Visa Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Visa Inc. Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2490 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Visa Inc. CEO Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
440 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a great place for work-life balance(in 347 reviews)

  • "Company provides good benefits to its employees and the working environment is good(in 175 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Visa Inc.

      Pros

      Really great company to work for with fantastic benefits and great people to work with as well.

      Cons

      Nothing really negative , more positives than any other company i have come acrss.

      Visa Inc.2017-06-05
    • "Enjoyed my time where"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Global brand with a tight knit local team. As a marketer you have the opportunity to work with some great assets get creative licence to be brave and push the boundaries.

      Cons

      Work life balance was encouraged but came down to your individual leader. My leader wasn't great at it.

      Advice to Management

      Walk the talk and trust that your team will deliver, no matter where they're working from.

      Visa Inc.2018-09-18

      Visa Inc. Response

      September 28, 2018The Visa Team

      Glad you enjoyed being innovative and creative while at Visa! We agree that work/life balance is important and continue to foster a flexible work environment that supports time-off to enjoy a full life outside the office.

    • "Overview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

      Pros

      Flat management structure, global brand, travel, diverse work, flexible work arrangements, high quality work culture, embraces diversity and is inclusive

      Cons

      High client demands relative to staffing levels leading to over work, can be bureaucratic and slow to act on things

      Advice to Management

      Change unwavering commitment to four party model, resist the urge to chase unprofitable business at the expense of better opportunities

      Visa Inc.2016-11-30

      Visa Inc. Response

      December 14, 2016The Visa Team

      Thanks for the positive review! We are glad to see that you appreciate the culture and our focus on diversity and inclusion. We want all employees to feel accepted – it’s what makes our work environment and our business so successful. Appreciate the feedback - in order to keep up ...

      Show More
    • "Business Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic people, good strategy, good work environment lots of new technology, strong leadership

      Cons

      not really any I'd recomend

      Advice to Management

      keep doing what your doing

      Visa Inc.2016-08-26
    • Helpful (4)

      "Sr. Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

      Pros

      As a creative monopoly, Visa continues to provide valuable payment services to merchants, banks and consumers. Strong financials. Strong growth rates. Strong emphasis in international growth. One of the most ethical companies in the world.

      Cons

      The speed to change is slow. Very slow. As the business continues to grow in size and scope, teams frequently have competing goals/priorities. Security and compliance is rightfully taken very seriously, however the abundance of red tape inhibits employee enablement and engagement.

      Advice to Management

      Yearly goal setting should originate from the top and cascade down to the various teams. Proprietary technology must be at least 10 times better than its closer substitute in some important dimension to lead to a real monopolistic advantage. For the past 50+ years Visa has leveraged the power of VisaNet. What's next?

      Visa Inc.2015-06-27
    • "Account executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Visa Inc.

      Pros

      Great opportunities. Good annual incentives, company focus on training and development

      Cons

      Processes can cumbersome and time consuming. Still not quite there with career development but the company is working hard on it. Management bonuses should be linked to employees performance to encourage staff development.

      Visa Inc.2014-11-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "project"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good benefits, salary + bonus + flexi benefits

      Cons

      long working hours, ppl are not working closely

      Advice to Management

      look into the root cause of the issue

      Visa Inc.2014-08-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "Fun, but it's a dead end street"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

      Pros

      (Mostly) nice people Opportunity for travel Depending on role can be very interesting work Great brand Reasonably innovative

      Cons

      If you're a woman you'll automatically be relegated to mid to low level roles....unless you want to drink with the boys and tell them what they want to hear People who play politics and don't do much else with their days. And these people get progressed No work/life balance

      Advice to Management

      It's not 1923. People expect a diverse and flexible workplace. Manage to output not to hours at the desk. Cultivate your talent. The loudest self-promoter is not necessarily the most competent or capable person to lead a team. Stronger HR development framework is needed.

      Visa Inc.2014-02-12
    • Helpful (6)

      "Hopefully the culture has improved"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

      I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

      Pros

      A global company, which for some roles leads to opportunities to travel and work abroad. As a tech company in the financial services industry they pay quite well compared to other industries. Also they sponsor many events so there are often other perks incl. tickets to events

      Cons

      Unfortunately the culture was very poor and this is why I left.

      Advice to Management

      You must value all feedback from employees regardless of their role or location

      Visa Inc.2013-12-21
    • Helpful (7)

      "Great Brand but archaic environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Leader in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Visa Inc.

      Pros

      Great brand Fantastic people to work with Rewarding and challenging work

      Cons

      No work life balance,working from home simply not allowed No career development or training Poor management and leadership skills Very under resourced No rewards or recognition program Poor HR department

      Advice to Management

      Managers need to concentrate on developing team potential,which creates talented and motivated people Clear development program and career progression Acknowledge staff have lives outside and give flexibility to work life balance Rotate managers out of roles every 2/3 years,otherwise you create stagnant selfish leaders Acknowledge the hard work employees do and recognise and reward accordingly

      Visa Inc.2012-02-03
    Found 2490 reviews