Amazon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Amazon Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35546 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
19990 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good & Challenging work environment(in 1462 reviews)

  • "You learn a lot; Fast paced; Low bureaucracy; High scale to deliver big things(in 1315 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 2837 reviews)

  • "Long hours of standing at workstation(in 1528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Challenging but fun work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    --You get to work with the best minds in the world. --Innovation Innovation Innovation --Good employee benefits and stock which is skyrocketing.

    Cons

    I never saw any negatives.If you are able to cope up with the environment and have a zeal to learn you will see any negatives as positives.

    Amazon2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You're surrounded by extremely intelligent and nice people that are the best in what they do. There is no ceiling... the company is growing so much that opportunities are everywhere, so its entirely on you to manage your career. Innovation driven company where ideas are encourage and management support training.

    Cons

    Nothing really. So far i can't see a single bad side of working here.

    Amazon2019-08-13
  3. "Great company to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great company to learn and grow - Easy to move internally to explore different opportunities - Lot of time and efforts spent on personal developments

    Cons

    - Cont. challenged on raising the bar/standards - Hard to move levels at certain levels

    Advice to Management

    - Empowerment and recognition goes long way

    Amazon2019-07-30
  4. "Amazing work environment for innovation, innovation and innovation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    # Great salary package + bonus incentives including stock # One of the few companies here where a meritocracy exists # Great mentors in the form of managers who really know what their doing

    Cons

    # Long hours can be infuriating if you don't like what your doing

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing because its a wonderful place to work.

    Amazon2019-07-26
  5. "Work hard, have fun, make history"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very autonomous, clear and real customer focus, little internal busy work.

    Cons

    Job can be overwhelming if you let it.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of the front-line customer facing roles as you grow.

    Amazon2019-07-24
  6. "Expect to work hard for great rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Product Management in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, challenges, impact and opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Long hours, salary below market

    Amazon2019-07-20
  7. "As expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    As expected I had a pretty good time

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Amazon2019-07-15
  8. "Data Centre Engineering Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - DCEO Chief Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities, growth, team environment, knowledge

    Cons

    hard work, not much else

    Amazon2019-07-14
  9. "Amazing company to work for, but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Strategy, Operations and Enablement in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great positive culture. Caring leaders and a lot of big hearted people. Get things done culture. Do the right thing for the customer culture. Impessive products

    Cons

    You work harder than at most other companies (but I love my work). You partly need to manage your work life balance (and people are receptive to it)

    Advice to Management

    Keep on focusing on the customer. Continue to simplify how we do things (2 pizza teams, Automation eyc)

    Amazon2019-07-01
  10. "Cloud Security Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Security Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment and benefits such as work life balance and compensation.

    Cons

    I couldn't find any negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep flexible towards the employees

    Amazon2019-06-27
Found 35546 reviews