EY Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

EY Reviews

Updated 25 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24485 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
EY CEO Mark Weinberger
Mark Weinberger
7978 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great undergraduate work experience opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cadet in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EY for more than a year

    Pros

    -Extensive support network -Friendly coworkers -Well-established cadet program

    Cons

    -Busy season can be tough -Can be challenging for the first six months -Need to manage stress

    EY2019-08-19
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social events and culture, interesting work, great office location, travel opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of management structure, intermittent pipeline means skills aren't developed as quickly as others

    Advice to Management

    Hire more middle managers to train the juniors

    EY2019-08-23
  3. "Great culture and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture, personality and skills of my colleagues make them a pleasure to work alongside. I enjoy learning and the ability to find new opportunities in this consulting environment.

    Cons

    Engagements and client-facing work can be stressful, and sometimes the opportunities you are provided may not be the ones you are seeking - it's important to direct your own career journey and seek out what you want and who can help you get there.

    EY2019-08-22
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PAS Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good career paths Great people to work with

    Cons

    Limited Work life balance Low pay

    EY2019-08-21
  5. "Good culture at the junior levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture Flexible work arrangements Learning opportunities

    Cons

    Pay Bonuses Work life balance is non existent

    EY2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, mixed projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Came across some very capable, intelligent and motivated individuals who made my stay at EY enjoyable

    Cons

    Project work can be mixed - The interesting projects tend to be few and far between. You can be stuck on a long term project for extended periods of time.

    Advice to Management

    Paying market rates for seniors will improve retention

    EY2019-08-14
  7. "Good team,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Analyst 

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very flexible with hours , work from home given every week

    Cons

    slow promotions , no scope for growth

    EY2019-08-14
  8. "Lots to learn, decent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY

    Pros

    Good culture - most people great to work with The hours aren’t as bad as I thought they’d be Lots of opportunities if you know where to look

    Cons

    Hierarchical- but hey, what do you expect with a partnership Matrix structures are inefficient Too many silos Too outcomes focused Short term

    Advice to Management

    People need more varied KPIs. Let’s face it, experts should be incentivised and rewarded for beating on their craft. The fact that Senior Managers / Directors have sales targets when they couldn’t sell water to a man dying of thirst, creates unnecessary competition and inefficiency. The whole service line running the show thing needs to die a swift death too. Two words: cottage industries

    EY2019-08-09
  9. "Good Career Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    EY invest a lot in building your soft skills which are invaluable. You also get a wide breadth of experience across clients and industries

    Cons

    Work you to the bone which is tolerable while you’re young. As you progress upwards you have to be more sales focused, and the partnership model sucks for everyone that is not a partner!

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the archaic salary structure/ partnership model, and get in touch with reality in regards to what people are worth. There’s a reason turnover rates are so high in Australia - because you pay peanuts compared to roles in industry

    EY2019-08-08
  10. "Most flexible work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EY has an incredibly flexible work culture. I was able to work from home most days when I felt under the weather. They truly cared about your well-being.

    Cons

    The remuneration can be improved.

    EY2019-08-07
Found 24485 reviews