AGL Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AGL Energy Reviews

Updated 28 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AGL Energy CEO Brett Redman
Brett Redman
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making doesn’t happen, senior management aren’t empowering teams to make change and add value(in 9 reviews)

  • "preach about work life balance but don't live up to the promise(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the company culture

    Cons

    It can be stinky sometimes

    AGL Energy2019-07-24
  2. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    culture is improving, good benefits

    Cons

    continual restructures have had a negative impact on morale

    AGL Energy2019-07-29
  3. "So near, yet so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Services Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent building and facilities Convenient location

    Cons

    Can't stop reorganising People are disposable

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust and support your people Reorganise when there's a reason Don't make decisions about things you don't understand (see point 1)

    AGL Energy2019-07-02
  4. "Analytics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Contemporary Office Space, Future way of working

    Cons

    Red tape, over cooking business frameworks, over planning and poor execution

    AGL Energy2019-06-25
  5. "Enjoyed my time at AGL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great community spirit. There’s a lot of effort that goes into bringing people together at AGL. I loved being part of it.

    Cons

    Still very conservative. Not forward thinking. Decision making doesn’t happen, senior management aren’t empowering teams to make change and add value. There was a lot of fear when I worked there. I hear that it is better now. I also left as there was no career path or progression available.

    Advice to Management

    Empower teams to make decisions that will speed up value to customer.

    AGL Energy2019-06-06
  6. "A great company with a forward thinking culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Adaptive and open to change, from the top down. The push to embrace more smart, digital solutions to traditional issues is exciting.

    Cons

    As with all big companies, there are still a wealth of budget constraints and petty grievances between teams and departments. Sometimes the environment is too relaxed, leading people to favor procrastination over completing work.

    AGL Energy2019-06-03
  7. "Lots of fun on the spectrum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great perks - especially the high tech open work spaces.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape and decisions can take a while to make

    AGL Energy2019-05-13
  8. "Customer Service Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSO & Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional, engaging and flexible - encourages diversity

    Cons

    Job insecurity & high turn over of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication and transparency when facing redundancy.

    AGL Energy2019-04-17
  9. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company culture I've been exposed to!

    Cons

    Since the exchange of CEOs Michael Fraser to Andy V. employee engagement became less of a priority unfortunately

    Advice to Management

    Pause the continuous re-structures, you are losing great people.

    AGL Energy2019-04-01
  10. "Company values personal repot not your hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location close to station

    Cons

    Worst management. I’ve seen an analyst becoming manager and then senior manager by just having personal relations with senior bosses at Agl . She treated her own team like strangers . And good part she didn’t have any diggree just year 10 cirt to get managerial position.

    Advice to Management

    Create feedback system for magers and do act as per feedback

    AGL Energy2019-04-07
Found 93 reviews