EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1795 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
603 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 144 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 94 reviews)

  • "Low salary especially in city like shanghai(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people at EF are fantastic! All of us are passionate and our services make a difference in the world. Some good opportunities to grow within a global company.

    Cons

    The salaries are not to market level. Staff at all level are under-paid. Some perks and incentives make up for it.

    EF Education First2019-03-24

    EF Education First Response

    March 27, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this feedback – and for your 10+ years working at EF! Just incredible. We’re proud of our robust and incredibly affordable healthcare benefits, generous vacation and leave policies and unique perks like free exercises classes (offered twice daily), free language classes ...

    Show More
  2. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fast Growth. Classdojo is the best choice for student management. Good Job!

    Cons

    sometimes overworked and low paid.

    EF Education First2019-05-06
  3. "No thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, international trips and you get to work with people from all over the world

    Cons

    Not an interesting product to work for, there is no innovation. Creativity is poorly received. Alot of suits with marketing degrees who resist change, who will only approve very banal copy. You will spend a lot of time in frustrating meetings. It's a big, wealthy company but it's stuck in the past.

    Advice to Management

    Outsource your creative.

    EF Education First2019-01-21

    EF Education First Response

    January 29, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. We hire, train and assess our staff on certain values that EF cherishes – including Innovation, Entrepreneurial Spirit and Nothing is Impossible – so I hate to hear that your experience on your team has not been consistent with these Core Values. I’d ...

    Show More
  4. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well resourced, great supportive management, knowledgeable staff, great materials, fun student activities, great academic team

    Cons

    timetable can be a little too irregular.

    Advice to Management

    consider teachers' out of school requirements when timetabling a little more

    EF Education First2018-11-04
  5. "Exploiting a bad Australian economy?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Homestay Family to Other Organisations 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    The student might be lucky.

    Cons

    Given the appalling amount paid to homestay families, a student may find themselves living in less than acceptable conditions

    Advice to Management

    Pay appropriately to ensure good care and conditions for students. The rate paid to homestay families feels like exploitation of a bad economy and Australian families doing it hard!!

    EF Education First2018-10-02
  6. "Teaching assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Inspiring and motivating working atmosphere

    Cons

    sometimes relatively lack of coordination between colleagues

    EF Education First2017-06-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Things you don't know from the outside if you're a new teacher."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English As A Second Language Teacher in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    The staff were very friendly and always helpful; that included the more experienced teachers and the admin. Its a great place to get experience and understanding in how EL schools operate. There was a lot of resources at the college outside of their own material such as mainstream course books. The work culture is fun and social, there is usually a good vibe among employees and admin staff alike.

    Cons

    Firstly I just want to note that my experience was largely impacted by me being a new ELT; more experienced teachers working there said they did not spend nearly as long as me planning, however many still looked stressed and were frequently rushing about. You will work a lot more hours that you are paid for, especially if you are a new teacher; and no, you will not be compensated for this. You are paid an... extra half hour, per hour that you work to allow for lesson planning; however if you are new to the company, a lot of time will be spent getting to know their policies and procedures and you have to learn as you go because there is only a half day training offered. If you also happen to be new at teaching, then you can add many more unpaid hours to you're schedule. The school has ample opportunities for students to give feedback so you will work extra hours making sure you're lessons will be up to scratch so the students in you're class don't complain about you and get you cautioned or perhaps eventually fired. I was working some weeks almost double the hours I was being paid for, although I did this not to avoid complaining students but out of a sense of responsibility to provide them adequate lessons which most of the time took many more hours that I was being paid for. You will also have to do admin work that you are not paid for, after a while you can find tricks to get some admin done on class time while the students are busy. You will need to have high energy and not be planning to have much of a life at all outside this job during the initial first weeks. After about the 4 week mark myself and a lot of other new teachers were noticing that the extra hours we had been putting in during the first few weeks were coming down as we got the hang of things. Eventually you can also reuse materials if you are around long enough.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ATTN: Advice to the owners, not management; management were fantastic. Either increase the hourly rate or pay staff for more than a half hour per hour for planning. The staff there work really hard and deserve more than what they are getting. This will lead to better conditions for the students also as they won't have tired, stressed teachers who have rushed to finish planning lessons. The free food and snacks... provided at various times was appreciated although I do not know who's pocket it came from. More than a half day training would be useful or extra paid hours for the first few weeks for training.

    Show More
    EF Education First2017-03-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "High Employer Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Frequent parties, decent colleagues and great building in Sydney.

    Cons

    Poor pay, politics in office, colleagues have poor impression of management. Too profit focused.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your employees for longer, provide more training, pay more than just minimum wage. Keep promises and be aware of employees trying to create negativity.

    EF Education First2016-04-01
  9. "Middle of the road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EF English Teacher in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location teaching was very close to the opera house,easy to follow teaching material,upper management were nice

    Cons

    Poor pay I was getting $17.50 an hour that's minimum wage in oz and not enough for the job.The discription states degree educated with experience teachibg abroad those qualities alone demand a higher rate.the students were housed in Campbell town which is a bad area and too far for them and us to travel to and from.some of my students had complaints about the host families not feeding them correctly not making an... effort with them etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay the teachers more than minimum wage encourage families from wealthier closer areas to take part in the exchange program, having the kids travel an hour everyday to get to class or go sightseeing is too much.Keep a track of how host families are looking after the children I heard children being told they could only have 3min showers during winter,being given the same thing everyday for lunch homemade cheap... sandwiches,being told they couldn't use the Internet because it's expensive and sharing rooms with the host families children.im pretty sure this wasnt something that was what their parents expected they were sending their children to.

    Show More
    EF Education First2015-01-08
  10. "heaps of fun. little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, family feeling. opportunity to grow if willing to move abroad

    Cons

    low salary and no room for negotiation

    EF Education First2014-04-30
Found 1795 reviews