Atlassian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Atlassian Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian Co-Founders Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
288 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Everything is dictated by management from Sydney or Mountain View(in 22 reviews)

  • "There are certainly growing pains because we're growing so fast(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SWE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I worked at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance and good leadership

    Cons

    No cons found in the time I've worked

    Atlassian2020-01-06
  2. "Good place to work, growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlassian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Company values Perks-perks-perks Work-life balance Cool offices

    Cons

    Loses its way Too many changes

    Atlassian2020-01-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The art of hypocrisy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good looking, you can fool ill informed people else where that you work in for a good company that promote nice value. An interesting example of today culture of the industry at large, worth a test.

    Cons

    You'll pay for the bad foods, the lazy and incompetent culture and all the lies in working for this company. By the time you quit, you might no longer feel like yourself. You might not event want to stay in the industry anymore. Not just because the technical illiteracy you saw but the lowest standard of morality in such a place and how it is pictured on the news.

    Advice to Management

    Do some work and be honest. All lies eventually due. What you you think the parasites lives on ?

    Atlassian2020-01-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks like free breakfast, lunch, drinks, t-shirts. Opportunity to work with very smart people which collaborate nicely most times. There is some budget for personal growth as well upon manager approval. Developers are empowered to innovate and deliver new features/ideas.

    Cons

    Very competitive environment and hard to grow.

    Atlassian2019-12-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SRE in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks and a lot of opportunities to learn and contribute

    Cons

    Projects are not very exciting Middle management is quite a pain to work with because of politics. Middle managers do not have management skills

    Atlassian2019-12-11
  6. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlassian full-time

    Pros

    Really fun place to work

    Cons

    Expanding at a crazy pace

    Atlassian2019-12-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Pessimistic turned optimistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Colleagues and management are friendly and supportive. * Great learning environment * No judgement

    Cons

    Sometimes there was feelings of imposter syndrome at times. I think the fact of not having a comp sci degree, and being surrounded by smart and passionate people mostly with degrees drives this negative thinking. It is only a matter of time before this will subside I assume.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Atlassian2019-11-11
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and productive work environment Great people Interesting technology Work on products that are used by lots of people Paid time off for charitable work

    Cons

    The company’s still growing fast, which is a good thing, but it also means things change all the time.

    Atlassian2019-11-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bogged down in process and rigidity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salaries Nice People Good Culture & Values (when they are applied) Ethical Company Good Products

    Cons

    I've heard from others that have been around longer that there has been a sharp change in culture from how it was in previous years. There seems to be a dedication to top-down decision making, very heavy and time-consuming processes that just waste time and effort, and a lot of unnecessary judgement thrown around when the activity of building software comes with many uncertainties and risks. Apparently it's not like this in some other parts of the company, but at least I feel I'm not able to do any good work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a long hard look at what you are doing and see if it's actually helping your employees or hindering them.

    Atlassian2019-11-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing scope to learn and make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -- No limit to learning. -- 20% time dedicated to your own favourite aspect of coding and innovation is insane! I one year I have had a chance to work across 2 different products apart from the one owned by my team. This has happened because of innovation weeks that we have every 5 weeks. Some really smart people to work with and a very healthy culture.

    Cons

    -- One has to be motivated to find things. Management will not always poke you. -- People at times over react by posting literally anything on the internal confluence, which is a knowledge management tool.

    Advice to Management

    I think as we grow it is very important to regulate the reaction of employees to everything. -- People should understand that shipping good quality and working code speaks louder then any blog. -- Communications that go inside the company are very open which is good but some people take it for granted and just burst out as if it were social media. There must be some kind of education for such individuals to understand behaviour in a professional setup. I love the company and I am extremely passionate about what I am doing. My only worry is that this open culture shouldn't become toxic.

    Show More
    Atlassian2019-10-31
Found 455 reviews