World Wide Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

World Wide Technology Reviews

Updated 17 June 2018
617 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
World Wide Technology CEO Jim Kavanaugh
Jim Kavanaugh
481 Ratings

617 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You will not find a better work/life balance or support team out there" (in 54 reviews)

  • "The executives provide the foundation in our Core Values that allows us to do great things as a team" (in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent leadership, company culture, Midwestern values, work life balance, everyone is respected at all levels and treated fairly

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in background, age, and gender of employees

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recruit widely and at all age groups

    World Wide Technology Response

    10 Jan 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. I think we're probably more diverse than you realize but it's something we can always improve upon and something that's top of mind as we continue to grow. Thanks again and good luck.... More


  2. "Great in every way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, great work.

    Cons

    It feels like a large company. Not for someone who likes working at a small company.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology part-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling and very understanding

    Cons

    No cons here its a great place

    World Wide Technology Response

    6 Jun 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Believe the hype!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture and leaders! I wake up not dreading going to work.

    Cons

    Believe it or not but none that I have seen or experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    World Wide Technology Response

    30 May 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks, appreciate it!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company but Finance Dept is grossly mis-managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time

    Pros

    Core values are usually very important, collaboration is encouraged, overall culture is positive.

    Cons

    No leadership in Finance Dept. Employees promoted to management quickly with little experience. Outside management put in place with scant training, leading to lack of support and low morale for employees. No recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent company overall but Finance needs a serious overhaul. Please encourage management to support employees rather than alienate them. Discourage the "us against them" attitude. Discourage poor management attitudes toward customers as well as fellow employees.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "5 year employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Technician in Maryland Heights, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Network Technician in Maryland Heights, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible work schedule, great working environment, management will work with you when you need to deal with life events. PTO is great right out of the gate. Ever Changing environment

    Cons

    Base Pay is slow to grow, need to jump from title to title to make any gains. Politics to get much further than that of supervisor (similar to my previous employeers but not to the same level). Ever Changing Environment (when you get comfortable with a process it typically gets changed)

    Advice to Management

    Continue the team building and core value promotion. It requires Rigor and Discipline but lead by example.

    World Wide Technology Response

    23 May 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your constructive feedback. Congratulations on being with us for 5 years!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "WWT getting to big - culture deteriorating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great CEO, amazing ATC capabilities

    Cons

    The culture has changed over the years. No longer a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Exec management needs to start talking to the individual contributors so they can understand that the culture is not what they think it is.

    World Wide Technology Response

    8 Jun 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. If you feel comfortable sharing some specific examples, I think that would be helpful. What do you think has changed? From my perspective, I regularly see members of the executive team... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "WWT is a GPTW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    WWT allows autonomy to do your job without any micro-management. Managers still have an open door policy that is practiced and preached in my area. I feel valued as an employee and am rewarded by some of the best benefits and perks I have encountered anywhere . There is an emphasis placed on team-building, networking, and social events to build camaraderie and trust across departments. I have fun in my role and enjoy the people I get to work with! Work/life balance is real here- if you work hard, you are rewarded for it.

    Cons

    Formal leadership training programs like NOVA seem to be very difficult to get into. Not sure what the selection criteria is or how to get noticed in a team full of A+ players.

    I understood that new compensation plans were going to be a priority from a Corporate update, but have not seen any communications or plans laid out to right-side salaries of existing employees. Unfortunately, it seems in order to get a nice raise, you have to leave the company and come back at a premium price, even if you didn't gain any additional experience. Even with promotions, raises tend to be much less than IT industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Professional development and more competitive salaries should be areas we can continue to focus on to attract the right caliber of employees, and then retain them for years to come. Conferences and Training definitely boost team morale, give you renewed excitement about your role, and competitive advantage... Pay keeps you coming back for more!

    World Wide Technology Response

    10 May 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much. Regarding NOVA, nominations are performance based and determined by leaders within your department. Departments have a limited number of individuals they can nominate for each... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing companay in the US Mid West (St, Louis, MO) with subsidaries in London, Amsterdam, Lodz, Singapore, Hong Hong) with an open culture.

    Cons

    Too much US orientated: if you hire skilled local people with a wealth of experience do not tell them how to do their work. Ask them to help YOU how to improve

    Advice to Management

    Be carefull, you are loosing the touch by being US focussed.

    World Wide Technology Response

    29 May 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much and I can understand where you are coming from. It's a delicate balance of empowering the growth of our global operations while also remaining actively engaged from a corporate... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Supply Chain Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time

    Pros

    Best company and culture to be a part of!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about WWT!

    World Wide Technology Response

    10 May 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you!


Showing 617 of 670 reviews
Reset Filters