Zendesk Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Zendesk Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 431 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
356 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains that you get when a company grows as fast as they are, which is understandable(in 34 reviews)

  • "Neighborhood is very interesting to say the least(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Incredibly friendly and supportive work culture that makes you feel like family. - A suite of best-in-class solutions/platform that prospects and customers are constantly impressed by! - Great SPIFFS, on-going support and rewards - Realistic targets - Perks! - Awesome Melbourne Office

    Cons

    - Too much chocolate in the kitchen (need more healthy food!)

    Advice to Management

    - Keep it up

    Zendesk2018-11-29
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love this company. Been with them a few years now and not thinking of going anywhere soon. They truly take care of you with all the food and lunches and events that go on constantly, I barely have time to work!

    Cons

    Sometimes I feel they underpay me, but I have to admit I didn't negotiate well when I started.

    Zendesk2019-01-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Management Woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is good, local management at the office seem ok.

    Cons

    Not sure what management is doing other than moving chairs around. We recently had a number of internal reorganizations that seem to do little than to shift which VP a certain department reports to. There was also a botched work policy rollout that occurred a few weeks ago that even after revisions still seems like a bit of a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your reports. Don't come up with rando ideas that go nowhere.

    Zendesk2019-04-01
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The Melbourne based team is a great team to work with across many disciplines. Fun environment with lots of fun and games for all

    Cons

    Inevitability of becoming a sales operation in spite of our customers (mind you, there isn't much that can be done), heavy burden on Exec's to perform many roles

    Advice to Management

    Fix internal operating inefficiencies. Hire Account Managers. Having sales people nurturing customers is concerning.

    Zendesk2018-12-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Even after the honeymoon period, I'm more hooked than ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Development Manager, APAC in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people of Zendesk are everything. I get to work with a number of great people and teams in my home office in Melbourne, as well as around the world. Our people are curious and keen to learn and grow. This is why I truly love and see myself remaining indefinitely at Zendesk. The other stuff, like perks, conditions and environment are second to none, but these hold nothing against the quality of our people and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Note: the following statement is not really a con... I am in a highly specialised role, and a solo operator in my region, so whilst the traditional opportunities for progression may not be as plentiful as they would be in a huge conglomerate, I have numerous other opportunities. The wonderful trade-off is that I get to progress my career in an environment that encourages risk-taking and innovation. All that stuff...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're doing an awesome job. We're at one of the hardest points of organisational development, and we're talking about all the right things. It's a million times easier to make a 2/5 into a 3/5, than making a 4.4/5 into a 4.5/5. Stay connected to the people. Tell great stories. Keep being courageous. So...don't go changin'.

    Zendesk2018-05-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Dreams do come true!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Architect in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome people, products and customers... Supportive, fun culture and great offices... Socially responsible... Great pay and benefits... Loads of opportunities for career development...

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Zendesk2018-04-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "What an awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work with awesome people. I haven't come across any d*ckheads so far! Fantastic product that customers genuinely love. Really cool offices. Great pay and perks. You'll get to do volunteer work in the community. Fast growing company with lots of opportunity for career development.

    Cons

    You won't want to leave! Also, you'll need to exercise self control (or maybe exercise exercising) if you want to avoid putting on a few pounds from all the free snacks.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! It's so difficult to maintain the culture in high growth companies, but management seem to be doing a good job in that area.

    Zendesk2018-04-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    + very interesting projects (scale + technical) + market leader with nice product and plenty of room to grow + great culture, inclusive/diverse/fun

    Cons

    - not a startup therefore can move relatively slowly (very careful not to break things)

    Zendesk2018-02-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work in Melbourne!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Team Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Zendesk really looks after their employees - from an awesome culture club that puts on super fun events to an annual L&D allowance, you know their top priority is making you want to work here!

    Cons

    With HQ in SF an Fran, it can make it a bit hard to make changes.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example with volunteering and working from home.

    Zendesk2018-02-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A happy and progressive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture and people - Interesting, challenging work - Freedom to innovate

    Cons

    Diversity is a focus, but there is still a way to go

    Zendesk2017-12-19
Found 431 reviews