GE Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

GE Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
306 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company and people; turbulent business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Director in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people you work with are brilliant and highly qualified. There's so many true leaders amongst you - Culture treats everyone like adults; work from home/anywhere all you want; expenses are simple, leave is auto-approved and encouraged by policies. - Travel domestic/internationally for work and training - Great salary and benefits - Dynamic and exciting workplace - Leading edge technology - Brand opens... doors - Ethical values and protection of whistle-blowers/compliance concerns - proud to represent the band. - Opportunity to create the role you want it to be and wear many hats.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Slow to respond to market demands and change offering - High pressure - quarter to quarter no matter what role you're in; hard to focus on strategic outcomes. - Risk-adverse and inflexible to everything. If it's not standard, GE says no until pushed to the brink of losing sales (and ends up losing). - Insecure employment; always on the cusp of being sold off, closed down or redundant. - Always bare-bones on... human resources.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I've shared this with my leaders before but GE needs to be much faster and more flexible with products, legal and finance solutions. GE is getting worked by competitors willing to create solutions for customers to get the deal done. GE allows lawyers and finance to determine sales outcomes.

    GE2019-07-20
  2. "Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Communications Manager in Sydney

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong culture of leadership and meritocracy

    Cons

    Local business impacted by global developments

    GE2019-10-01

    GE Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

  3. "Learnt a lot; Great boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to lead and grow

    Cons

    Ruthless when it comes to removing non performing staff but this is to be expected

    GE2019-10-10

    GE Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

  4. "Great culture and genuine inclusion and diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to stretch are always there for those who work hard. True meritocracy. Culture second to none. Genuinely a gender inclusive employer.

    Cons

    Salaries are often not competitive

    GE2019-08-31

    GE Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for sharing. We're always working on ways to improve and appreciate your feedback.

  5. "average salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Business Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travelling opportunities and access t some great learning tools

    Cons

    Management, team leaders and peer structure

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff's need and adapt accordingly

    GE2019-08-09
  6. "Casual and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Engineer 

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy, good pay, work from home, supportive

    Cons

    Slow moving. Too many procedures

    GE2019-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "GE culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Director 

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Many Innovative products and services.

    Cons

    Politics is completely out of control

    Advice to Management

    Management are well aware of the above

    GE2019-07-02

    GE Response

    July 18, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

  8. "Opportunity to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    High Standards, learning opportunities and world class resources

    Cons

    lack of community and team environments

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people aspect of leadership

    GE2019-05-16

    GE Response

    May 23, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thanks for your positive assessment!

  9. "Field service eng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible working hours

    Cons

    limited yearly basic salary increment

    GE2019-03-10

    GE Response

    March 11, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We're always working to improve and appreciate your comments.

  10. "Decent work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Exposure to multiculture.

    Cons

    Uncertainty with future of the company. Too many restructuring.

    Advice to Management

    Na

    GE2018-09-12

    GE Response

    October 10, 2018

    We're going through a time of significant change so we appreciate your patience as we work through it.

Found 9597 reviews
</>Embed