Blizzard Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Blizzard Entertainment Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 757 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Blizzard Entertainment CEO J. Allen Brack
J. Allen Brack
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Rent in Irvine can be high and options for a social scene can be limited compared to Los Angeles(in 52 reviews)

  • "Cost of living in the area is outrageous(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture and amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great team environment and amazing co-workers

    Cons

    none that i can think of atm

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-03-28
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible legacy of delivering epic entertainment Can feel like an extended family

    Cons

    As with all companies, growth has been challenging to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the people. Including those in remote regions.

    Blizzard Entertainment2018-11-26
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment

    Pros

    Really passionate staff, who are all friendly and easy to talk with. Some of the products are the best in the business and they care about the fans.

    Cons

    Seems like a small company pretending to be big (even though they are big). Really poor HR policies (were there any?). Quite shambolic when it came to managing international operations, seems to be every territory for itself which leads to some unhealthy fiefdoms. Depends on the management for your territory and can I only say I had the worst boss in my entire career there and didn't appear to be any recourse for... his actions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at your leaders performance and behave more like a professional company. Look beyond the game teams with regards to culture, it's a big organisation and not everyone is a developer. It takes massive support to launch and maintain the games but it seems only the game teams (maybe HQ staff) are looked after.

    Blizzard Entertainment2017-06-02
  4. "Good place to grow yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture Nice & kind people

    Cons

    Salary Take too much time on decision making

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your crew

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Benefits were also very good for me.

    Cons

    Didn't have a lot of room for growth.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Game Producer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They make some of the best games in the world with some of the most talented people in the world.

    Cons

    The development of games can take a long time. While most of this can be attributed to a commitment to a high quality game experience, things would be more efficient if our development methods were more modern and if employees got out of the mentality that we have unlimited budget and time to make things.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-08-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pet Friendly Onsite Gym Onsite yoga Strong sense of community Exciting game releases Beautiful campus Onsite cafeteria Onsite Starbucks

    Cons

    Salary is low for the area Lots of Politics Low morale

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-08-26
  8. "Been rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project/Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing. The product speaks for itself. Well done Dev Teams.

    Cons

    Company is going through a whole lotta churn.

    Advice to Management

    Get aligned quicker.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
  9. "A lot like playing a video game in that it is so fun and can be all-consuming if you let it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Product Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly creative and fun-loving co-workers Excellent benefits and amenities Working on the greatest games and IPs in the industry More emphasis on quality and doing what is right for players than profits Working on and at BlizzCon is incredible

    Cons

    Crunch times can be fun but also cause burnout Attention to detail can look like bureaucracy and unnecessary slowdowns in some cases, requiring extra effort as with any large company They seem to rarely fire the rare person who is chronically not meeting expectations, and then layoff a bunch of people at once Lots of people don't get paid super well compared to other companies or industries, though benefits were... pretty solid

    Show More
    Blizzard Entertainment2019-08-24
  10. "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Editor in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, love all the video gaming, possibilities to advance

    Cons

    Everyone is a contractor, no benefits, unbalanced environment, not diverse

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-04
Found 757 reviews