Idaho Power Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 75 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Idaho Power President and CEO Darrel T. Anderson (no image)
Darrel T. Anderson
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good Pay and Benefits, most departments are great to work for(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Downtown traffic and parking is sometimes a headache(in 3 reviews)

  • "Heavily regulated, so a lot of paperwork and extra effort to get things done without putting company at risk(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Golden handcuffs

      Jul 30, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Good pay Excellent retirement Some of the people are great We get to work from home at the moment

      Cons

      Idaho Power claims to care about their employees but we're all drowning in heavy phone calls. People are in awful situations and we hear about it back to back all day, one old person told me they were going to off themselves because they can't afford to live in the area anymore off of ssi and can't afford to move. That's the heaviness we hear and have for a year and a half now and no one cared enough to do anything about it until the union was brought up; still nothing has actually happened to help the situation, we were just asked about what they can do and no promises were made. More than likely nothing will happen and if it does, it'll be months from now but we're all just burnt out and I'm unsure how long any of us can continue. Idaho Power doesn't know how to manage their call volume and even though customers get so mad that they wait on hold for 30 minutes to make a payment, they still haven't hired outside of the normal hiring rounds. This job is just killing everyone's mental health and no one cares. It used to be different. For a company that claims to actually care about safety and their employees, it seems like a lot of talk anymore. Also its hard to promote because of the average tenure there is 15 years it seems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best Company I've Worked For

      Apr 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees are great, feels more connected than other companies I've worked for, I truly believe leadership cares for employees, the company offers amazing benefits, time off, and decent wages for the region, high employment stability, low turnover, and very fair from a management standpoint. I believe if you are willing to step up, engage, and work hard - there is a lot of opportunity to grow. As a whole the company responds really well to employees' concerns and I feel the leadership/executive team is willing to adjust and take feedback on improvement. Couldn't ask for a better place to have a career.

      Cons

      Some employees can skate by on low level performance because the company is so fair in trying to coach and develop. Heavy regulations can make it more difficult to move quickly and sometimes there is a disconnect between upper executive management and the rest of the business. Could be more vertically structured rather than so horizontally structured. But really, in general management, communication, employee responsiveness etc. is the best I've witnessed in my time at multiple different organizations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Records Management Specialist

      Feb 16, 2021 - Records Management Specialist in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable job, great managers, opportunities within the company arise from time to time.

      Cons

      Difficult to move up in the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 5, 2021 - Dispatcher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room to advance and move up

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I liked the company and would work there again

      Cons

      The salaries in Idaho have not caught up to the housing market prices

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      This is a place that treats employees right.

      Jun 23, 2020 - Senior Engineer in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance, phenomenal benefits, focus on safety that is industry leading, lots of opportunities for growth and learning.

      Cons

      Onboarding of new employees can differ from group to group. Some departments are better than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good people

      Sep 30, 2020 - Engineer III in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, good co workers

      Cons

      Not always great work conditions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Back stabbing

      Jul 15, 2020 - Apprentice Lineman in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some co-workers were great to work with

      Cons

      Management tells you one thing and does the opposite

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Solid Job Security with Professional and Ethical Culture

      Feb 23, 2020 - Engineer in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay with good benefits and professional culture.

      Cons

      Organizational structure and activities of departments not well documented, resulting in challenges to identify all necessary stakeholders for activities that influence or are driven by other groups within the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Amazing &Unique Company

      Feb 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked in several other companies and Idaho Power is the best. The leadership has high integrity and truly cares about employees. There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other. Pay and benefits are very competitive as an overall package.

      Cons

      Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone. Historically at times the company was stuck in the mode of maintaining the status quo rather than being open to new ideas or ways of doing things, but that seems to be changing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Work at Idaho Power? Share Your Experiences

    Idaho Power logo
    or