Visa Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Visa Inc. Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2529 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Visa Inc. CEO Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
460 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a great place for work-life balance(in 350 reviews)

  • "Company provides good benefits to its employees and the working environment is good(in 199 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Really great company to work for with fantastic benefits and great people to work with as well.

    Cons

    Nothing really negative , more positives than any other company i have come acrss.

    Visa Inc.2017-06-05
  2. "Enjoyed my time where"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global brand with a tight knit local team. As a marketer you have the opportunity to work with some great assets get creative licence to be brave and push the boundaries.

    Cons

    Work life balance was encouraged but came down to your individual leader. My leader wasn't great at it.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk and trust that your team will deliver, no matter where they're working from.

    Visa Inc.2018-09-18

    Visa Inc. Response

    September 28, 2018The Visa Team

    Glad you enjoyed being innovative and creative while at Visa! We agree that work/life balance is important and continue to foster a flexible work environment that supports time-off to enjoy a full life outside the office.

  3. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Flat management structure, global brand, travel, diverse work, flexible work arrangements, high quality work culture, embraces diversity and is inclusive

    Cons

    High client demands relative to staffing levels leading to over work, can be bureaucratic and slow to act on things

    Advice to Management

    Change unwavering commitment to four party model, resist the urge to chase unprofitable business at the expense of better opportunities

    Visa Inc.2016-11-30

    Visa Inc. Response

    December 14, 2016The Visa Team

    Thanks for the positive review! We are glad to see that you appreciate the culture and our focus on diversity and inclusion. We want all employees to feel accepted – it’s what makes our work environment and our business so successful. Appreciate the feedback - in order to keep up ...

    Show More
  4. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people, good strategy, good work environment lots of new technology, strong leadership

    Cons

    not really any I'd recomend

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what your doing

    Visa Inc.2016-08-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    As a creative monopoly, Visa continues to provide valuable payment services to merchants, banks and consumers. Strong financials. Strong growth rates. Strong emphasis in international growth. One of the most ethical companies in the world.

    Cons

    The speed to change is slow. Very slow. As the business continues to grow in size and scope, teams frequently have competing goals/priorities. Security and compliance is rightfully taken very seriously, however the abundance of red tape inhibits employee enablement and engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Yearly goal setting should originate from the top and cascade down to the various teams. Proprietary technology must be at least 10 times better than its closer substitute in some important dimension to lead to a real monopolistic advantage. For the past 50+ years Visa has leveraged the power of VisaNet. What's next?

    Visa Inc.2015-06-27
  6. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Great opportunities. Good annual incentives, company focus on training and development

    Cons

    Processes can cumbersome and time consuming. Still not quite there with career development but the company is working hard on it. Management bonuses should be linked to employees performance to encourage staff development.

    Visa Inc.2014-11-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, salary + bonus + flexi benefits

    Cons

    long working hours, ppl are not working closely

    Advice to Management

    look into the root cause of the issue

    Visa Inc.2014-08-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Fun, but it's a dead end street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    (Mostly) nice people Opportunity for travel Depending on role can be very interesting work Great brand Reasonably innovative

    Cons

    If you're a woman you'll automatically be relegated to mid to low level roles....unless you want to drink with the boys and tell them what they want to hear People who play politics and don't do much else with their days. And these people get progressed No work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    It's not 1923. People expect a diverse and flexible workplace. Manage to output not to hours at the desk. Cultivate your talent. The loudest self-promoter is not necessarily the most competent or capable person to lead a team. Stronger HR development framework is needed.

    Visa Inc.2014-02-12
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Hopefully the culture has improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    A global company, which for some roles leads to opportunities to travel and work abroad. As a tech company in the financial services industry they pay quite well compared to other industries. Also they sponsor many events so there are often other perks incl. tickets to events

    Cons

    Unfortunately the culture was very poor and this is why I left.

    Advice to Management

    You must value all feedback from employees regardless of their role or location

    Visa Inc.2013-12-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great Brand but archaic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Leader in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Great brand Fantastic people to work with Rewarding and challenging work

    Cons

    No work life balance,working from home simply not allowed No career development or training Poor management and leadership skills Very under resourced No rewards or recognition program Poor HR department

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to concentrate on developing team potential,which creates talented and motivated people Clear development program and career progression Acknowledge staff have lives outside and give flexibility to work life balance Rotate managers out of roles every 2/3 years,otherwise you create stagnant selfish leaders Acknowledge the hard work employees do and recognise and reward accordingly

    Visa Inc.2012-02-03
Found 2529 reviews