AGL Energy Reviews

Updated 7 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AGL Energy CEO Brett Redman
Brett Redman
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making doesn’t happen, senior management aren’t empowering teams to make change and add value(in 10 reviews)

  • "Slow moving decision making overall(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent work environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Administrative Coordinator in Sydney

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Provided a supportive and challenging work environment. I found my work to be engaging with a supportive team.

    Cons

    I had to leave this role as it is in Australia, and I have moved back to Canada.

    AGL Energy2020-05-07
  2. "AGL is a great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Researcher in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life balance, pay, some interesting projects and great design team.

    Cons

    Politics, nepotism, positions being filled purely for quotas and managerial KPIs.

    Continue reading
    AGL Energy2020-03-25
  3. "A typical energy company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Scheduler/Planner in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable working hours, Good teammates

    Cons

    Inappropriate behaviour of a few managers

    AGL Energy2020-02-11
  4. "Unstructured, make your own opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, interesting projects, future looking company. Nice office in Melbourne or Sydney for the corporate staff.

    Cons

    Depending on the business unit the experience can be very unstructured. There is very little employee development programs or defined pathways to become more senior. Can be very siloed, as role definitions are loose so people protect their patch.

    Continue reading
    AGL Energy2020-01-06
  5. "Nice work environment but intense workload"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Pricing Consultant in Melbourne

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really nice team and manager. Lovely team culture

    Cons

    disorganised allocation of work restructure handled poorly caused significant stress for staff

    AGL Energy2020-01-07
  6. "Better than some contact centres but still not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Manager in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The pay is very reasonable, especially compared to other contact centre roles - Options for flexible working hours

    Cons

    - Opportunities for career advancement are based on who you know, not what you know - Big discrepancies in the benefits for contact centre staff vs other departments - Training and knowledge management is insufficient, although there has been a lot of noise about improving this lately

    AGL Energy2019-12-08
  7. "Better than most"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGL Energy

    Pros

    Progression is easy when your competent

    Cons

    Stress is high due to complaints and time constraints

    Continue reading
    AGL Energy2019-11-20
  8. "Poor management and culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good salary, location, staff amenities and flexible working hours (if your manager is open to it)

    Cons

    High levels of micro management in Marketing department and highly political environment Senior management unsupportive and unhelpful when dealing with difficulties junior members face Disorganised and slow to change Very poor staff culture

    Continue reading
    AGL Energy2019-12-26
  9. "Some good, some not so...."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Big Cheese in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big ideas and wonderfull intent

    Cons

    Limited ability to execute and zero accountability fro outcomes

    Continue reading
    AGL Energy2019-11-20
  10. "Great in theory, not in practice."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home is possible, pay is good

    Cons

    Processes are overly complicated. Delivering is impossible.

    AGL Energy2019-10-15
Found 108 reviews