ALDI Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ALDI Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3705 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
ALDI CEO Jason Hart
Jason Hart
921 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the hard work provided(in 463 reviews)

  • "great pay, Amazing benefits, intense training program(in 399 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment to be in

    Cons

    Large work load, very little career opportunities

    ALDI2019-07-30
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Operator in Derrimut
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ALDI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Straight forward job Pay’s decent amount when busy Great work life balance

    Cons

    Hours can fluctuate Weekend work affects your pay big time Not completely sustainable No finish time, finished when the job is done.

    Advice to Management

    Managers were good. Just new managers have to learn how long task would take to do realistically.

    ALDI2019-08-23
  3. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Management Trainee 

    I have been working at ALDI full-time

    Pros

    Pays well and steady growth

    Cons

    Workload is a lot, not for soft people

    ALDI2019-08-16
  4. "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at ALDI part-time

    Pros

    awesome place to work but

    Cons

    long hours without any breaks

    ALDI2019-08-15
  5. "Good Pay Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay Good progression in store

    Cons

    Little Autonomy Long Hours Early Starts Limited progression from store manager

    Advice to Management

    Better work Life balance to reduce burnout

    ALDI2019-08-23
  6. "Great pay but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager Trainee 

    I worked at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pay - Early starts - Keeps you fit

    Cons

    - Long hours - On your feet all day

    Advice to Management

    Great pay but you have to work hard for it. You need to be prepared to work on your feet all day.

    ALDI2019-08-05
  7. "Good pay if you are willing to work for it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Management Trainee 

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, free uniforms, free fruit at managers discretion. Store culture and happiness dependent on the store manager.

    Cons

    Very physically demanding, on your feet all the time expect whilst serving customers.

    Advice to Management

    Invest heavily in your staff and reap the rewards!

    ALDI2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I am a retail assistant at aldi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I have been working at ALDI part-time

    Pros

    helpful working environment, alot to learn

    Cons

    No cons. I love my work

    ALDI2019-07-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good if you want to work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI part-time

    Pros

    Management is understanding of needs. Hard work if you want it.

    Cons

    Same as any retail position, dealing with annoying customers. Big learning curve

    ALDI2019-07-22
  10. "Good company to work for if you are wanting career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALDI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Good pay *Alot of support from higher management - area managers and above *Team bonding *Days go very fast!

    Cons

    *physically demanding *alot of competition amongst assistant managers wanting to move to store management role *the region that I work in seems better than the other regions - there is definitely a push towards having good culture in store, staff happiness, roster fairness, work life balance etc. However this still comes down to store managers implenting these things and unfortunately there are still a few out there...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    *give positive feedback to staff where necessary, not just negative feedback

    ALDI2019-07-26
Found 3705 reviews