Grill'd Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Grill'd Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Grill'd CEO Adam Stapleton (no image)
Adam Stapleton
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Get a free burger or meal under(in 38 reviews)

  • "15 but only if you work 5 hours(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "no penalty rates are offered, sad because you often close till 12am)(in 46 reviews)

  • "No penalty rates on public holidays (if you are closing the store,(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Grill'd part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, friendly customers and amazing food!

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great and sometimes other staff were lazy

    Grill'd2019-09-18
  2. "Good vibes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Grill'd part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people who are nice and friendly to work with

    Cons

    Pay is not very good

    Grill'd2019-11-09
  3. "Team member <3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Team Member in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grill'd part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food (after five hours) - 50% discount - Relaxed environment

    Cons

    When working in this job you are overworked and underpaid. I personally go to school. I am 17 in year 11 and I typically work 25 - 35 hour weeks. I am paid $11.50/per hour. When joining the company you are not offered but automatically signed up to a cert, that no one tells you about. It is a cert three in hospiltality. This means they are able to pay you less... Once i finish my training (that you basically get no... support through) i will be paid something around $16/per hour. One of my co-workers that is 23 has finished his cert and is paid $21.75/per hour. Hopefully that gives you a better idea of the pay. Pay isn't everything though!! The job is decently cruisey with a few complaints here and there, meaning yes you will get quite a few unhappy and sassy customers that you would love to just roundhouse kick in the face but it is important to compose yourself and get them what they want (bEcaUSE tHE CuSTOmeR iS AlLwAYs RIgHt!!). Tip for anyone that works there currently, cook zuchinni chips for longer (customers will enjoy them more when the outside is properly cruchie) & well when it comes to sweet potato there's no saving them ahahah. Anyway sorry for ranting.

    Show More
    Grill'd2019-11-06
  4. "Tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grill'd part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People, freedom to work towards restaurant goals

    Cons

    Support office is not supporting. Disconnect between Melbourne office.

    Grill'd2019-11-05
  5. "Great for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Grill'd part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good atmosphere and people to work with. you become really close with your work mates

    Cons

    the income is not great because you're considered a trainee until you've finished your certificate

    Advice to Management

    ensuring that all staff get trained the same

    Grill'd2019-11-05
  6. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Grill'd part-time

    Pros

    You make great friends who you bond with, training support, lets you get your RSA and cert 3

    Cons

    management can be a bit out of touch sometimes, pay can be a bit low if you are still an apprentice.

    Grill'd2019-10-23
  7. "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grill'd full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good growth within your management skills, always something new to learn.

    Cons

    No communication, pay was not worth it for the amount of stress and work you put into the job.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your management team and general staff more. Start looking after your people and pay them what they deserve.

    Grill'd2019-11-04
  8. "hard work with few benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grill'd part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large team, can get shift covers relatively easily Flexible hours, able to roster off certain days easily Variety of different things to do at work, not bored

    Cons

    THE WORK IS SO HARD it's so physically exhausting especially closes. You have to be constantly working which I understand is normal but you often can't rest for even a minute. You have to pick up the slack when you become good at your job because the managers will rely on you to do the work of what should be 2-3 people. For some reason Grill'd attracts the most toxic people and there is constantly... gossip/drama NO PENALTY RATES EVER THE PAY IS EXTREMELY LOW The managers take their job SO seriously and it's excessive, they expect you to put Grill'd ahead of everything else and are not understanding when you have study commitments/other things going on They are very reluctant to even give you the minimum breaks that you are entitled to, and often don't even mention that you're allowed a ten minute break on shifts that are over 4 hours, plus that you're allowed two breaks on long shifts (I've never received more than one break) Many of the male managers have been accused of sexual misconduct, I'm not sure if this is just gossip or if it's true but I wouldn't be surprised if it were real so just be careful Constantly understaffed, and if even one person calls in sick it makes the shift horrible and you have to pick up the slack

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that the work is tough and that people have lives outside of Grill'd. Also don't treat your employees like they don't matter because that's when they'll stop caring. Also pay us more and give us proper breaks, we deserve it.

    Grill'd2019-11-03
  9. "alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grill'd part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GREAT people, great environment. I could look forward to talking to my coworkers. Great vibe. Management seemed to care about their workers- they had a system of "you done good" cards that we could give coworkers or our managers could give to us that were a pretty good motivator. They encouraged us to have a healthy working environment. My manager was pretty great, and the area manager knew me by name. Good first... time job for a few months to get experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    It isn't an easy job, i'd get home at 1:30am many nights completely filthy from washing dishes. Horrible pay. I would work late and not be sure if I was paid overtime. No public holiday / sunday etc pay. (No penalty rates) Some gross conditions, inside the store was pretty ok but there was rats when I took the bins out. Constant revolving door of team members, it isn't really a long term job. I was supposed to... get an RSA, took the course but never received it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people minimum wage at the very least.

    Grill'd2019-10-17
  10. "Flexible but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Biggera Waters
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grill'd part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours are super flexible, you work with them to get eat your certificate III in hospitality for free, you have the chance to grow and work your way up the company.

    Cons

    Super stressful environment most shifts. The team leaders were often rude and many started relations with other co workers, most dramatic place I’ve ever worked, left due to the stress being overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    The team leaders need to learn to be more understanding and to just calm down a bit. They’re meant to be the ones making sure everything is running smoothly, when more often than not they’re the reason everyone is panicked and stressed. They’ll yell at you in front of a full house of customers without a second thought, they just cared about their own inconveniences.

    Grill'd2019-09-30
Found 209 reviews