AGL Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AGL Energy Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AGL Energy CEO Brett Redman
Brett Redman
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management do not have industry knowledge and make bad decisions(in 8 reviews)

  • "preach about work life balance but don't live up to the promise(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Analysts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Friendly environment with colleagues willing to go out of their way to help! - Amazing work culture that includes flexibility - Scope to grow

    Cons

    - Nothing I can think of.

    AGL Energy2018-10-02
  2. "Enjoyed my time at AGL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great community spirit. There’s a lot of effort that goes into bringing people together at AGL. I loved being part of it.

    Cons

    Still very conservative. Not forward thinking. Decision making doesn’t happen, senior management aren’t empowering teams to make change and add value. There was a lot of fear when I worked there. I hear that it is better now. I also left as there was no career path or progression available.

    Advice to Management

    Empower teams to make decisions that will speed up value to customer.

    AGL Energy2019-06-06
  3. "A great company with a forward thinking culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Adaptive and open to change, from the top down. The push to embrace more smart, digital solutions to traditional issues is exciting.

    Cons

    As with all big companies, there are still a wealth of budget constraints and petty grievances between teams and departments. Sometimes the environment is too relaxed, leading people to favor procrastination over completing work.

    AGL Energy2019-06-03
  4. "Lots of fun on the spectrum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great perks - especially the high tech open work spaces.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape and decisions can take a while to make

    AGL Energy2019-05-13
  5. "Customer Service Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSO & Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional, engaging and flexible - encourages diversity

    Cons

    Job insecurity & high turn over of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication and transparency when facing redundancy.

    AGL Energy2019-04-17
  6. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company culture I've been exposed to!

    Cons

    Since the exchange of CEOs Michael Fraser to Andy V. employee engagement became less of a priority unfortunately

    Advice to Management

    Pause the continuous re-structures, you are losing great people.

    AGL Energy2019-04-01
  7. "Company values personal repot not your hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location close to station

    Cons

    Worst management. I’ve seen an analyst becoming manager and then senior manager by just having personal relations with senior bosses at Agl . She treated her own team like strangers . And good part she didn’t have any diggree just year 10 cirt to get managerial position.

    Advice to Management

    Create feedback system for magers and do act as per feedback

    AGL Energy2019-04-07
  8. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eastwood
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office facilities. You get a parking if your shift starts from 9:30am.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management. Team leaders and managers have no idea what they are doing. Very limited potential for career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Hire someone with proper degree and experience.

    AGL Energy2019-03-22
  9. "Data Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working Awesome culture to work in

    Cons

    Higher Management is a bit directionless Lots of funding for same work in different platforms creating redundancy

    AGL Energy2019-01-31
  10. "Great place to work with many opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved the variety of work; great people and a business that helped communities and those in need (just didn’t promote it!).

    Cons

    Controversial industry - there’s always someone unhappy with the energy market and thinks they could do it better.

    AGL Energy2018-11-22
Found 89 reviews