Bankers Life Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Bankers Life Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1220 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bankers Life CEO Scott Goldberg
Scott Goldberg
451 Ratings
Pros
  • "GREAT TRAINING, an opportunity for those that want their own business(in 84 reviews)

  • "The best training program I've been through(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "100% commission requires effort(in 79 reviews)

  • "Cold calls for day with a "proven script" that doesn't work(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (79)

    "Changed my family's life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Paducah, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No one determines how much I'm worth or how much my time it worth. I earn what I put into the career. By far the most rewarding career I've ever been in and it keep getting better every year. The bonuses during the 1st year of the career are great while one get momentum, and the fact that bonuses are ongoing all year long, makes it even a better incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    Not sure if this is a "con". The fact that we are in commission only instead of salary or hourly pay makes it possible for us to get paid our full commissions! I've seen hourly wages in other companies, and it's a shame someone made $100 a day in hourly wages when they could have made hundreds more with the same effort and production if they were in commissions. If anyone is looking for a job where you can just milk...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide mentoring, resources and support to incoming and Senior agents. Without these, I wouldn't be here today. Good leaders are good listeners.

    Bankers Life2019-01-19
  2. "Grow your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in other insurance companies before and the difference the training this particular office does for their agents is something I haven't seen before. Yes, it takes hard work, but the rewards is life changing for a person. It is truly a family office, and everyone really does want everyone to succeed.

    Cons

    If you can't be self motivated and aren't driven this would be a challenging career.

    Bankers Life2019-08-15
  3. "It's on you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - USM/Financial Advisor in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited income potential Can be a 6-figure opportunity within 2-3 years with hard work Opportunity for growth into management Training programs are incredibly thorough Continual office promotions Fun office culture

    Cons

    It is entirely up to you (if you succeed its cause of you - if you fail it's cause of you) Initial ramp up time of 4 - 6 weeks to start truly succeeding.

    Advice to Management

    Be highly directive with new agents the first 2-3 months.

    Bankers Life2019-08-12
  4. "Great career opportunity that grows with you for self-motivated, hard working individuals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing time to start a career in this field as the market place is constantly expanding as is the opportunities. Ability to set your own schedule so you can decide what events in life are important for you to attend. Unlimited income potential. If you want to make more all you have to do is work more. No need to ask for more hours/overtime approval. This is why I enjoy a career that is 100% commission based....

    Show More

    Cons

    You must be self-motivated and hard working. You are becoming a small business owner as soon as you start. This would be the most frustrating career for those not able to control their time. Being able to set your schedule is a double-edged sword because if you choose not to work you don't get paid. Because agents are independent contractors they can't offer a group health insurance plan, but they do have a program...

    Show More
    Bankers Life2019-08-12
  5. "Great Company and Great people that are willing to help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life

    Pros

    The training is the best in the Industry. Great opportunity to be your own boss.

    Cons

    If your not self disciplined, and a hard worker you will struggle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the training coming..it’s critical to folks that are new to sales.

    Bankers Life2019-08-12
  6. "Goal oriented Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Owings Mills, MD
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great sales agent development approach: Banker's Life's training program offers new agents on hands training with senior agents and provides milestones to credit progress along the way.

    Cons

    Driving in Maryland is not safe (negative) but Agents that are on the road can do their part to drive responsibly (positive spin).

    Advice to Management

    Keep sharing your experiences and giving hope to new agents through your successes. It works!

    Bankers Life2019-08-09
  7. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Northern, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time

    Pros

    The ability to make uncapped commission.

    Cons

    Lack of structure, and training. There is no base pay. This is a swim or sink type situation. Unfortunately, most people sink.

    Bankers Life2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worked for me and my family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Omaha, NE

    I have been working at Bankers Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management, I have never had someone so dedicated to helping me, he has been amazing and wouldn't do this job without him. Team members keep me going and make me see the potential I have.

    Cons

    Some people might see the hours as a downside, I only see those as positive, harder, longer I work-uncapped earnings

    Advice to Management

    Thank you to Branch Manager for everything

    Bankers Life2019-07-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lots to consider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Agent 

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a great deal of training to help you succeed. The office culture is fun, energetic, and team oriented.

    Cons

    Lots of driving. Lots of $ out before lots of $ in. It take a great deal of time and effort to build your pipeline before you actually start making money.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and honest about the realities of starting in this business in the career briefings

    Bankers Life2019-08-07
  10. "Retention too high"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Memphis, TN

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Independent sales agent for life & health policies

    Cons

    Commission low, purchased own leads.

    Bankers Life2019-08-04
Found 1220 reviews