Atlassian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Atlassian Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 386 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian CEO Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is whatever you want it to be(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great tech culture with smart people all around where I learnt a lot from(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Power center shifted to San Francisco even when head office is in Sydney(in 21 reviews)

  • "There are certainly growing pains because we're growing so fast(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Always Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, the opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Learning and growing pains of being a fast scaling business

    Atlassian2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Security Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Lovely colleagues. Smart, too! - Secondments to other teams and locales are available. - Remote work is available for non-managers. - Company is heavily involved in charitable, prosocial and environmental causes. As an employee, you can also get $1,000/year donation matching and spend 40 hours/year volunteering for a charity. - Work-life balance is pretty darn good; I can work later, earlier, or from home...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Open-plan offices make it harder to focus on technical work. Bring earplugs or over-ear headphones.

    Advice to Management

    It'd be nice if over-ear headphones could be requested from Workplace Tech.

    Atlassian2019-05-16
  3. "Love working here and love the company values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Low stress. Never had to do overtime. Well paid. Lots of hacks days to learn new things. Leave for volunteering in the community.

    Cons

    Hard to make an impact because the company is big and established.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of support load is generated because of bugs in the products. If we could fix them we could reduce support costs.

    Atlassian2019-05-11
  4. "I've learnt a lot of really cool things working for Atlassian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - ShipIt days and innovation weeks provide many opportunities to try out new things - Personal budget and time given for attending conferences and attending courses - Morally unambiguous business model

    Cons

    - Depending on which team you are in, even being a senior engineer can be too low to have any impact on architectural decisions or the choice of technologies used by your team

    Atlassian2019-04-29
  5. "Great place to work but has issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time

    Pros

    * Plenty of talent around * Good perks, one of the nicer paid jobs in Australia

    Cons

    * Hiring standards are seriously dropping * Management and leadership doing an average job. Contributions are questionable or harmful sometimes, for selfish reasons

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hiring bar high. Make sure your management are in it for the company and quality.

    Atlassian2019-05-12
  6. "The Curb Appealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Hacker in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, free food, market leader in Sydney

    Cons

    No matter how desperate you are for a job, or how annoyed you may be at your current gig, there are some companies you’re better off not working for. Atlassian is one of them. Even if the money is good, the role seems irresistible, and even your friends say it’s worth a shot, accepting a role at such company can set your career back and even jeopardize your future success. The High Turnover Outfit : things we watch...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of bureaucracy and political leaders. Watch out new leaders they are running the show as per their personal agenda at any cost. Though you filter feedback, pay attention and being another mediocre. Good luck

    Atlassian2019-05-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The best place I've worked so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks, atmosphere, the people, lots of opportunities to grow, the company values (they are not just for marketing purposes, people actually live/work by them, and it's awesome), incentives to charity work, etc.

    Cons

    It's such a big company that in the beginning, when you have to learn a lot of things and have a lot of information to consume, it feels like drinking from a fire hose sometimes.

    Atlassian2019-04-16
  8. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlassian full-time

    Pros

    One of the best tech companies I worked for. Highly intelligent developers, managers. Everyone is smart, and most of them are not arrogant at all, easily sharing knowledge.

    Cons

    A lot depends on a team where you are. I heard about picky and passive aggressive managers, but didn't work with any of them. Sometimes things are done very slowly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing great job!

    Atlassian2019-04-16
  9. "Excellent place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I work with extremely smart people from all over the world and the company is growing quickly. This is basically the perfect formula for a lot of learning, growth, and promotion.

    Cons

    Base salary isn't as high as some places. My stock is doing awesome though.

    Atlassian2019-04-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Beecroft, New South Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Encouraging environment Lots of learning opportunities Great culture with people from all different background.

    Cons

    Not like most other Australian companies, life in Atlassian is fast paced and busy. Things are changing everyday. Have to keep learning and improving to keep up.

    Atlassian2019-04-11
Found 386 reviews