering the best outcome for the clients. The CEO and her partner Marc Dussault are a bunch of bullies make for just a rudest team that I’ve come across in my entire working career. Extremely passive aggressive in terms of email communications and please if you’re reading this and are looking for a work-life balance, decline this company right away. Do not take up any role within this company and I do not say this lightly. You will be in for the shock of your life in terms of culture in this company for this has been the worst experience in my career.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Employees are paid for all hours worked and high performers do get paid bonuses

    Oct 11, 2020 - Financial Controller in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don’t do reviews as a rule, so this is just about some facts. There have been major positive changes to the style and substance of management this year. As the company’s financial controller, I have access to the job/time costing and payroll systems and can confirm that every employee is paid for all hours worked. No one is working for free. Long hours are not the norm, even though there is plenty of work to do. Staff are currently working from home two days per week. Raises and promotions for high performers are given and I can see a history of performance bonuses being paid. During my time at UEC, rewards are openly celebrated at team meetings and social events. One high performer was awarded an all-expenses paid trip for two to Bali. The job costing system is implemented to track hours by person, by client, by job and by task so all staff could have the option to work flex time hours and from home which the team did, long before COVID-19 hit. I’ve seen the flex time used by staff who want to continue their studies, get formal accreditations or care for young children or elderly family members. Staff no longer carry deficits of non-billable hours. During COVID-19, the team worked without interruption and that meant they were able to help clients when they were struggling to get organised to work from home, which is not as easy as clients thought it was. The CEO has returned from maternity leave and is fully engaged in management. REALLY engaged and making all the decisions. She is inspirational, smart and genuine about her positive intentions and relentless commitment to clients and her team. The COVID-19 period has set UEC apart from competitors. Clients have a new appreciation of the efforts and results. New clients are joining.

    Cons

    Of the cons previously mentioned by reviewers, probably only timesheets is the only one remaining. As the finance person from time-based industries, I am a fan of the metrics timesheets can provide. They are not time-consuming or intrusive. The information is used for broad reporting, not to inspect and question every minute of the day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    STAY AWAY! The worst company I've ever worked for

    Feb 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You may get to share the horrible experience with some nice people.

    Cons

    I can't do it justice like these other reviews do, just reinforce how horrible this place is, don't be sold by them, they're salespeople.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to grow and develop

    Dec 16, 2019 - Data Optimization Specialist in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been at UEC for more than 2 years, on my corporate anniversary I got the day off AND a $500 bonus and then just a few weeks later on my birthday, I also got the day off. This is part of the new culture that’s finally in place to reward employee loyalty and commitment to the company and its clients. If you want to develop your career, UEC is the place for you. As a self-organising team structure, we all work across the 4 dimensions of our value proposition which everyone tells me is rare in agencies that like to pigeon-hole people into task-driven roles. I am not the only one who has earned multiple bonuses and promotions. They come quickly to those who create results for clients as the company grows and seeks leaders to take charge and get things done. Oh yeah, flextime is great – I would never want to go back to a 9-to-5 environment.

    Cons

    • There is no place to hide. Everyone has to pitch in and get jobs out the door. Some people definitely don’t like that since they are used to just showing up and being paid to be there. • With no place to hide, non-performers don’t stay very long which means there has been a lot of turnover, but the trade-off is that we now have the best team ever.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    UEC changed my life in less than a year!

    Aug 13, 2019 - Office Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great career development Trendy CBD Totally flexible working hours Encouragement and mentoring to grow at your own speed Big push on personal development, which suited me fine Aleisha the (CEO) is extremely inspirational, real role model for women who want to succeed in business and have a family

    Cons

    The self-organising team structure can be a bit hard to get used to, but it’s worth it to get the flextime benefits! UEC isn’t in the real estate industry and that’s what I wanted and why I left, to chase my dream.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Realigning the business for the next growth phase is exciting

    Feb 4, 2019 - Business Strategy Consultant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • We have a great team of people who are excited to contribute to the company’s vision and really work well together. • With our flexible work culture, we’re now attracting people who want the work-life balance that’s hard to find in an agency. • Because we operate in an agency setting, we have a lot of exciting technical challenges in a wide variety of industries with clients of different sizes to offer staff within each of their assigned roles. • Our brand new, fully integrated work production system with live dashboards now allows people to work remotely (from home) to accommodate their personal lives and commuting preferences. • We’ve made it past the growing pains of a small business and have the critical mass with solid clients to continue to expand our services. • We love having fun because winning awards and receiving gifts of appreciation from our clients and suppliers reinforces what it’s like to be on a winning team.

    Cons

    • As a self-organising team in a collaborative environment, the culture and expectations of the team can be overwhelming for people not used to being transparently accountable and held to client deliverable deadlines and QA expectations. • The systems and processes can be intimidating to newcomers, but once understood, they work really well. • Finding good people who are mature enough to manage themselves and coordinate with others is not easy. • As a consultancy, we hold our team to a higher standard than a traditional agency because the value-add component is largely the business skills of the team – beyond the media buying or creative production of visual elements. The intangible business value requires more than just ‘doing your job’. • On top of all the above, we operate with the principles of deliberate practice principles that create champions and Olympians which is not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Work at Ultimate Edge Communications? Share Your Experiences

Ultimate Edge Communications logo
or