Emerson Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Emerson Chairman and CEO David N. Farr
David N. Farr
1,016 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Leader in Oil and Gas Industry"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Superior product and good team culture.

    Cons

    Collaboration between business units can be a challenge. large dependency on oil and gas sector

    Emerson2017-07-11
  2. "It was a great company when it was Tyco."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great employees , friendships and quality products

    Cons

    poor management direction and honesty with staff, forgotten about the customers who pay our wages.

    Continue reading
    Emerson2020-01-21
  3. "Decent Workplace"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative work culture and modern workplace

    Cons

    Management is too conservative and HR processes are slow

    Emerson2019-11-21
  4. "Good career advancement if you are willing to push yourself and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Unit Director 

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large multinational organisation, exposure to global management styles and concepts Put a focus on talent development If you are identified as talented they will actively try and give you challenging assignments to grow

    Cons

    Pay is not as good as other peer companies Can sometimes be a bit "siloed" between business units and departments Disparate systems and poor inter-connectivity increases bureaucracy and slows down efficiency

    Emerson2019-08-29
  5. "Ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect 

    I worked at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great products and cutting edge innovation

    Cons

    Difficult and rigid culture and management

    Emerson2019-07-02
  6. "Software Developer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time

    Pros

    Good company processes, solid business, innovative projects.

    Cons

    Its a big company so expect a lot of red tapes.

    Emerson2019-03-15
  7. "Emerson"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Sydney

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work is pretty interesting

    Cons

    Management often overwork their engineers

    Emerson2018-06-02
  8. "Good company but not the best, HR and upper management are out of touch"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture is very open. Promotes ethical standards. Products and Services are one the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Human Resource Dept and upper management are out of touch. No idea on the needs and frustrations of their regular employees who are in the front lines.

    Continue reading
    Emerson2018-01-28
  9. "electrical engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time

    Pros

    nice environment flexible working time

    Cons

    salary not competitive among the industry

    Continue reading
    Emerson2017-08-17
  10. "HR"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time

    Pros

    Great Company Culture, employees are valued. Managers have regular management skill training so that you don't see unprofessional behavior.

    Cons

    IT systems are behind, which affects the efficiency of work. Not so sure about the outsourcing, it seems cost more than onshore.

    Continue reading
    Emerson2017-01-27
Found 2781 reviews