BI-LO Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BI-LO Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 483 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
BI-LO CEO Anthony Hucker (no image)
Anthony Hucker
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours that work for different schedules(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great People, fair salary & Delightful Customers(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay against having full time employment(in 26 reviews)

  • "Working holidays and no benefits but I was part time so that wasn't an option at the time(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Associate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BI-LO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady Hours and Predictable Schedule Friendly Co-workers Nice Managers

    Cons

    Understaffed Pay is lower than it should be

    BI-LO2019-09-14
  2. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSD Receiver in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BI-LO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, fast paced, good pay

    Cons

    Weather conditions determined if it would be cold or hot

    BI-LO2019-09-06
  3. "Great job for college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Cayce, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BI-LO part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get flexible hours which is great as a student. A discount at any location. Coworkers were great!

    Cons

    Work during hurricanes and snow storms Standing for a long period of time

    BI-LO2019-09-04
  4. "Not a bad first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in Simpsonville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BI-LO part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the day you are standing in air conditioning. The management is kind and helpful. Customers are generally very kind and patient. It’s overall an easy job.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty bad. If you are a bagger, getting carts in the 90+ degree weather is miserable. Employee discount is not great (5%).

    BI-LO2019-08-18
  5. "Loved the people I worked with.. corporate management not so much. Company on shaky ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BI-LO

    Pros

    Freedom in my 4 walls. Good DMs and support staff

    Cons

    Corp BS. Cutting hours constant closing of stores

    Advice to Management

    Be careful. They may not be around much longer

    BI-LO2019-08-06
  6. "pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bagger in Royston, GA

    I worked at BI-LO part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, great manger, good service

    Cons

    lots of working hours, customers are rude

    BI-LO2019-07-31
  7. "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BI-LO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and somewhat flexible hours Decent benefits Good customer base

    Cons

    Constantly cutting hours Too many chiefs Closing store regularly, they have gone from nearly 1000 stores to just over 500 in about 3 years. You WILL work every single holiday and almost every weekend. Holiday pay means your "normal hours" get cut by 8 hours. Health Insurance is cheaper through Obamacare

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like assets and not expenses

    BI-LO2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "You guys treat your workers horribly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BI-LO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have nothing nice to say about working here.

    Cons

    You give horrible health benefits, you pay so low and your stupid cross training system is a scam to get workers to do more for way less because you can't afford to pay your employees. You cut hours & constantly switch up people's shifts making it near impossible to plan ahead. I fractured my foot pushing buggy's for you guys and all you ever offered me was a $100 giftcard TO BILO that is absolutely horrible,... and you should be ashamed of yourselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect.

    BI-LO2019-08-25
  9. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BI-LO part-time

    Pros

    Day shift available and training provided with promotions

    Cons

    Pay raise evaluation took a while and one misunderstanding halted it all.

    Advice to Management

    Ask more questions that give the employee a chance to help you understand their actions .

    BI-LO2019-07-28
  10. "Bilo Brevard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Brevard, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BI-LO part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do offer benefits for full time employees (stockers and deli workers)

    Cons

    Poor management. When you request for days off it’s treated as a huge problem. Lowest paying job in Transylvania county.

    Advice to Management

    Raise your hourly pay.

    BI-LO2019-07-10
Found 483 reviews