Clayton Utz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Clayton Utz Reviews

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer Second in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Utz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CU has a great down to earth culture

    Cons

    Nil cons for working here

    Clayton Utz2019-10-25
  2. "Casual Paralegal FTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clayton Utz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - inclusive and great company culture, management and colleagues - there's opportunities to take more responsibilities and tasks

    Cons

    - document review might be repetitive at times

    Clayton Utz2019-09-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Utz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, great work, beautiful office

    Cons

    Hours can be a bit long

    Clayton Utz2019-06-04
  4. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Clayton Utz part-time

    Pros

    Great staff and training. Friendly environment

    Cons

    Support Staff can feel undervalued

    Clayton Utz2019-03-24
  5. "FTS Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Utz part-time

    Pros

    - Excellent flexibility and care provided by legal support staff - Listening and empathetic managers who have your back - Wide experience, with independence and trust placed in those who work here. - Fantastic quality of peers, always respectful and kind - excellent culture. - Exceptional access to education; managers always willing to allow you to develop and further your legal skills with access to CLEs

    Cons

    - Long hours and sometimes inadequate alternative coverage for those times due to specialization and concentration of technical and legal skill in respect to a given matter. - The usual course of career progression, the FTS Analyst role, seems to be designed to avoid paying necessary overtime to the full-time staff. It is my understanding that billable hours exceed the scheduled hours (a 7.5 hour billables target cannot be met working 9-5 weekdays with an hour's lunchbreak). This is my opinion however! Others may be okay with this arrangement!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above - little appetite to progress within the firm as you sacrifice work-life balance without what I would consider fair remuneration. Continue to offer CLEs to paralegals - we greatly appreciate it

    Clayton Utz2018-12-05
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Utz full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good culture & salary

    Cons

    can be a very intense environment to look at, looks of hierarchy amongst lawyers

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing

    Clayton Utz2018-12-03
  7. "Amazing events!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Utz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, work culture and events were very good.

    Cons

    Some Partners have no idea about how the real world works.

    Clayton Utz2018-10-14
  8. "Don't do it to yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Clayton Utz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laywers have offices and the building is lovely

    Cons

    Ridiculous hours, terrible bullying culture.

    Clayton Utz2018-07-30
  9. "Data analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Utz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, lot of paralegals and good drinks

    Cons

    High pressure environment, and selfish/competitive

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication

    Clayton Utz2018-06-30
  10. "Good work,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Clayton Utz part-time

    Pros

    Great work, expert partners, mostly terrific support staff

    Cons

    Long hours, negative cultural issues in some teams, very limited scope for advancement beyond sa level, very inconsistent performance expectations across teams

    Clayton Utz2018-05-02
Found 20 reviews