Bupa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find your next job here

Bupa Reviews

Updated 18 February 2018
46 reviews

Filter

Filter

Australia - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Bupa CEO Evelyn Bourke
Evelyn Bourke
13 Ratings

46 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • poor management style without concern for long term staff (in 15 reviews)

  • Senior management changes like the seasons (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Excellent ethical company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    support and encourage what they preach - longer, healthier, happier lives. great work life balance, supportive culture with intelligent and respectful people.

    Cons

    none to date as all is working well

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    Bupa Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Sending you a virtual HIGH 5 for this 5-star review. We want our people to feel happier and healthier for working with Bupa and it sound like we are a great fit for you.

    We are always... More


  2. "Has vision but execution is slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Melbourne
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    * Tech is quite modern
    * Work life balance is good specially if you have a supportive manager.
    * People you work with are generally nice.
    * Health insurance discount

    Cons

    * Too many middle managers and stakeholders for any decision making.
    * Seen so much waste of money on questionable projects, on consultants etc.
    * Cronyism is rife in IT. Perception not capability matters for promotion.
    * Trying to do too many and huge changes without fundamentals in place. Not even seats for people, new office already full.
    * Risk appetite is near 0 so innovation stand stills.
    * Talks agile but all in name only.
    * Piddly and token gift cards given to people doing 20-30 years in the company. Shamefull.

    Advice to Management

    It is no use comparing yourself to silicon valley companies if you don't actually put the lessons and money on the table. Compare and benchmark yourself to Australian companies and what they are doing for transformation. Some people I have seen work very hard from good of heart but not recongised that well.

    Bupa Response

    13 Feb 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Thank you for sharing.

    As a recent Bupa employee, understandably, we find elements of your feedback concerning and would like to reach out, to offer you with an opportunity to discuss... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Agile is not the answer for everything. Get skilled people first."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Full Stack Developer in Sydney
    Former Employee - Senior Full Stack Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bupa full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance. Good office location. Health insurance discount. Free coffees.

    Cons

    Bad culture in tech team. Everything is slow. Simple tasks may take a few weeks or even months. Lack of enthusiasm of technology.
    Poor leadership of the digital team. Talking big but act small.
    Careless and clueless about what people's skills are and lost some great people because of that.
    No real required tech/skills from the leadership, so a lot of times they will just bad decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Do not play company politics. Culture of the tech team needs to change. Agile is not the answer for everything. Hire the right people first.

    Bupa Response

    23 Jan 2018

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your feedback on your time with us as a Senior Full Stack Developer in Sydney. Understandably, we are rather concerned with the nature of your feedback and would like the... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Care manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great building facilities, proximity to home

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of organisational support, bullying, lack of support

    Bupa Response

    13 Feb 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    As a recent Bupa employee, understandably, we find the serious nature of your feedback concerning and would like to reach out, to offer you with an opportunity to discuss and provide... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Loved my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Care Worker in Adelaide
    Former Employee - Personal Care Worker in Adelaide

    I worked at Bupa full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Chances of overtime, some really good staff, was fun being able to dress up for Halloween, Easter etc. Residents loved it and had a laugh at us.

    Cons

    Bullying, very bad GM's, rewards bullying with promotions, expecting staff to do the work of two people resulting in a lot of staff injuries. Good staff are pushed out and not so good staff get treated well. Abuse of residents at times as well with nothing being done by management .

    Advice to Management

    So much advice, too little space. Get rid of the bullies and bad staff (including GM's), hold on to the good ones. Treat staff well and they will be happy to be there without stress and threats. Put residents first before money. Where i use to work needs so many things changed to make it a better place. I would love to work there again too if given the opportunity, loved the residents and my job, apart from the stuff that drove me out. It could be such a great place for residents too, instead of them just staring at walls. If only someone would just listen.

    Bupa Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your feedback. I can see that you are an ex PCA staff member, from Adelaide with over 5 years of Bupa experience. Understandably, we are rather concerned with the nature of... More


  7. "Finally found a company with work/life balance that cares for its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Partner in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Resourcing Partner in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Really friendly, open, supportive environment
    *Practices what it preaches, focused on employee's health & wellbeing with various wellness initiatives available
    *A true work/life balance with flexible work hours and work from home
    *Plenty of growth opportunities throughout the business

    Cons

    *Salaries are fair but could be more competitive, however the positive work culture helps make up for that

    Bupa Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Thanks for making our day with this excellent 5-star review. We want our people to feel happier and healthier for working with Bupa and it sound like this is a great fit for you. We... More


  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Rare to come across an employer that places great emphasis on work life balance
    - Supportive management.
    - Opportunity for growth
    - Genuine team who collectively want to make a difference

    Cons

    - Salary not comparative in market
    - Performance Review Bonus is hard to get in front line positions.
    - Unequal spread of workload amongst team, not reimbursed for difference in load.

    Advice to Management

    - Continue to breed aearning culture through coaching and training
    - Encourage work life balance across all streams at Bupa. Some departments seem to get it whilst some departments are still quite old school around working styles/flexibility
    - Ensure pay is comparative to external market and work loads.

    Bupa Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    We appreciate this terrific review and also, appreciate the detail you have gone in to. Our people (and customers!) are at the centre of everything we do. Work life balance is incredibly... More


  9. "Old Style Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Talk about all the great things that they are developing

    Cons

    Still waiting for them to action them

    Bupa Response

    19 Nov 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your feedback. I can see that you are a current employee in our Melbourne Customer Service team. Current employee insights are invaluable. We would like to invite you to... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Call centre worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Melbourne
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The training in 2016 was extensive and in-depth.
    Rotating roster
    Good pay rate

    Cons

    Breach staff privacy
    Unsupportive and discriminative management.
    Agressive HR staff
    The centres atmosphere now creates an unwelcome workspace for staff

    Advice to Management

    Need a more honest and open attitude instead of discriminating staff with medical issues. When issuess have been raised, need to follow through correctly and accordingly to resolve those issues

    Bupa Response

    8 Nov 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    Understandably, we find the serious nature of your feedback concerning and would like to reach out, to offer you with an opportunity to discuss and provide more information.

    Can you... More


  11. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible corporate culture and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Brisbane
    Former Employee - Administrator in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Health insurance discount
    Free coffee at some sites
    Work from home available
    Reasonable wage with perks

    Cons

    Horrible management and HR processes
    Managers are able to bully employees with little reprisal
    All HR conflicts are kept confidential, so offenders can prosper and move up without recieving any real consequences
    Forced positivity at all times, inability to acknowledge accept project failures
    Expectation that if you aren't constantly participating in team activities (inside and outside of work hours)or question anything that you aren't a good employee and don't care about your team

    Advice to Management

    This is a toxic culture that needs to be addressed. As it is now employees face abuse alone and have learned not to try to report or change things - even if they are wrong and wasteful or bad for employees. The culture is clearly a "YES" men and women only. It's openly acknowledged among employees that managers have made people cry and quit, people have quit just to escape abuse from managers, when the abuser only faces "re-education on procedures". Everything is always glossed over and everyone is expected to always be "passionate, excited and happy" to work at Bupa. While management egos are allowed to run rampant, creating money and time wasting projects to advance their careers, while pressuring employees to complete them and ensuring the blame rests with employees if there are failures.
    It wasn't this way a few years ago, the shift has happened in the last two years as management has become extremely top heavy, sometimes 4 managers for a team - some with vague titles and difficult to pin down responsibilities.
    Employees who do the work and may not be interested in promotion but happy where they are, are considered strange and abohorrent for not wanting to advance somehow. There is only respect for ambition, very little respect for those who do the hard, sometimes very tedious work day in and day out while they are forced to also spend time accounting for every single minute of their day in a tracker. These are just some of the issues, and once again, this is a more recent deterioration over the last two years, hopefully it will change but in the meantime, if you still want to work in the corporate world, try applying with another company.

    Bupa Response

    24 Sep 2017 – Resourcing Partner

    Hi there,

    We can see that you are an ex Bupa employee, with 3 years of experience and understandably, we are very interested to learn more about your feedback.

    We find the serious nature of... More


Showing 279 of 449 reviews
Reset Filters