Zendesk Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
404 Ratings
Pros
  • "They had an incredibly flexible PTO policy which made work-life balance better than any other company I've worked for(in 98 reviews)

  • "Worked on a small team of great people(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective(in 37 reviews)

  • "Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage)(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Exciting and supportive place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Science Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of growth, lots of opportunities and a great team to work with. From a data science and machine learning perspective, there are incredibly interesting data and the opportunity to have an impact on the product through building ML powered features. (see Answer Bot, Content Cues, Satisfaction prediction)

    Cons

    Fast company growth can sometimes have it's challenges, but also brings opportunity

    Zendesk2019-08-28
  2. "Great Environment and growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Great office, Awesome people has a lot more potential than most people look in from the outside.

    Cons

    Growing pains when going Enterprise.

    Zendesk2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Poor Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Peers are nice people. * Compensation and benefits are above average.

    Cons

    Ineffective leadership There's many examples but I'll talk about our employee review process. Every 6 months we go through a self review which includes a pointless goals setting exercise. At the end of 6 months you check a box and that goes into a statistic and everyone gets to pat each other on the back for having x% completion of goals. What does it really accomplish? The stated purpose is to align the company. My manager and even his manager usually has no idea what we should be writing so there's a word vomit of random things that they're going to do. Do the goals actually align with the company? No one knows, because no one reads these. At best this is self-congratulatory, at worse, it's another symptom of the kind of things we do-- not because it's effective, but because it feels good.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-02-28
  4. "Good company to improve your big business experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, getting to big companies level of work and responsibilities

    Cons

    Hard to move up on the career ladder

    Zendesk2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Was a terrific place to work, now it's average at best."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice looking office - Wonderful co-workers - Interesting enough work if you land in the right team - You can make what you want of it. Work hard and you'll receive recognition, or you could coast and still get promoted eventually.

    Cons

    - Experience totally relies on your direct manager, a large percentage of which are not fully equiped for the job in the Melbourne Office. - They're just like any other company out to make lots and lots of money. They're willing to set aggressive deadlines and perform "conference driven development" to meet the markets expectations. - Beholden to 6 monthly (the one in the middle of the year see's far fewer people get promoted) promotion cycles. If you are out-performing your job title, don't expect to receive compensation for the extra work until the end of the year.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not all it's cracked up to be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues Social Events can be fun

    Cons

    Company and execs are only focussed on money, not the employee experience anymore Our Melbourne office used to be awesome, now it's a disaster zone HR Globally is a mess and we all feel it

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-10-20
  7. "Industry Applied Research Done Well"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and company culture. Interesting problems with tonnes of data. Continuous Learning both encouraged and funded.

    Cons

    High growth means it can be hard to keep up with everything

    Zendesk2019-08-28
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Product & People with a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    None that are relevant at the company today.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-08-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Data Scientist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing good to mention about this company.

    Cons

    Unethical and unprofessional people. Toxic environment.

    Zendesk2019-08-21
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Software Developer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love this company. Been with them a few years now and not thinking of going anywhere soon. They truly take care of you with all the food and lunches and events that go on constantly, I barely have time to work!

    Cons

    Sometimes I feel they underpay me, but I have to admit I didn't negotiate well when I started.

    Zendesk2019-01-12
Found 512 reviews